We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved from last vist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #181 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Improved from last vist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have returned after two years arrived at 23.00 hrs made to feel welcome meal provided and had excorts too show you too your room. But felt thwey were pushed as we had to phone for towels at they were missing. The entertarment was a lot better that the last vist , even though some parts were a little strained. Rooms alas noisey due to a family above us with a heard of cows running all hours of the night but resolved as we got moved too a quiter block. The trips were great but please avoided the souk tours as you are rushed around the market places at a rysh too end up at some shop that sells everything but mothing to cure all your ills

Room Tip: Ask for a block away from the main building to as the noise can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    625
    188
    45
    23
See reviews for
366
714
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Riu Tikida Gardens for the first two weeks in August.

The hotel grounds are amazing. The gardens are well kept and beautiful to walk through. Keep your eye out for the odd turtle here and there! The pool is a good size but there is not enough room around the pool to fit the required number of sun loungers - hence the 6:30am towel run. Yes it's annoying but there are lots of people wanting the same beds, so you might as well join in. I would place towels and then return to the room for a snooze and then go for breakfast. The days we were going out into Marrakech we didn't save sun loungers as we didn't think that would be fair - shame others didn't do the same! The two main bars are good, smoking upstairs and no smoking downstairs in the Bar Salon. But saying that, the level of smoking was never much of a problem, we are just not used to it anymore in the UK.

Our room had everything we needed - beds, bathroom, toilet, air con, safe and fridge. The beds were two large single beds pushed together and a fold up bed for our son. The mattresses were very firm but absolutely fine. The fridge held three bottles of water and kept them cold. Air con was amazing and just what we needed after a day in the sun! If you want to leave the electricity on whilst you're not in the room I found that a Boots Advantage card fitted in the key slot perfectly! But we kept the curtains closed during the day which meant that the room was cool enough without leaving the air con on whilst we were out.

The food was very good and there was always plenty of it. Every day the food on offer was very similar to the previous days. I didn't find this a problem as there was so much to choose from that I managed to have something different every day. A special dish was also on offer every day so something different to pick too! As long as you don't just pile your plate up with a bit of everything you'll be fine! We also had two nights at the Moroccan restaurant which was great! There were interesting starters on offer (including lamb's brain) and the mains were individual tagines - either lamb, chicken, fish or couscous. Wine was plentiful and the service was great. Lunch in the pool bar was fine and snacks were available in the afternoon. Plenty of salads and deserts too! If you like chocolate orange try the "Orange Sorbet" in the evening!

Entertainment was organised by some of the most enthusiastic people I have ever met! The Animation Team organised tournaments throughout the day - darts, French Boules, table tennis, badminton, etc. There were tennis courts, football and mini golf available too. The pool was used for activities too. Before lunch was the Pool Aerobics and there was also water polo (not for the faint-hearted!) and "Crazy Games". All the Animation Team try to learn as many names as possible and they greeted us every time they saw us. Our son loved to go to the Kids Club which wasn't structured but allowed them to play out of the sun. Abdel and Sam were great and seemed to be enjoying themselves! Our son really got on well with Asharaf who seemed to be the youngest/ newest of the team!

The Animation Team also ran the evening entertainment in the Bar Salon. The quality and entertainment value depends on your point of view. The first show we saw was "The Best of Show" which was where they were basically miming to a range of songs! Random, but fun to watch! Karaoke was fun, but not many people joined in the first night, it was better when held upstairs in the Zanzibar. "Mr Riu" was fun to watch and there we other good night. We weren't impressed with the night where you had to choose the most popular songs to fill the dance floor, but our son loved collecting tickets in the "Lotto Dance". The best nights were the Moroccan Night and the African Drummers. Both shows had professional performers and they were every entertaining.

On the whole, the staff were great - especially as the first week was the end of Ramadan and most of the staff wouldn't have eaten all day. Bar staff were great and didn't expect tips at all. The chambermaids did a great job and the hotel was always clean and tidy. The reception staff were a bit grumpy, but you don't interact with them a lot, so it didn't matter. Point of warning, they would not exchange money that had writing on, even if it was where someone had written a total eg 200. But that wasn't much of an issue. Oh, and every impression of an English person they do is cockney! Tried to teach them Yorkshire, but it didn't work!

