We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trousers required” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trousers required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel but the tour company we used need to put more information in there brochure. Our two main complaints are about the dress code for dinner and the smoking.
On arrival we were given a hotel fact sheet at reception that gave all the meal, bar and entertainment times. On this sheet was a little note to say that trousers need to be worn for the evening meal. Luckily I had worn trousers on the flight out but some people only came in shorts and when they tied to get into the resturant they were turned away. This dress guide only applied to men as women were allowed into the resturant in there bikinis and see through beach wrap. The tour reps glib answer to this was to go to the city itself and buy some trousers, which was not what you want to hear. Having stayed at other hotels of equal or better ratings a dress code in a hot climate was totally unexpectable.
The smoking at the hotel was our other complaint. The room we where given smelt so badly that even the porter commented on it. We did end up changing rooms and the staff on the desk were helpful with this, but they have no non-smoking rooms in the hotel at all. As other people have commented the main bar also stank of smoke all the time.
We found the beds and pillows hard but overall the room was fine but nothing special. The cleaner that did our room was fantastic and the only member of staff that deserves any special praise. The food was plentiful if a little bland but with lots of choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    658
    212
    48
    23
See reviews for
384
757
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester,uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

first time we stayed at riu tikida garden.We are really fussy & could not fault this hotel.
Firstly all the staff were so friendly with smiley faces,,,great start to the holiday :)
The rooms were spotlessly clean with comfy beds/pilloows with air con
The food was delicious...plentiful & varied
The entertainment was perfect :) Zanzibar is very comfortable that allows smoking & the bar downstairs(can't remember the name) is brilliant.Great entertainment :) Our favourite was the crazy show but also the show with the head in the water with Silem (our favourite of all the animation team)Silem was soooo funny.He is also great with kids & they all love him:)
The bar staff are very friendly.Zahira(i hope i have got your name right)was lovely & friendly.Mohammed & all the rest of the bar staff were also very friendly:)
We are very well travelled so take no notice of the negative comments....I cannot complain.The courtesy bus to the market was great but you have to make sure that people dont push infront because you wil have to wait till the next bus:(
We will definately come here again & will highly reccommend this hotel.Please believe my comments.If you stay here,i know that you will not be dissapointed:)We had a sauna & a salt scrub on our first day that i would highly recommend:)

Room Tip: ask for top floor:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband booked us here for my 40th, short journey from airport, which is good. Hotel
Was clean and staff Very friendly and always happy to help and advise. Hotel grounds are beautiful and very well kept, except for a huge tree outside our balcony, so only a good view to the left or right!! Room was a nice size, with 2 huge single beds pushed together. Food was good, as we were only here for weekend choice wasn't a problem, fish was lovely, my husband lived on the spaghetti bol. Zanzibar was smokey, felt strange because of smoking ban in UK now. Spirits measures were a bit 'small', so as all inclusive you have to keep getting another, as were cocktails, no beer in pints either. Evening entertainment consisted of a man and an organ, not good. downstairs was kids Karoke!! Booked and had dinner in 1001 nights resturant, was ok, but a bit rushed. Went on a 'trip' to old town, but wouldn't recommend going with 'tour operator' not enough time to do what you want to do, spent most of tour being ushered around like sheep so couldn't barter and buy as much. Weather was absolutely brilliant which mad the weekend even better. Would we go back, not sure, maybe try Agadir next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautiful gardens and very well maintained. However, the main part of the hotel although spotless was supposed to be non smoking area according to their room brochure but everyone smoked there and the stench was awful. The staff were very helpful and you could not fault them, although the main restaurant waiters left quite a bit to be desired. I was not impressed with the food although the local dishes were very tasty, the rest was not very appetising and very much the same every night. I had to change rooms after one night as the main air conditioning units for the hotel were just below my room and the noise was horrid. There was no lift in the main building although there was in the annexes. The so called entertainment evenings were a joke and there were more children than adults, and at 10.00 pm at night one would have hopped for decent adult programmes. The Zanzibar bar was continually smoke filled so if you didn't smoke this was not a nice area to be in. The rooms were clean and fairly spacious but very basic, with no tea or coffee facilities and the bathroom extras (shampoo etc) were non existent other than a bar of soap. There was a separate toilet which you could barely shut the door on. I would not go back to that hotel again although I loved Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Can't fault hotel in anyway great food staff very friendly and helpful rooms and all areas kept very clean and tidy enjoyed our stay. Great location short transfer time. Entertainment could do with some improvement

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our 5th visit to Marrakech. Previously we have always stayed at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie. We went here this time because of a great room sale.

This hotel is clean easy to get around and had everything we expected from the Riu brand. However a couple of points which have been made before.......

Rooms smaller than their sister hotel and not as high grade but for what we paid absolutely fine.

