We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Good Value Hotel - Beautiful Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #181 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, Good Value Hotel - Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We chose the Tikida Garden on the basis of its reviews. Our budget was limited but we didn’t want any major hiccups or complaints.

It turned out to be an excellent choice and, to us, very good value. This was a hotel that we will both recommend and return to ourselves – as a couple or as a family.

The peaceful gardens were exotic, extensive, mature and very beautiful; made more so by the singing of many birds.

All ages enjoyed the very nice pool – even though it was very “refreshing” (i.e. unheated!).

The rooms were very clean and comfortable rather than luxurious and, importantly, there were no biting insects.

Breakfast was thoroughly comprehensive and defeated even the most hungry among us.

The shuttle bus was always punctual but did not run in the evenings and, strangely, still leaves you with 25 minutes walk to/from the medina – in reality not a big problem because taxis to the hotel are, in absolute terms, not expensive.

The team on the desk were consistently professional and charming, making every effort to make our stay as smooth and pleasant as possible.

Niggles? Of course there were one or two, as you always find with even the most expensive hotels, but they in no way detracted from the overall enjoyment of our stay and the nice, friendly ambiance of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    613
    181
    43
    22
See reviews for
358
699
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Travelled to Marrakech just after Easter with two teenage girls - 16 & 19. Hotel in poor surroundings but an oasis of lush gardens surround the hotel and pool. Pool was cold but offered a refreshing dip from the strong sun. Buffet food in Orangerie at breakfast and dinner could not be faulted. Worth paying half board at least as food then cheap and you can always eat out for a change of scene. Good Cabernet Rose at 160 dhms. Can't recommend the Moroccon restaurant onsite as we were disappointed and felt it was expensive.
Ate at stall no.98 in La Place - fish stall - calamarie to die for and only £10 for 4 bowls with dips and bread. Delicious!
Quite a challenge to withstand the constant attention of our 2 girls - even though they were dressed appropriately! Souks amazing and the main square quite a site by day and then again by night.
Most amazing tour with Marrakech by Air; a balloon flight, refreshments, full breakfast, visit to Berber house, 4x4 transfers, camel ride and all done with high professionalism and confidence by Hamid and Lina and their team. Expensive for family of 4 but absolutely well worth paying out for. Set out at 6am back to hotel for 1pm and had an awesome time.
Will definitely be going back sometime and will stay at the hotel again. Just one thing, hotel is a little quiet in the evening (despite the best efforts of Salim and the animation team) so not perfect for older teenagers. However, we went for a relaxing holiday and the hotel fitted the bill in this respect perfectly.
Ali, South Croydon

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Having had a busy week in the centre of marrakech with a school trip, I was looking for somewhere with a pool to relax but still with easy access to the Medina. I booked the Tikida garden hotel through Alpha Rooms and had full board which was a great deal. Definitely book full board as it's cheap and then you can easily eat out if you want to. Big choice of food and good quality. Rooms very clean and nice with a balcony. Huge pool which was pretty busy over Easter. Animation team are very friendly and provide entertainment if that's what you want. Free sports like Archery and tennis etc. Free shuttle bus into the centre of Marrakech several times a day, otherwise taxi is only a couple of pounds. I would definitely stay here again simply because it's excellent value set amidst lush gardens with easy access to the rest of Marrakech. They also have a very good spa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed at the Tikida Garden hotel in Marrakech for 7 nights for my birthday in March 2010 and we found the hotel to be be excellent, exclusive and modern. It has good facilities on site including a very good size outdoor swimming pool sourrounded by lush greenery and trees. We can't get over the orange trees in the garden - fresh oranges in the trees! There is a pool bar and snacking area and you can play tennis, boules, volley ball , crazy golf and even archery in the grounds. If you fancy some pampering, you can visit the Spa centre where you can have massage treatments. There is a mini hair salon, gym and indoor swimming pool. We had half board at the hotel and that was a wise decision because it was easy and convenient to eat at the Orange restaurant where a cold and hot burffet was served each evening. Breakfast included fresh fruit salads, bread rolls and croissants, cereal, barley oatmeal and hot buffet of omellette, tiny sausages, tomatoes, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs. There is the Zanzibar bar where you could enjoy a few drinks in soft and plush seats and being entertained by either a singing duo or live band. The representatives from the Animation team were very friendly and the leader, Salim is a friendly chap and a good dancer. We had a wonderful time in the hotel and the staff there are very friendly and only too willing to help and service you, in particularily,the waiting staff, Mohammed and Noreedin - so look out for them if you do visit the hotel.

Tips : We took out day excursions from the hotel to the waterfall in Ouzoud in the Atlas mountain and to Esaouira, a seaside town which was definitely worth a visit. Buy your wooden crafts and souveniors here because the prices are cheaper than the souqs in the medina. The Jeema Al Fna square is worth a visit and its souqs. Always start with a third of the asking price and work it up to a price you are happy to pay - haggle hard. Avoid the tannery and anyone in the souq who tried to show you where the tannery is and claiming they are not doing it for money. We sat in the balconies of the Les Premices and Les Terrasses De C'Alhambra cafes and had lunches and watched the activities in the Square. Ladies, it is advisable to dress modesty in trousers/jeans or long skirts and long sleeves blouses, a cardigan or large scarf is always handy to cover your shoulders. Taxi from the airpor to the hotel costs 150 dirhams and 50 dirhams taxi ride from the hotel to the medina. The hotel courtesy bus takes you to the new town, Gueliz and have lunch at the La Poste restaurant in the Plaza, nice place.
Not all bars or restaurants serve alcohol, however, the beer and wines reflect UK prices, so they are not cheap but hey, we were on holiday, so we didn't mind so much. We had a lovely time in Marrakech and the stay in Tikida Garden was a good choice. Recommend that you book your stay as Half board. Bon vacation! Anne & Rob, Chester, UK.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed here 1 week and it was very nice. The hotel is located away from the buzz and it has a very nice garden and pool. Enough beds around the pool.

