We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel and holiday !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #180 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel and holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Riu Tikida gardens, we stayed from 8th to the 22nd of August and we are missing it already ! We travelled as a family of 4 with 2 daughters ( 11 and 21) we had 2 rooms next to each other on the first floor (334 and 336) these rooms overlooked the back of the Reception entrance and also the beautiful gardens. As a family we like to sit on our balcony together after a long day sight seeing or sun bathing this wasn't a problem as me and my husband put our balcony chairs on my daughters balcony and they stayed there for 2 weeks, we even brought drinks up to our rooms most evenings and the odd snack from the poolside bar , this was never a problem. The rooms were spacious and cleaned every day.

After reading some of the negative reviews on here I was a little wary as we had never been to Morocco before but the hotel and staff were all fabulous and it exceeded our expectations. Never had a problem with the reception staff always smiling and helpful even when I nearly lost my cool because our room safe kept locking us out of it and we had to call the maintenance person in 3 times to fix it .

Restaurants were great always plenty of choice lots of staff on cooking stations so food was always plentiful and hot. In the main restaurant in the evening glasses of wine were already poured out for you so you could help yourself when you needed a top up, it would have been nice for a jug of water to have been left on the table rather then waiting for your glasses to be filled up, as sometimes it was quite hot in there . It was also great to see Pablo the manager around the hotel all the time whether it be 8am or 10pm , he would even sit and have all his meals in the restaurants with us and make sure all of the staff were on task.

The animation team worked very hard throughout the day , we like to do our own thing so never really joined in with the organised activities but we did play tennis, badminton, mini golf and bouilles ourselves. Also we took many a long walk around the beautiful gardens which go around the whole of the hotel, me and my husband would also go for a run most mornings around this path which was about a mile long, great for burning off all those extra calories . We would run before 8am because of the heat and by this time most of the sunbeds would have already been taken, for the first week when we went to the pool in the afternoon we would just leave our towels on the small wall next to the pool entrance and then just spend our time in the pool, how people can spend all day on a sunbed in 47 degree heat is beyond me ! On the second week though for the last days of our holiday I did join the masses and get up at 6.45am to bag a decent sun bed by the side of the pool but we did make sure we didn't leave them empty for long and any days we went out and had trips we gave them up to other families .

Sam our rep was fine we always knew where he would be if we needed to ask him anything, we booked 3 half day trips and the all day trip at the Aqua park, the half day trips were good as the heat would have been too much all day, I enjoyed the souks and Medina trip but over an hour in a pharmacy is too much. The square is great and a firm but polite no is sufficient for the sellers, don't try and take any photos of the sellers as they will demand money from you. We got the shuttle bus into the new town twice no hassle walking to the mosque everyone was friendly, the only problem with the shuttle is you cant book it ,its first come first served which is a hassle but just make sure you get there early to get on it . Majorelle Gardens was a lovely trip and the horse and carriage ride which was included was fun especially when we had a massive thunder storm and got drenched before the driver put the covers on us ! Aqua park was great fun, it cost about £100 for the four of us and that included transport , don't bring any food or drink (including water) as they will take it off you at the entrance .There is a snack bar in there and we had burgers chips and drinks which cost about £ 35 which I thought was good value.

The souvenir shop in the hotel is lovely and pretty but the prices are ridiculous Mohameds shop just outside the hotel is dusty and crowded but its like an Aladdins cave. We bought 2 silver bracelets and 2rings for £16 a hand of Fatima for £5 ( the hotel shop sell them for £12) and a tagine for £10 , you must haggle with him and have a set price in your head before you go in. In the new town we found a fixed price shop and bought 2 leather pouffes , some trinket boxes , glasses and a leather hanbag, these were all good value.
The bars were good as well, could always find a seat in the Zanzibar , yes sometimes it did smell a little bit smoky in there but nothing like the smoke filled bar that some people have suggested in the reviews. We didn't really watch the evening entertainment but liked having a relaxing drink in Zanzibar or brought our drinks out to the reception area.
All in all a fabulous holiday would definitely go back again, thanks to all the wonderful staff the lovely hotel and people of Morocco !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    602
    169
    40
    21
See reviews for
332
690
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have returned after two years arrived at 23.00 hrs made to feel welcome meal provided and had excorts too show you too your room. But felt thwey were pushed as we had to phone for towels at they were missing. The entertarment was a lot better that the last vist , even though some parts were a little strained. Rooms alas noisey due to a family above us with a heard of cows running all hours of the night but resolved as we got moved too a quiter block. The trips were great but please avoided the souk tours as you are rushed around the market places at a rysh too end up at some shop that sells everything but mothing to cure all your ills

