We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #179 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my first trip to Marrakech and for anyone who's considering staying at this hotel I would say "do it"! I travelled alone with my Son and we both had such a fantastic time for many reasons. We've been lucky enough to visit some great places around the world but this holiday, for us, was up there with the best of them.

Upon arrival we received a warm welcome with a nice glass of fruit juice as we checked in. The General Manager met us all to welcome us to the hotel. From start to finish, the staff we attentive and helpful. The Manager does a fantastic job of ensuring everything is running efficiently. The room was comfortable and clean and the cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful, tasty and there was always an excellent selection. The evening entertainment was hit and miss but on one evening there was a spectacular African Show with drummers, dancers and fire eating. I can honestly say it was the best hotel entertainment show I have ever seen!

We were lucky to meet some lovely people during our stay who also agreed that the hotel and resort were fantastic.

Marrakech itself was beyond words. Needless to say, I am already looking to come back. I'm just glad that the extra weight in my suitcases on the way back was overlooked.

My advice would be to take any negative comments read on here with a huge pinch of salt. Some people just enjoy moaning. I have never stayed in the same holiday hotel twice but I can't wait to come back here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    602
    169
    40
    21
See reviews for
332
690
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'd give this about 3.5 star rating. However it definitely "does what it says on the tin". Clean, good buffet food, great staff and a very high profile general manager who seemed to be everywhere to ensure things ran smoothly. Brilliant value but getting sunbeds can be a battle and it could do with an alternative eating option --even if with a supplement. The gym and pool in the spa were only "free" between 3pm and 7pm which wasn't ideal-- however if we went back I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: pool facing --which side depends on weather you prefer sun in the morning or evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from this hotel after 10 days (07/05/13) & can honestly say the staff & hotel were great. Situated just outside of the old town (you wouldn't want a hotel closer as it's crazy) with a short cab or free shuttle transfer made this hotel ideal for us. The rooms were clean & spacious & apparently the rooms numbered 51 onwards (as ours was) were the best they have. The food is buffet style & plentiful, the staff ,clean courtious & friendly & nothing was too much trouble. My only gripe was the lovely large swimming pool was Freeeeeezzzzing cold (i have warmer cold water from my tap than that had) which for me spoilt the lazy hot days.Apart from that i enjoyed my stay. Oh....mainly French & English holiday makers frequent this hotel with French being spoken mainly but broken English too.

Room Tip: All have air con & fans, try & get a level one room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Many 4-star properties border on the 5-star, just missing out on some facilities. I would say Riu Tikida Gardens is a 4-star that borders on 3-star.

Don't get me wrong - there's nothing at all bad about it. The staff were friendly, the rooms were spacious, and I would consider staying there again.

However, at the same time, it's nothing special. The quality of the drinks was the basic level I expected for an all-inclusive (which is to say I'd feel short-changed if I paid real money at the bar for them). The food was fine but there was very limited fare on offer if you missed the peak time (we were playing golf at 10am most days and when we returned about 3pm there was only left-overs).

We ate at the in-house Moroccan restaurant one night (needs reservation). The building was nice but the food and the overall experience wasn't really that much different to eating in the main buffet restaurant. Again, it was fine, but perhaps we had higher expectations due to having waited a few days to get a table.

If this was officially rated as a 3-star property, I'd have rated it 'very good' on TA, but being a 4-star I think it needs to do better to justify a 'very good' review.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury on Thames
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Tikida Garden is set in lovely Gardens and on arriving the first thing you notice is that it is kept very clean. Our room was clean and nice but I did hear some people say that their room was very tired looking where as our room had been renovated we stayed in the 400 block and had a view over the garden. The maid service was very good and she kept the room very clean. The food was always plentiful and well cooked although seemed a little repetitive and lacked imagination. All the staff were pleasant and they were always smiling and joking with the guests and they always acknowledge you. This hotel is a nice bolt hole of peace and tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh.
The swimming pool is kept immaculately clean and the hotel supply towels. The out side eating area is quite small so you sometimes have to wait for a table or you can eat lunch inside the pool restaurant. The pool area is a little small and sun beds by the pool are usually taken quite early, but there is enough sun beds scattered around.
The Animation team worked hard and the day time activities if you wanted them were very good, but the shows in the evening were quite amateurish and for my part boring.
The Hotel supply a minibus service to the French quarter and you can walk to the main Square or you can take a taxi for 100DHM.
It is well worth a visit to the main square and wait for the sun set when the square becomes a moving mass of people all eating and watching entertainers.
Beware do not take their photo of people unless you are prepared to pay them some money (negotiate the cost first not after you have taken the picture).
All in all my trip to Marrakech was a pleasant one and I would go again.