The hotel is not near the main markets but there is a free shuttle bus. Unfortunately the bus only runs to the new town and not the main Jemaa el Fna square. The square is a good half hour walk away in the heat, but it is only following one straight road. We had a walk around the new town but there was not a lot on offer but the Jemaa el Fna square and the Souks are much more interesting to look at!

The square itself was amazing. There are lots of people trying to sell you things and tell you where to go, but if you look like you know what you're doing, and you're polite, most people will let you get on. We took a caleche through the narrow streets, around the palace and through the new town. This took around an hour and cost 250 dirham and we got to see the full spectrum of Moroccan life. Shopping there is an experience - you must haggle! If you don't feel up to haggling the Ensemble Artisanal has a range of different smaller stalls with fixed, and reasonable, prices! We visited a supermarket for snacks and very cheap coke! There was also Mohammed's "Chop" outside the hotel entrance. He has loads of stuff in there and it's a lot cheaper than the shop in the hotel. Not amazing quality, but less hassle! Our son loves his "Magic Box" but the pouffe we bought for a friend didn't seem as good quality or value as the ones we saw in the Ensemble Artisanal - but you live and learn.

Over all Marrakech is an amazing place to visit and the Riu Tikida Gardens was the perfect place for us to stay. Take an electronic book or you will feel out of place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently visited this hotel for a week with my parents (July 25 - August 1). After spending 3 weeks in America working with 4-13 year old kids this hotel was a welcome break. Upon arrival at 11pm we were greeted with drinks and given a light meal in the hotel restaurant before being shown to our rooms.

The weather was always fantastic; 46 degrees most days and there were always plenty of activities taking place during the day. There are plenty of sun beds within the grounds however madness occurs if you want beds by the poolside. This resulted in my dad and many others waking up at 6am in order to wait by the pool till 8am for the regular bed race.

The food was of a good quality and there was always plenty on offer. The drinks were obviously not known brands and therefore were often quite weak. If you find this to be a problem the bar staff are always willing to give you doubles or add extra measures; I found dark rum to be the strongest. Being a student an all inclusive holiday with the parents lacks nightlife, however there was a group of us around the same age that managed to have a good time every night and its safe to say we were hanging every morning. The hotel staff were always very accomodating to our student ways, often letting us dj at night. We also found that speaking Arabic to the bar and security staff can help you get out of any situation!

Overall this was a great holiday and we definitely had withdrawal symptoms when we returned home. The only negative was the evening entertainment, which was the worst I've ever seen.

Make sure you ask the staff about Saeed the donkey! Took us a whole week to find him!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this hotel in the spring and found the whole experience to be very pleasant. Clean, well appointed rooms, friendly staff and good food. Access to Marrakech was easy and cheap, the hotel also offer a free shuttle, while the hotel and grounds proved to be a haven from the 'hussle and bussle' of the town at the end of the day. The entertainment was enthusiastic and fun, if somewhat amateur, (the piano player in the bar was positively laughable). The brief arabic language lesson at the beginning of the week (offered by the ents team) proved to be very helpful in the souk! The all inclusive package, included drinks, which were not great quality but OK. We would definately consider a return trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We (2 adults and 3 children)have just returned from a week-long stay in August 2013. We arrived at the hotel at around 11.00 pm and we were all welcomed with a glass of fruit punch. The restaurant was kept open so we could have something to eat before we went to bed. The hotel is very clean and the gardens well kept. The staff were all very helpful.

There are two main restaurants which offer a wide range of food (suitable for the pickiest of eaters!) and a Moroccan restaurant. This is included in the all-inclusive package but you do need to book it. I would advise at least one visit, we went one evening and enjoyed it.

The swimming pool is quite large but there didn't seem to be enough sunbeds for the number of guests. All of them had been reserved before breakfast, even though this was against their rules.

The hotel provides a free shuttle bus 6 times per day between the hotel and the new town. There is no need to book this, just wait outside the hotel door. If you would like to go to the medina (old town where the souks are), you would need to either walk for around 20 minutes from where the shuttle drops you off, or take a taxi.