Room Tip: Ask for a block away from the main building to as the noise can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Riu Tikida Gardens for the first two weeks in August.

The hotel grounds are amazing. The gardens are well kept and beautiful to walk through. Keep your eye out for the odd turtle here and there! The pool is a good size but there is not enough room around the pool to fit the required number of sun loungers - hence the 6:30am towel run. Yes it's annoying but there are lots of people wanting the same beds, so you might as well join in. I would place towels and then return to the room for a snooze and then go for breakfast. The days we were going out into Marrakech we didn't save sun loungers as we didn't think that would be fair - shame others didn't do the same! The two main bars are good, smoking upstairs and no smoking downstairs in the Bar Salon. But saying that, the level of smoking was never much of a problem, we are just not used to it anymore in the UK.

Our room had everything we needed - beds, bathroom, toilet, air con, safe and fridge. The beds were two large single beds pushed together and a fold up bed for our son. The mattresses were very firm but absolutely fine. The fridge held three bottles of water and kept them cold. Air con was amazing and just what we needed after a day in the sun! If you want to leave the electricity on whilst you're not in the room I found that a Boots Advantage card fitted in the key slot perfectly! But we kept the curtains closed during the day which meant that the room was cool enough without leaving the air con on whilst we were out.

The food was very good and there was always plenty of it. Every day the food on offer was very similar to the previous days. I didn't find this a problem as there was so much to choose from that I managed to have something different every day. A special dish was also on offer every day so something different to pick too! As long as you don't just pile your plate up with a bit of everything you'll be fine! We also had two nights at the Moroccan restaurant which was great! There were interesting starters on offer (including lamb's brain) and the mains were individual tagines - either lamb, chicken, fish or couscous. Wine was plentiful and the service was great. Lunch in the pool bar was fine and snacks were available in the afternoon. Plenty of salads and deserts too! If you like chocolate orange try the "Orange Sorbet" in the evening!

Entertainment was organised by some of the most enthusiastic people I have ever met! The Animation Team organised tournaments throughout the day - darts, French Boules, table tennis, badminton, etc. There were tennis courts, football and mini golf available too. The pool was used for activities too. Before lunch was the Pool Aerobics and there was also water polo (not for the faint-hearted!) and "Crazy Games". All the Animation Team try to learn as many names as possible and they greeted us every time they saw us. Our son loved to go to the Kids Club which wasn't structured but allowed them to play out of the sun. Abdel and Sam were great and seemed to be enjoying themselves! Our son really got on well with Asharaf who seemed to be the youngest/ newest of the team!

The Animation Team also ran the evening entertainment in the Bar Salon. The quality and entertainment value depends on your point of view. The first show we saw was "The Best of Show" which was where they were basically miming to a range of songs! Random, but fun to watch! Karaoke was fun, but not many people joined in the first night, it was better when held upstairs in the Zanzibar. "Mr Riu" was fun to watch and there we other good night. We weren't impressed with the night where you had to choose the most popular songs to fill the dance floor, but our son loved collecting tickets in the "Lotto Dance". The best nights were the Moroccan Night and the African Drummers. Both shows had professional performers and they were every entertaining.

