We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but 4* may be generous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #172 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, but 4* may be generous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights after visiting the city centre for a few days. It was great to unwind and all inclusive was a great bonus. Rooms were comfortable and always clean. Food was acceptable but not world class (was never going to be in an all inclusive) and the Morrocan cuisine a la carte was great. The staff were exceptional throughout. The biggest downside was the entertainment- the music was the same every night, and even several times throughout the night and day by poolside, which, considering most guests are staying more than one night, grew tedious. And when we went to Bar Salon for the show it was a little disturbing, perhaps we just didn't get it! This is a minor complaint as our stay overall was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    609
    168
    41
    21
See reviews for
330
686
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Firstly id like to say how fussy I am. Having read reviews on here i was travelling with mixed thoughts.

Upon arrival at the hotel (around 11pm) we were greated at the door with cocktails and asked to go for dinner in the restaurant which they had kindly kept open for new arrivals, whilst our bags were taken to our rooms.

The rooms are spotless as are all areas of the hotel. They are basic but why do you need more than clean and basic when on holiday?

The pool area is lovely, pleanty of sunlougers tho you do need to be up around 7am to get the prime location ones. Music playing round the pool in the day which really gives a feel good holiday vibe. Animation team all great, very friendly and play competions such as table tennis, french boules, watet polo and voleyball.

The food is lovely. Huge selection for breakfast lunch and dinner and snacks in between. Please ignore the people who say its repetative as ive had something different every night for a week. Also recommend a meal in the onsite traditional Morrocan restaurant for that authentic evening (included in all inclusive and lambs brain optional).

Around £10 for a taxi to the old square (souks) and the new square has a fantastic roof top bar which is an excellent evening.

Im lay on my sunlounger writing this on my last full day and really dont want to leave! Seriously couldnt recommend this Hotel highly enough and have had an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Read "exxpertskier" 's review; it sums up his views succinctly and I concur fully. Good value; ok food but go to other restaurants as well- just because it's free you don't have to eat there every night.
Lovely, helpful staff.
Towels on sunbeds to reserve them "rule" flouted; wear shirts in pool-bar please; scruffy attire in restaurant; smoking........- deal with it, please.
The rep, Sam, needs to find out more about the area and national customs; we were not told about the "lockdown" at the airport as the entire staff were breaking their fast during Ramadan!
You will be told it's 100 dirham to town by taxi; this is nonsense- haggle at the gates of the hotel and they will lower their prices.
Go to a riad (La Sultana is terrific but expensive) and wander the souks and square.
Lastly, forget the Green Cross Code- make a break for it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was a nice hotel with great spa and pool. Location was quite good too, not far from anything. The food was ok, not amazing. Would i go back again, probably... although there looks like there are other amazing places one could pick above this one but it was a nice quiet, clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week in May to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. He had emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before our stay to ask if it would be possible to upgrade the room and had received a reply confirming that this wouldn't be a problem. At first on checking-in we didn't appear to have been upgraded however my husband showed the member of staff the email and we were then told that we had been upgraded to room 120, which was a suite, at no extra cost.

Upon arriving at our room, the previous occupants were just leaving and advised us that it hadn't been cleaned yet as they had paid for a late check-out. The porter was very apologetic and said that he would ensure the room was made up straightaway. We had a quick look around the room and were extremely happy with it, it was massive! We then decided to have a wander around the hotel and get a drink whilst the room was being cleaned. Just as we were about to leave three maids appeared, all apologising profusely, to clean the room. Our first impressions of the hotel were extremely good and this did not change for the rest of our stay.

All of the staff were extremely hard-working, welcoming & friendly. The manager was always around, which was nice to see. On our first evening before dinner we received a call from the manager to check that everything was to our satisfaction and on requesting a bottle of water from reception later that evening we again received apologies for the room not being ready on our arrival. The whole hotel including the gardens were spotless and constantly being tended to. We did feel sorry for the gardeners working endlessly in the heat!

The hotel shop, as stated in other reviews, was quite pricey but then that is always the cae in case in hotels so we weren't at all surprised at this. Being able to get a large bottle of water from reception whenever you needed it was a really nice touch, especially as I always drink lots of water during the night.

