We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #179 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better than expected :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently visited this hotel for a week with my parents (July 25 - August 1). After spending 3 weeks in America working with 4-13 year old kids this hotel was a welcome break. Upon arrival at 11pm we were greeted with drinks and given a light meal in the hotel restaurant before being shown to our rooms.

The weather was always fantastic; 46 degrees most days and there were always plenty of activities taking place during the day. There are plenty of sun beds within the grounds however madness occurs if you want beds by the poolside. This resulted in my dad and many others waking up at 6am in order to wait by the pool till 8am for the regular bed race.

The food was of a good quality and there was always plenty on offer. The drinks were obviously not known brands and therefore were often quite weak. If you find this to be a problem the bar staff are always willing to give you doubles or add extra measures; I found dark rum to be the strongest. Being a student an all inclusive holiday with the parents lacks nightlife, however there was a group of us around the same age that managed to have a good time every night and its safe to say we were hanging every morning. The hotel staff were always very accomodating to our student ways, often letting us dj at night. We also found that speaking Arabic to the bar and security staff can help you get out of any situation!

Overall this was a great holiday and we definitely had withdrawal symptoms when we returned home. The only negative was the evening entertainment, which was the worst I've ever seen.

Make sure you ask the staff about Saeed the donkey! Took us a whole week to find him!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    621
    187
    44
    23
See reviews for
366
709
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this hotel in the spring and found the whole experience to be very pleasant. Clean, well appointed rooms, friendly staff and good food. Access to Marrakech was easy and cheap, the hotel also offer a free shuttle, while the hotel and grounds proved to be a haven from the 'hussle and bussle' of the town at the end of the day. The entertainment was enthusiastic and fun, if somewhat amateur, (the piano player in the bar was positively laughable). The brief arabic language lesson at the beginning of the week (offered by the ents team) proved to be very helpful in the souk! The all inclusive package, included drinks, which were not great quality but OK. We would definately consider a return trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We (2 adults and 3 children)have just returned from a week-long stay in August 2013. We arrived at the hotel at around 11.00 pm and we were all welcomed with a glass of fruit punch. The restaurant was kept open so we could have something to eat before we went to bed. The hotel is very clean and the gardens well kept. The staff were all very helpful.

There are two main restaurants which offer a wide range of food (suitable for the pickiest of eaters!) and a Moroccan restaurant. This is included in the all-inclusive package but you do need to book it. I would advise at least one visit, we went one evening and enjoyed it.

The swimming pool is quite large but there didn't seem to be enough sunbeds for the number of guests. All of them had been reserved before breakfast, even though this was against their rules.

The hotel provides a free shuttle bus 6 times per day between the hotel and the new town. There is no need to book this, just wait outside the hotel door. If you would like to go to the medina (old town where the souks are), you would need to either walk for around 20 minutes from where the shuttle drops you off, or take a taxi.

There is a range of entertainment in the evenings which seemed to start with the 'mini disco' for the young children before the main entertainment started. There was a mix of styles - we enjoyed the African night and the karaoke.

There is a taxi rank outside the hotel, which tried to charge us 150 DH to take us to the old town. We haggled and agreed 100 DH which I think is about right. I think there are smaller (hence cheaper) taxis on the main road, but we couldn't use them as there are 5 of us!

There is a spa in the hotel (chargeable), but we didn't use it. There is a hammam on the road outside the hotel, but I wouldn't advise using it. My husband used it once and was disgusted at the lack of hygiene in it.