On the whole, the staff were great - especially as the first week was the end of Ramadan and most of the staff wouldn't have eaten all day. Bar staff were great and didn't expect tips at all. The chambermaids did a great job and the hotel was always clean and tidy. The reception staff were a bit grumpy, but you don't interact with them a lot, so it didn't matter. Point of warning, they would not exchange money that had writing on, even if it was where someone had written a total eg 200. But that wasn't much of an issue. Oh, and every impression of an English person they do is cockney! Tried to teach them Yorkshire, but it didn't work!

The hotel is not near the main markets but there is a free shuttle bus. Unfortunately the bus only runs to the new town and not the main Jemaa el Fna square. The square is a good half hour walk away in the heat, but it is only following one straight road. We had a walk around the new town but there was not a lot on offer but the Jemaa el Fna square and the Souks are much more interesting to look at!

The square itself was amazing. There are lots of people trying to sell you things and tell you where to go, but if you look like you know what you're doing, and you're polite, most people will let you get on. We took a caleche through the narrow streets, around the palace and through the new town. This took around an hour and cost 250 dirham and we got to see the full spectrum of Moroccan life. Shopping there is an experience - you must haggle! If you don't feel up to haggling the Ensemble Artisanal has a range of different smaller stalls with fixed, and reasonable, prices! We visited a supermarket for snacks and very cheap coke! There was also Mohammed's "Chop" outside the hotel entrance. He has loads of stuff in there and it's a lot cheaper than the shop in the hotel. Not amazing quality, but less hassle! Our son loves his "Magic Box" but the pouffe we bought for a friend didn't seem as good quality or value as the ones we saw in the Ensemble Artisanal - but you live and learn.

Over all Marrakech is an amazing place to visit and the Riu Tikida Gardens was the perfect place for us to stay. Take an electronic book or you will feel out of place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently visited this hotel for a week with my parents (July 25 - August 1). After spending 3 weeks in America working with 4-13 year old kids this hotel was a welcome break. Upon arrival at 11pm we were greeted with drinks and given a light meal in the hotel restaurant before being shown to our rooms.

The weather was always fantastic; 46 degrees most days and there were always plenty of activities taking place during the day. There are plenty of sun beds within the grounds however madness occurs if you want beds by the poolside. This resulted in my dad and many others waking up at 6am in order to wait by the pool till 8am for the regular bed race.

The food was of a good quality and there was always plenty on offer. The drinks were obviously not known brands and therefore were often quite weak. If you find this to be a problem the bar staff are always willing to give you doubles or add extra measures; I found dark rum to be the strongest. Being a student an all inclusive holiday with the parents lacks nightlife, however there was a group of us around the same age that managed to have a good time every night and its safe to say we were hanging every morning. The hotel staff were always very accomodating to our student ways, often letting us dj at night. We also found that speaking Arabic to the bar and security staff can help you get out of any situation!

Overall this was a great holiday and we definitely had withdrawal symptoms when we returned home. The only negative was the evening entertainment, which was the worst I've ever seen.

Make sure you ask the staff about Saeed the donkey! Took us a whole week to find him!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this hotel in the spring and found the whole experience to be very pleasant. Clean, well appointed rooms, friendly staff and good food. Access to Marrakech was easy and cheap, the hotel also offer a free shuttle, while the hotel and grounds proved to be a haven from the 'hussle and bussle' of the town at the end of the day. The entertainment was enthusiastic and fun, if somewhat amateur, (the piano player in the bar was positively laughable). The brief arabic language lesson at the beginning of the week (offered by the ents team) proved to be very helpful in the souk! The all inclusive package, included drinks, which were not great quality but OK. We would definately consider a return trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We (2 adults and 3 children)have just returned from a week-long stay in August 2013. We arrived at the hotel at around 11.00 pm and we were all welcomed with a glass of fruit punch. The restaurant was kept open so we could have something to eat before we went to bed. The hotel is very clean and the gardens well kept. The staff were all very helpful.

There are two main restaurants which offer a wide range of food (suitable for the pickiest of eaters!) and a Moroccan restaurant. This is included in the all-inclusive package but you do need to book it. I would advise at least one visit, we went one evening and enjoyed it.