There is a range of entertainment in the evenings which seemed to start with the 'mini disco' for the young children before the main entertainment started. There was a mix of styles - we enjoyed the African night and the karaoke.

There is a taxi rank outside the hotel, which tried to charge us 150 DH to take us to the old town. We haggled and agreed 100 DH which I think is about right. I think there are smaller (hence cheaper) taxis on the main road, but we couldn't use them as there are 5 of us!

There is a spa in the hotel (chargeable), but we didn't use it. There is a hammam on the road outside the hotel, but I wouldn't advise using it. My husband used it once and was disgusted at the lack of hygiene in it.

All in all, we found this hotel to be very comfortable, welcoming and everything was to a very high standard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our plane arrived at 10pm, after a two hour delay at passport control (reason given temperemental staff) then an hour long wait in a queue in reception , where the single member of staff completed forms by hand, it was 2am before we got to bed! We have never been on a all inclusive package holiday before, and usually travel independently, so maybe it was our own fault for expecting too much. However as we had paid nearly £3, 500 for one week in a four star resort, that is what we were expecting. That is not what we got, i would say that this resort should struggle to be awarded three stars.
The food is two star, bland, dreadfully cooked and samey at best, the facilities tired and in need of updating, and the entertainment is appalling. The courtesy bus is only available at certain times of day, never in the evening, and stops in the new town only, not the medina where everybody wants to go.
Our main problem with this resort is that it is not at all child friendly. Firstly as a family of 4, you haved to get two rooms as there are no family rooms, this means you have to split up, so there is no having a nice glass of wine on the patio while the kids sleep (not that you are allowed to take the drinks back to your room), secondly the kids club never opens when it says it will, has no planned activities, had one member of clueless staff so i ended up refereeing fighting kids, has a sandpit which is falling to pieces, in fact you may as well say there really IS no kids club, which meant our kids were bored , and we were harrassed and deeply disappointed. Thirdly the pool area played Rhianna on a loop complete wth all the eff words, not exactly what i wanted my 6 year old to hear. Fourthly there are no non smoking areas to wait in, the foyer is smoking, the zanzibar is smoking, the pool area is smoking (the restaurants and downstairs bar are non smoking , but that is from 8:30pm when the kids are ready for bed anyway!). We felt choked by smokers constantly. Fifth, the entertainment is wildly inappropriate, men in drag encouraging the kids to honk their false breasts and singing "which back street boys gay?", i was open mouthed!
You have to get up at 6:30 to get a sun bed near the pool so you can watch the kids are safe in close proximity, and for a country that is awash with fesh oranges where you can get gorgeous squeezed orange in the medina, the orange at the hotel was not fresh, and my daughter got a tummy bug.
My kids are 11 and 6 and were bored witless, thank goodness we took books.
We played crazy golf one day and were given two clubs which were falling apart and a tennis ball! We were told another family were playing and they had "the golf ball" how very 4 star, a resort with one golf ball!!

Most of the staff were nice, especially Abdel who worked very hard, and the maid kept our room very well and was smiley and friendly. I had an arabic and tagine cooking lesson, I am in no way a little Englander so tried to speak Arabic, and used my French all the time, but it was disappointing how little English was understood by reception, and i didnt like how the waiter kept telling my daughter to speak Arabic.