People have complained that the bars closed at midnight - to be honest for us this was late enough! As for the smoking, yes it can get a bit annoying in the Zanzibar but as you are in their country you have to put up with their customs. There were plenty of other areas you could go to that were non-smoking..

The shuttle bus was a bit of a pain as per other reviews. It is not big enough to take everybody and people tend to just push in. However a taxi into town is not expensive, we shared a taxi with another couple and bartered with a taxi driver just outside the hotel. We got him down to 70 Dirhams. He dropped us where the shuttle bus does and it is quite a walk from there into the souks however it is an experience! The traffic is manic but we soon learnt to cross when a local crosses. I wouldn't bother with the new town, the shops are the same we have here but more expensive and I don't go on holiday to have the shops we have at home.

Jeema El Fna is a must early evening, it is such an experience. However don't wander away from the square as we did - we got totally lost and ended up paying someone to show us the way out which was a bit scary.

We couldn't fault the food in the hotel at all, it was plentiful and well-cooked. The roast meat was superb and we found that we could easily have something different to eat every evening. We really liked the Morroccan restaurant, it had a lovely atmosphere with traditional music playing (quite often the waiters join in!) and a much more intimate feel to it (plus you get served your main meal). The tagines really are wonderful.

As stated in other reviews the alcoholic drinks are weak measures but as it's all inclusive it's not really a problem - just order doubles! We tried the cocktails, the mojito wasn't bad but they were all a bit too sweet for my taste.

There is plenty of daytime entertainment on offer if that's your thing. We did look at the yoga class but never got round to doing it, we had such a lazy week relaxing in the pleasant surrounding and wonderful weather. The evening entertainment was okay, they do try hard and we watched a couple of shows during our stay.

All in all we felt that this hotel was excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend the hotel to anyone else.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large and extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here from 8th-18th July. It takes just 25 mins max from the airport, just enough time to fill in the required forms which will speed up your check-in.
(Tip: keep hold of your suitcase when finding your transfer coach, people will try to 'help' for a tip)

We arrived late, and the hotel had kept some food out in the restaurant which was a nice surprise. This led onto a quick check-in and we were in our room.

Block B "La Katoubia" - central to the reception area and the pool. Super clean rooms, maid service every day, towels & bedding changed twice each week. Air conditioning worked in our room, and we had a second electronic key so we could leave it on all day.

The pool is so refreshing after the 35 degrees+ heat. Plenty of sunbeds, although if you want pool-side you need to be up at the crack of dawn. I wasn't bothered, so had a lie-in and still got two with a parasol at about 830-9am.

Lunch time food was repetitive, but always fresh salads, fruit, bread, various cooked meats & tagines (and pizza and chips of course)...

Dinner time was supposed to be a long trouser affair, but this didn't appear to be the case. Men in smart shorts seemed the norm. Again, the food was repetitive but there were some lovely options. I am really picky, but I always managed to have a full plate of food. Tagines, cooked meats, fish, salad... I just kept in mind that we'd paid about £50 per day including flights, hotel, food, drinks- it was fantastic value for money.

The shuttle bus into Marrakech took about 10 mins, with reduced service during Ramadan. Drop off in new town, about a 20 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna square (take a bottle of water) - look for KFC then follow that road right to the square!

We went into Marrakech in the evening in a taxi from outside reception. This cost 100 dh to the skybar, we then walked up to the square (about 25 mins) then got a petit taxi back from near the shuttle bus drop off point, and this was 70 dh back to the hotel.

Try to speak French if possible, they appreciate the effort rather than speaking always in English.

Bar staff all very friendly! Especially Simo :) Reception staff are excellent, with fantastic English skills. If you go with Thomson, the rep Sam isn't the best- the tours seemed expensive, and people were just going and exploring on their own...

Please feel free to ask any questions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed as a group of girls for a short weekend in May. Service at this hotel was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. Pool is huge & gardens well maintained. All inclusive food was great with plenty of choice. The rooms were a little dated but exceptionally clean. The evening entertainment could be better but this did not bother us. The hotel has a shuttle bus to Marrakech but although we waited, others pushed on so maybe the hotel could provide tickets on a first come first serve? Rather than wait for him to return we got a taxi from the front of the hotel ( I believe around £8). A great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.