Room Tip: Our room was in The 400 Block which had a recent renovation and was very quiet and a nice view overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Location

Hotel Riu Tikida Garden is a very convenient hotel from which to explore the Medina of Marrakech, whilst not staying in the old city itself. We walked to the North Gate in the Medina wall in about 10 minutes.

Staff

We found the staff were polite, friendly and ready to do what they could to make the stay of all guests as pleasant as possible. There is good and effective management. We were impressed that the operations manager was to be seen everywhere throughout the day, with eyes and ears for everything and time for everyone.

There are comments elsewhere that it is essential to speak French to be understood. We did not find this to be the case. I began by speaking to all the staff in French only to subsequently hear the same person having a discussion with another guest in perfect English.
Hotel buildings and grounds

That said, Hotel Riu Tikida Garden is what one might expect from an all-inclusive resort hotel at the 'reasonably-priced' end of the market . The buildings are not the newest, and this was something of an initial disappointment for a number of people. The facilities are not the latest. Bathroom fittings are showing their age. However, the hotel is clean, free of vermin and the bedrooms are reasonably spacious.

There are well kept gardens, tennis courts, etc. We found the gym facilities difficult to use, as the gym is open only between 3 and 7 pm. This is the height to the day's heat, and the gym is not air conditioned. Many people might prefer to work out before breakfast, or in the cooler hours of the morning. Perhaps this is an effective way of avoiding any complaints that there is not enough equipment if the gym were more heavily used?

Temperatures were quite high for the time of year(early to mid-April) averaging around 38C during daylight. Initially, the evenings and mornings were quite cool, but by mid-April the temperature did not fall below 25 at night. For exercise, many people chose to run a circular course around the gardens before breakfast; or else, to walk around later in the heat of the day.

Relaxation

The pool is not huge and the sun beds are rather crammed around the area. We noticed a huge difference between the first and second weeks of the vacation. Prior to 15 April, there was frantic competition to lay towels on pool-side sun beds first thing in the morning. Regrettably, these beds were empty until lunch time. Possibly the Easter school break in England was a factor. There was a much more relaxed attitude to 'towelling' thereafter.

Food and beverage

Food is available almost all day long, and whilst it is not brilliant, what does one expect from an all-inclusive deal? We would say that much of the meat, poultry and fish is generally overcooked for our tastes. However, this was also the case when we ate at restaurants in the city. From time to time there was bacon available for breakfast, contrary to comments made elsewhere in relation to this hotel on Trip Adviser.

The main buffet restaurant, L'Orangerie, is used for breakfast and dinner. Lunch is served at the poolside restaurant. There is a Moroccan restaurant with limited availability, which has to be booked with the manager of L'Orangerie restaurant. This outlet stands alone and offers a buffet with a different mix of food. The lamb's brains were particularly good.

Fruit juices appear to be made from powdered concentrate. Better eat an orange! Coffee is from machines and is as one might expect. Better coffee is available from the Zanzibar outlet. Local wine and beer are available, along with spirits, at the bars. Service is good and speedy.

Conclusion

Given that the UK was in the grip of a cold and seemingly interminable Winter, we would have spent as much to stay at home. We did not eat so well, but we had the sunshine, so no need to heat the house at home, pay for energy to cook, clean and wash!

We felt that we had fair value for money for an all-inclusive package holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms commencing 2 are closest to the adjoining urban area, so the full force of the call to prayer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel but the tour company we used need to put more information in there brochure. Our two main complaints are about the dress code for dinner and the smoking.
On arrival we were given a hotel fact sheet at reception that gave all the meal, bar and entertainment times. On this sheet was a little note to say that trousers need to be worn for the evening meal. Luckily I had worn trousers on the flight out but some people only came in shorts and when they tied to get into the resturant they were turned away. This dress guide only applied to men as women were allowed into the resturant in there bikinis and see through beach wrap. The tour reps glib answer to this was to go to the city itself and buy some trousers, which was not what you want to hear. Having stayed at other hotels of equal or better ratings a dress code in a hot climate was totally unexpectable.
The smoking at the hotel was our other complaint. The room we where given smelt so badly that even the porter commented on it. We did end up changing rooms and the staff on the desk were helpful with this, but they have no non-smoking rooms in the hotel at all. As other people have commented the main bar also stank of smoke all the time.
We found the beds and pillows hard but overall the room was fine but nothing special. The cleaner that did our room was fantastic and the only member of staff that deserves any special praise. The food was plentiful if a little bland but with lots of choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.