All in all, we found this hotel to be very comfortable, welcoming and everything was to a very high standard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our plane arrived at 10pm, after a two hour delay at passport control (reason given temperemental staff) then an hour long wait in a queue in reception , where the single member of staff completed forms by hand, it was 2am before we got to bed! We have never been on a all inclusive package holiday before, and usually travel independently, so maybe it was our own fault for expecting too much. However as we had paid nearly £3, 500 for one week in a four star resort, that is what we were expecting. That is not what we got, i would say that this resort should struggle to be awarded three stars.
The food is two star, bland, dreadfully cooked and samey at best, the facilities tired and in need of updating, and the entertainment is appalling. The courtesy bus is only available at certain times of day, never in the evening, and stops in the new town only, not the medina where everybody wants to go.
Our main problem with this resort is that it is not at all child friendly. Firstly as a family of 4, you haved to get two rooms as there are no family rooms, this means you have to split up, so there is no having a nice glass of wine on the patio while the kids sleep (not that you are allowed to take the drinks back to your room), secondly the kids club never opens when it says it will, has no planned activities, had one member of clueless staff so i ended up refereeing fighting kids, has a sandpit which is falling to pieces, in fact you may as well say there really IS no kids club, which meant our kids were bored , and we were harrassed and deeply disappointed. Thirdly the pool area played Rhianna on a loop complete wth all the eff words, not exactly what i wanted my 6 year old to hear. Fourthly there are no non smoking areas to wait in, the foyer is smoking, the zanzibar is smoking, the pool area is smoking (the restaurants and downstairs bar are non smoking , but that is from 8:30pm when the kids are ready for bed anyway!). We felt choked by smokers constantly. Fifth, the entertainment is wildly inappropriate, men in drag encouraging the kids to honk their false breasts and singing "which back street boys gay?", i was open mouthed!
You have to get up at 6:30 to get a sun bed near the pool so you can watch the kids are safe in close proximity, and for a country that is awash with fesh oranges where you can get gorgeous squeezed orange in the medina, the orange at the hotel was not fresh, and my daughter got a tummy bug.
My kids are 11 and 6 and were bored witless, thank goodness we took books.
We played crazy golf one day and were given two clubs which were falling apart and a tennis ball! We were told another family were playing and they had "the golf ball" how very 4 star, a resort with one golf ball!!

Most of the staff were nice, especially Abdel who worked very hard, and the maid kept our room very well and was smiley and friendly. I had an arabic and tagine cooking lesson, I am in no way a little Englander so tried to speak Arabic, and used my French all the time, but it was disappointing how little English was understood by reception, and i didnt like how the waiter kept telling my daughter to speak Arabic.