I don't understand people judging this accommodation based on other things that happened during their holidays. This is northern Africa and things are different from Western Europe. The food as well.... the food (buffet) in the restaurant is good! We didn’t know what to expect since this was our first trip to Africa but it was really good. Things taste a slightly different but in general it is really ok.

The people are friendly although some people don't speak English. In the evening there is not much to do.

It is easy to travel to the city centre by taxi.

The rooms are clean; ask for a room in the new area.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

we were pleasently surprised when we arrived, the hotel is quite luxurious and the staff helpful and very smartly dressed. We went to the very nice bar for a drink to decide where to go, 35dirham (£3.00) for a small glass of beer, and 190 dirham for a house botttle of winne. There is a shuttle bus into town every hour until noon but the last shuttle back is 6pm. so you are then reliant on taxis, we never paid the same price twice. The front desk said it was £5.00 into town but the least we had to pay was £10.00. No complaints about the hotel, but it is exspensive to eat d drink there, and you are out on a limb being quite a long way from the town and sites. If I came again I would choose a hotel nearer or in town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

It cost us £150 dhs from Menara aiport (3 people with luggage) to La Palmeraie, which is where Le Tikida Gardens is located.

La Palmaraie appears to be quite a poverty stricken area close to the hotel and personally we decided not to go and walk around outside of the hotel.
Once inside the grounds, its a completely different story. The drive infrot of the hotel is surrounded my palms, greenery and the most beautiful flowers. An attendent greeted us at the steps down to the lobby and took our bags for us, which he said would be delivered to our room after we had checked in (don't forget some small notes for tipping as they do expect it and can be quite rude if they don't).

The lobby area is lovely, typically Moroccan. You can access the dining area, bar and a shop from the lobby, which sells souvenirs (competitive prices to the souks).
We were taken to our room, which is basic, but functional. The bedding and towels were clean, although my friend did discover and dead cockroach in the bathroom on entering, which the attendent removed.

The swimming pool is very big, which was nice and the main reason we decided to not stay in the medina, as most of the hotels / riads only have plunge pools. The only problem with the pool was that it was absolutely freezing. Granted though, we were there in November, though it was 25 degrees everyday.
The outdoor restaurant was good, a good selection of food including tagine, pizza, salad and club sandwich. The restaurant staff appear to be quite un-friendly but to be honest, I think that is just the Moroccan way.

Breakfast every morning had a great selection of continental options, including omlettes cooked while you wait, coissants, pain au chocolate, fruit, yogurt, bread, meats and cheese. Again, the service is patchy, though we had a gentlemen that looked after us every morning and always brought us english tea with milk, without us even asking (he was the one member of staff that we left a very good tip for).
Due to a very early flight home, we ate in the hotel on our last night and again a good selection was provided, though in comparison to the medina, its quite expensive at around £20 per head for three courses. In the medina and surround, it generally cost us approx £40 for three people for 3 courses and drinks. We didn't brave La Place due to one person being vegetarian and the other a fussy eater, although the food did smell amazing.

Whilst we were in Marrakech, we visited the Souks in the medina, which are a definate experience. Prepare to be grabbed a little as a female, I found that looking them straight in the eye and pulling away seem to get rid of them, with the words La Shukran (No thankyou). Barter as much as you like, go in at at least half the price it states or they quote, or just move on as two stals away there will be another one identical.
Avoid looking at the henna / braiding ladies unless you want it done as they can be very grabby and rude.
If you get lost in the souks which is inevitable, just ask the stall owners how to get back to 'La Place'.
A nice bar, which you can also eat in is 'La Alhambre', which is one of the buildings that surrounds La Place. You can sit and look out at all the goings on in peace.

Another place we visited was the famous Les Salles de Bain Spa, which was fantastic. Just inside the medina walls, its a world away. Apparently quite a westernised spa and less harsh than the moroccan public baths. We had the 'Traditional One' which was the hammam and a one hour massage. This was quite an experience also. As a female, prepare to go in to the hammam with only your bikini bottoms on, the ladies are rather liberal, which is fine and we all had a giggle. With the message, be prepared that you may have a male, which they do check if thats ok with you and again as a female, you do lay on the table for the second half of the massage with your upper half exposed, which also gets massaged at the end. I'm sure you could cover up and say no, but I was a little overwelmed so didn't and just hoped that my friends were having the same thing done and I wasn't going to end up on Youtube!! Definately try the mint tea they give you in the day rooms as it's much nicer than I expected and I don't even like mint.

One funny thing we did see whilst near the medina was a big red tour bus, like you get in Paris and New York. It seemed very out of place but was always packed with people. Though I mocked on first seing the bus, I actually now wish we had used it as many of the sights are far apart and unless you practise the religion, you are not allowed to enter and can only view from outside, so the bus would have been a good option.

Marrakech is not for the faint hearted. I had wanted to go there for years and am glad that I have now been as I enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.