The swimming pool is quite large but there didn't seem to be enough sunbeds for the number of guests. All of them had been reserved before breakfast, even though this was against their rules.

The hotel provides a free shuttle bus 6 times per day between the hotel and the new town. There is no need to book this, just wait outside the hotel door. If you would like to go to the medina (old town where the souks are), you would need to either walk for around 20 minutes from where the shuttle drops you off, or take a taxi.

There is a range of entertainment in the evenings which seemed to start with the 'mini disco' for the young children before the main entertainment started. There was a mix of styles - we enjoyed the African night and the karaoke.

There is a taxi rank outside the hotel, which tried to charge us 150 DH to take us to the old town. We haggled and agreed 100 DH which I think is about right. I think there are smaller (hence cheaper) taxis on the main road, but we couldn't use them as there are 5 of us!

There is a spa in the hotel (chargeable), but we didn't use it. There is a hammam on the road outside the hotel, but I wouldn't advise using it. My husband used it once and was disgusted at the lack of hygiene in it.

All in all, we found this hotel to be very comfortable, welcoming and everything was to a very high standard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our plane arrived at 10pm, after a two hour delay at passport control (reason given temperemental staff) then an hour long wait in a queue in reception , where the single member of staff completed forms by hand, it was 2am before we got to bed! We have never been on a all inclusive package holiday before, and usually travel independently, so maybe it was our own fault for expecting too much. However as we had paid nearly £3, 500 for one week in a four star resort, that is what we were expecting. That is not what we got, i would say that this resort should struggle to be awarded three stars.
The food is two star, bland, dreadfully cooked and samey at best, the facilities tired and in need of updating, and the entertainment is appalling. The courtesy bus is only available at certain times of day, never in the evening, and stops in the new town only, not the medina where everybody wants to go.
Our main problem with this resort is that it is not at all child friendly. Firstly as a family of 4, you haved to get two rooms as there are no family rooms, this means you have to split up, so there is no having a nice glass of wine on the patio while the kids sleep (not that you are allowed to take the drinks back to your room), secondly the kids club never opens when it says it will, has no planned activities, had one member of clueless staff so i ended up refereeing fighting kids, has a sandpit which is falling to pieces, in fact you may as well say there really IS no kids club, which meant our kids were bored , and we were harrassed and deeply disappointed. Thirdly the pool area played Rhianna on a loop complete wth all the eff words, not exactly what i wanted my 6 year old to hear. Fourthly there are no non smoking areas to wait in, the foyer is smoking, the zanzibar is smoking, the pool area is smoking (the restaurants and downstairs bar are non smoking , but that is from 8:30pm when the kids are ready for bed anyway!). We felt choked by smokers constantly. Fifth, the entertainment is wildly inappropriate, men in drag encouraging the kids to honk their false breasts and singing "which back street boys gay?", i was open mouthed!
You have to get up at 6:30 to get a sun bed near the pool so you can watch the kids are safe in close proximity, and for a country that is awash with fesh oranges where you can get gorgeous squeezed orange in the medina, the orange at the hotel was not fresh, and my daughter got a tummy bug.
My kids are 11 and 6 and were bored witless, thank goodness we took books.
We played crazy golf one day and were given two clubs which were falling apart and a tennis ball! We were told another family were playing and they had "the golf ball" how very 4 star, a resort with one golf ball!!

Most of the staff were nice, especially Abdel who worked very hard, and the maid kept our room very well and was smiley and friendly. I had an arabic and tagine cooking lesson, I am in no way a little Englander so tried to speak Arabic, and used my French all the time, but it was disappointing how little English was understood by reception, and i didnt like how the waiter kept telling my daughter to speak Arabic.

People told us not to be put off as this was a very bad example of the all inclusive resort holidays they had been on, but we wont be doing it again. I think if you like this kind of thing you will be ok, but if like us, you were expecting a little more than Blackpool in Morocco, i would give it a wide berth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.