People told us not to be put off as this was a very bad example of the all inclusive resort holidays they had been on, but we wont be doing it again. I think if you like this kind of thing you will be ok, but if like us, you were expecting a little more than Blackpool in Morocco, i would give it a wide berth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two weeks, between 9th and 22nd August. The hotel and grounds were great and could not fault any of the staff during our stay.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning of the 9th August due to a two hour flight delay by Thomson Airlines. As other reviewers have said, check-in at this time was slow due to there being only one member of staff on duty, but I won't criticise the hotel for a problem caused by Thomson Holidays. Youssef, who was on duty was very helpful and left a message for the reception staff on duty the following morning to help us resolve an accommodation request for my daughter and her family who were staying for the first week of our stay. Similarly, Seddik who we dealt with a number of times on reception could not have been more cheerful or helpful whenever we saw him.
It is important to say that throughout our stay we never came across any member of staff on reception who did not have a smile or were not helpful.
Hotel management were visible around the hotel from early morning till late at night. They were always approachable and were happy to speak to you or help with anything you wanted to talk about.
My wife and I upgraded to a suite (Room 120) which was on the second floor in the main hotel building off reception. The room was great. The only down side to this the lack of a lift to this floor, which means it could be difficult for anybody with mobility problems to access. However, it was well worth the additional cost of 200MAD per night (about £114 per week). Rooms in the rest of the hotel can be accessed via lifts to all floors and are a good size for two people. For three people staying in the same room, an additional bed is put in the room, which does make things a little tight. The standard of air conditioning varies from room to room and could probably benefit from a good service or renewal. (Over the course of the two weeks, with one family group staying the first week and a different family group staying the second, I have experience of four different rooms.) Cleaning staff were good, rooms were restocked regularly and towels were changed daily. Public areas of the hotel and grounds were well maintained and cleaned. Maintenance staff were always busy and visible around the hotel keeping things up to scratch.
My daughter has a food allergy and after speaking to the Manager, Pablo was introduced to the Chef on duty. At each meal, the Chef would come out of the kitchen and tell her which food she could eat, even offering to cook something specially if there was nothing out that she wanted. When the chef was due to take a few days off, he introduced her to the Chef who was taking over, who provided exactly the same service.
Over the course of the two weeks, food was repetitive, but my whole family, 6 during the first week and 7 in the second were able to find something different to eat at each meal. Yes, poultry and fish featured heavily at each meal, but it was cooked differently and the quality of food was always high. As well as salads etc. there was always a Moroccan dish each meal and there was a couple of meat dishes in sauces, fish and most nights a carvery. The carvery over the fortnight included roast fillet of beef, turkey, chicken breast, chicken pieces (legs, thighs and breast on the bone), rack of lamb, roast lamb and pork. Pasta, Bolognese sauce and pizza was available at every meal. Looking at some earlier reports, I cannot understand anybody saying that they could not find something to their liking at each meal.
The Tikida Garden is no different to most hotels when it comes to sunbeds, there are never enough to satisfy demand at peak times. As a group, we were not bothered about getting a sun bed around the pool and found that to get what we wanted just off the pool area, I had to go down with towels by about 7.30 am. That said, the less comfortable UPVC beds could usually still be found until around 10 am. Brollies however were at a premium and in temperatures reaching into the 50's were a necessity. Pool staff were helpful and would always look around to find a bed or a brolly for somebody whatever time of the day they were trying to get one.
The animation team worked hard throughout the day providing entertainment, Darts, table tennis, badminton, volleyball, French boules, water polo, aqua gym, etc. For younger children there was also the Riu Mini Club, providing entertainment morning and afternoon. One of the nice things about this hotel is the free facilities provided to entertain people throughout the day. this included Tennis and Badminton courts, table tennis, Boules and crazy golf, with bats, balls and clubs loaned without any charge or deposit required. Evening entertainment was on a par with lots of hotels (not brilliant) although the Africa night and Karaoke night were quite good.
The hotel would be improved by the addition of an outdoor pool bar. as it is, the 'pool' bar is inside which means you have to cope with opening a door when carrying drinks to your sun bed or outside table. The Zanzibar is open in the main hotel throughout the day and is open until midnight. During the evening, there are two bars open, Zanzibar and Bar Salon, which is open between 8.30 pm and midnight. Bar Salon is downstairs and is where most of the evening entertainment takes place, starting with a mini disco for the kids at 8.30 pm. At times, Bar Salon can be very busy and results in queues. During the fortnight, most of our time in the evenings was spent in Zanzibar. Getting served was quite easy, as there was always enough staff on duty to cope without anybody having to wait too long. All the bar staff were very friendly and service always came with a smile. Tables were cleared regularly and always kept clean. Spirit measures were small, but it was no hardship keeping drinks topped up, or if preferred, asking for a large measure which was willingly provided. Entertainment in Zanzibar was provided in the main by a duo, providing easy listening throughout the evening, supplemented occasionally by Moroccan musicians, who whilst they were good, unfortunately were a little on the loud side.