People told us not to be put off as this was a very bad example of the all inclusive resort holidays they had been on, but we wont be doing it again. I think if you like this kind of thing you will be ok, but if like us, you were expecting a little more than Blackpool in Morocco, i would give it a wide berth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two weeks, between 9th and 22nd August. The hotel and grounds were great and could not fault any of the staff during our stay.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning of the 9th August due to a two hour flight delay by Thomson Airlines. As other reviewers have said, check-in at this time was slow due to there being only one member of staff on duty, but I won't criticise the hotel for a problem caused by Thomson Holidays. Youssef, who was on duty was very helpful and left a message for the reception staff on duty the following morning to help us resolve an accommodation request for my daughter and her family who were staying for the first week of our stay. Similarly, Seddik who we dealt with a number of times on reception could not have been more cheerful or helpful whenever we saw him.
It is important to say that throughout our stay we never came across any member of staff on reception who did not have a smile or were not helpful.
Hotel management were visible around the hotel from early morning till late at night. They were always approachable and were happy to speak to you or help with anything you wanted to talk about.
My wife and I upgraded to a suite (Room 120) which was on the second floor in the main hotel building off reception. The room was great. The only down side to this the lack of a lift to this floor, which means it could be difficult for anybody with mobility problems to access. However, it was well worth the additional cost of 200MAD per night (about £114 per week). Rooms in the rest of the hotel can be accessed via lifts to all floors and are a good size for two people. For three people staying in the same room, an additional bed is put in the room, which does make things a little tight. The standard of air conditioning varies from room to room and could probably benefit from a good service or renewal. (Over the course of the two weeks, with one family group staying the first week and a different family group staying the second, I have experience of four different rooms.) Cleaning staff were good, rooms were restocked regularly and towels were changed daily. Public areas of the hotel and grounds were well maintained and cleaned. Maintenance staff were always busy and visible around the hotel keeping things up to scratch.
My daughter has a food allergy and after speaking to the Manager, Pablo was introduced to the Chef on duty. At each meal, the Chef would come out of the kitchen and tell her which food she could eat, even offering to cook something specially if there was nothing out that she wanted. When the chef was due to take a few days off, he introduced her to the Chef who was taking over, who provided exactly the same service.
Over the course of the two weeks, food was repetitive, but my whole family, 6 during the first week and 7 in the second were able to find something different to eat at each meal. Yes, poultry and fish featured heavily at each meal, but it was cooked differently and the quality of food was always high. As well as salads etc. there was always a Moroccan dish each meal and there was a couple of meat dishes in sauces, fish and most nights a carvery. The carvery over the fortnight included roast fillet of beef, turkey, chicken breast, chicken pieces (legs, thighs and breast on the bone), rack of lamb, roast lamb and pork. Pasta, Bolognese sauce and pizza was available at every meal. Looking at some earlier reports, I cannot understand anybody saying that they could not find something to their liking at each meal.
The Tikida Garden is no different to most hotels when it comes to sunbeds, there are never enough to satisfy demand at peak times. As a group, we were not bothered about getting a sun bed around the pool and found that to get what we wanted just off the pool area, I had to go down with towels by about 7.30 am. That said, the less comfortable UPVC beds could usually still be found until around 10 am. Brollies however were at a premium and in temperatures reaching into the 50's were a necessity. Pool staff were helpful and would always look around to find a bed or a brolly for somebody whatever time of the day they were trying to get one.
The animation team worked hard throughout the day providing entertainment, Darts, table tennis, badminton, volleyball, French boules, water polo, aqua gym, etc. For younger children there was also the Riu Mini Club, providing entertainment morning and afternoon. One of the nice things about this hotel is the free facilities provided to entertain people throughout the day. this included Tennis and Badminton courts, table tennis, Boules and crazy golf, with bats, balls and clubs loaned without any charge or deposit required. Evening entertainment was on a par with lots of hotels (not brilliant) although the Africa night and Karaoke night were quite good.
The hotel would be improved by the addition of an outdoor pool bar. as it is, the 'pool' bar is inside which means you have to cope with opening a door when carrying drinks to your sun bed or outside table. The Zanzibar is open in the main hotel throughout the day and is open until midnight. During the evening, there are two bars open, Zanzibar and Bar Salon, which is open between 8.30 pm and midnight. Bar Salon is downstairs and is where most of the evening entertainment takes place, starting with a mini disco for the kids at 8.30 pm. At times, Bar Salon can be very busy and results in queues. During the fortnight, most of our time in the evenings was spent in Zanzibar. Getting served was quite easy, as there was always enough staff on duty to cope without anybody having to wait too long. All the bar staff were very friendly and service always came with a smile. Tables were cleared regularly and always kept clean. Spirit measures were small, but it was no hardship keeping drinks topped up, or if preferred, asking for a large measure which was willingly provided. Entertainment in Zanzibar was provided in the main by a duo, providing easy listening throughout the evening, supplemented occasionally by Moroccan musicians, who whilst they were good, unfortunately were a little on the loud side.
Overall, an excellent holiday, great hotel and great staff. Pablo, the manager has assembled a great team and has a lot to be proud of. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to a suite, particularly if there are three travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.