Overall, an excellent holiday, great hotel and great staff. Pablo, the manager has assembled a great team and has a lot to be proud of. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to a suite, particularly if there are three travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our check-in at the plush 4 star RIU Tikida Gardens was quick and efficient and thankfully, as it was now after midnight, the restaurant had stayed open with snacks for the new arrivals. Our room was spacious and clean and although we didn’t realise until daylight the next morning, had a lovely view of the pool. There’s a free safe in each room, a fridge and a hairdryer, and the room was cleaned daily.
The hotel and grounds were kept immaculate by a small army of friendly staff, perhaps kept on their toes by the fact that the manager can regularly be seen wandering around, checking attention to detail and chatting to guests – not something you usually see.
Sam our Thomson rep was full of fun and enthusiasm, he had some great tips and again, rather unusual for some of the reps I have encountered on holidays abroad, was actually where he said he was going to be when he said he was going to be.
The food was great – no complaints whatsoever. We sat around the same area in the restaurant each night and our waiter soon began topping the wine up for us! The poolside restaurant was also spotless; the kitchen staff could be seen wearing disposable gloves and were constantly cleaning surfaces – very reassuring. The staff overall were fantastic – always polite and friendly.
The entertainment staff arranged activities in and around the pool area but never hassled you if you didn’t want to join in. On an evening they were still tirelessly trying to entertain and whilst it might not have been brilliant it was always good fun. The DJ even asked some young girls to create a playlist of popular songs for him to download to make his disco livelier at the end of the night. He was aware that his taste in music obviously didn’t match the guests’!!
The hotel bus takes you into the new town, people will be waiting to greet it to show you around and expect a tip, say a polite but firm no thank you and make sure you look like you know where you are going!! Head towards KFC, walk straight infront of it, keeping it on your right, and you are on the main road to the Koutoubia Mosque, Jeema el Fna square and the souks – there you see, you do know where you are going. Take a bottle of water for this part – it’s a leisurely 15 minute stroll yet we chose to do it in 46° heat!!
We got a taxi back and headed back towards the carriage rides and mosque to look for one, we were accosted by two men literally fighting over our business! Paying only 20 dirhams in the end was not worth the hair raising ride!! Do what we did the second time and just use one that is already waiting in the square and agree the fee before you leave – usually 100 dirhams. If you’d rather get a taxi into town they operate from outside the hotel at a standard 100 dirhams, they will leave their number for you to call to be picked up if you want them to.
Al in all the Tikida Gardens is a beautiful, clean, friendly and well run hotel, I would recommend in to anyone.
Top tip: Just outside the hotel gates to the left are a couple of small shops, we got a beautiful tagine for 60 dirham, having been quoted between 200 and 500 in the souks!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Tikida Gardens is fantastic, had a great relaxing holiday. Food, staff and rooms were brilliant. Went for 2 weeks with teenage boys - in our opinion it was too long and not enough to entertain the kids in the evening. Abdel, Sam and Jamal were superb providing activities around the complex and in the evenings (always had time to stop and pass the time of day). If you are sad enough to get up at 7 o'clock each morning you might be lucky enough to grab yourself a poolside lounger - it was reported that people would stand by stacks of beds and wait for the towel bloke to give them the thumbs up. A system needs to be put in place to stop this as half of the beds then weren't habited until mid morning. Food was fab, some things were repeated but no cause for complaint. The Moroccan restaurant was lovely. Bar staff are real characters we could have brought Simu home, always smiling despite working a 14 + hour day.
Don't order a taxi from the reception, you'll get ripped off - if you go outside of the complex you'll pick up a taxi for about 80 diram. Mohamads corner shop can supply you with fags and crisps (main entrance turn left). Alternatively you can turn right follow the road and there are several kiosks selling pringles, nuts and other snacks at cheaper prices than the hotel. Locals are really friendly, please make the effort to say hello (the kids particularly loved it when we attempted to speak french). We arranged our own trips - with mixed success. Aqua Park was brilliant, good value, no queuing - this might have been due to it being Ramadam though. We found a tour guide called Marra (all tour guides have identity badges that all appear to have the same photo!) He arranged to take us into the Atlas Mountains to see the cascades, have lunch, stop at a market and some local shops all for an agreed price. At every opportunity he tried to rip us off, an improptu ride on a camel cost us 400 diram (and he pocketed half) he wanted additional payment for lunch and was obviously onto a cut at the shops which we stopped at, to top off the day we didn't see any cascades as they were dried up.
We had two visits to the main square, first time was a bit overwhelming and scary, there were so many people it was like being at a pop concert. Our second visit was a lot more relaxed and we were able enjoy the mosque and souks which sell some lovely stuff (don't forget to barter - only pay a quarter/third of what they ask). We took in a horse and carriage ride around the Old Medina, good value for money, saw the new Marrakesh and marvelled at the resilience of the horses on the manic road systems (still unsure of who has right of way!) Had an unforgettable taxi ride with "Berber Schumacher". If you decide to visit the Sky Bar be prepared to pay over the top prices, 2 red bulls, 1 smirnoff ice and half a lager cost over £20. Didn't see much of the Thomson Rep, spoke on bus transfer from airport and then saw him at welcome meeting. When we asked about things to do in the evenings for kids wasn't very knowlegeable.
Marrakesh airport was a nightmare they ask you to complete visa forms and then made us wait for an eternity at passport control (at least 50 minutes - going and coming back) good luck if you have small children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#90 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#145 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.