Food a good selection and plenty for veggies etc

Drinks this is the only Riu we have been to where staff are watched and encouraged to be mean with measures! Come on Riu sort this out! Its an overhang from when it was a Best Western and really lets the brand down.

Annimation team spot on as ever with Riu Samir was great with our family.

Staff are very friendly and fell over themselves to help with younger children.

Great location but shuttle goes to Gueliz rather than 'the square' which after 1 visit is most annoying!

I won't spend ages lamenting the differences if you want some guidance please feel free to message us. We love Marrakech and the Riu brand.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We returned last week from 11 nights at the Tikida Garden and had a fab time! Myself and my husband travelled with our daughter 17 and son 19 and all enjoyed the holiday. There were good points and bad points but I have given an honest review and if you go with an open mind then i'm sure you will enjoy it too!

The rooms were very clean and beds comfortable, though I would have preferred a duvet rather than the sheets and blankets provided. There were spare blankets and pillows if needed, and a fridge which could be used for bottles of water available at any time from reception. The main gripe was about the shower, which was over the bath and would sometimes lose all pressure or suddenly go boiling hot or freezing cold. This seemed to be worse around 6pm, I guess due to the number of other guests using the water at this time. The aircon was also ineffective and very noisy, though being there in April this was not a problem as it wasn't too hot. Our children had the room next to us and we had a connecting balcony which was very useful, and we had a lovely view of the pool.

The pool was very cold so I didn't venture into it, but there is an indoor pool which can be used, though I understand there is a charge of £10 for this. However the grounds of the hotel are beautiful and quiet, many plants which smelt lovely, and plenty of areas to relax. Sunbeds round the pool tended to be taken very early in the morning but we always found beds nearer the gardens and you could find a sunny or shady spot as required. Pool towels provided which could be changed when required and were adequate. We have been on holidays where we have had to reserve beds at 7am so to get a bed at 9am was a bonus!

The food although not an outstanding selection or themed like other hotels was plentiful and we never struggled to find something we liked. The food was constantly topped up, and was very rare to see an empty container. A microwave was provided if food not hot enough. For breakfast was eggs, poached, scrambled, boiled or omelettes could be made on request (though this is not advertised and we didn't realise until a few days in), no bacon obviously but turkey sausages, potatoes, cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries, pancakes and doughnuts. These were my downfall, still warm and fresh! Bread too was always fresh. Lunchtime was a selection of meats, fish, salads, pasta, pizza and paninis, and similar in the evening. Not forgetting the desserts, delicious coconut and almond tarts and icecream! If hungry between lunch and dinner, pizza and paninis available, though we would have liked some sort of food to be available later on after dinner, as alcohol tends to give us the munchies! We all put on half a stone over the 11 days so that tells you something!

There is a moroccan restaurant onsite which can be booked but we didn't really see the advantage of this as the starter and dessert were buffet style as were the other restaurant. The main restaurant offers a tagine each night but I suppose if you wanted a bit more service for drinks and a change of scenery then would be worth a visit. My husband ordered a lamb tagine but was very disappointed to find that his consisted mainly of bone and little meat, however when he pointed this out they did bring him another boneless one!

There are 3 bars. We would have preferred a poolside bar that was outside rather than having to go into the lunchtime restaurant for drinks. Soft drinks were self service. There is Zanzibar which is smoky but we found this bearable, and the evening entertainment venue downstairs which was similar to a nightclub. Non premium brands of spirits were on offer and very weak measures, cocktails varied depending on which bar you were at, the wine was very good and beer drinkable. Who cares though when you can go back as many times as you like?

There was plenty to do during the day if you wanted, darts, table tennis, gym (free from 3-7), arabic lessons, tagine lessons. We enjoyed our morning stretching though it did tend to get very hot even at 10.30am. The entertainment team are very friendly and went out of their way to speak to you. They would not pressure if you didnt want to join in, but the offer was there. A special mention goes to Salim (crazy!!) and Samir, two lovely guys. In the evening there was a mini disco from 8.30, then entertainment from 9.30, followed by disco from around 10.30. This took place in the nightclub, or in Zanzibar there was an organ player or singer though we didn't spend a lot of time in there. The evening entertainment was not the best, dance bingo a strange concept, and the shows partly in French. But you have to give them credit for trying and they work so hard and are so lovely that you can have a few drinks and just laugh along!
We didnt stay up past 11 most evenings but be warned if you are a party animal, the bar closes at 12 and they tell you to leave then as we discovered on our one late night! You could sit in reception after this but no alcohol.

We went on two trips through Thomson, the Marrakech discovery and the Road to Kasbahs. The Marrakech tour was mainly spent in palaces looking at very similar architecture, then rushed through the souks to a herbal place and a shop, obviously the tour guide is on commission! We didn't like the souks much as my daughter got hassled quite a bit despite covering up, and was even touched on the leg/behind by one man! We didn't feel brave enough to venture out on our own so the trip was a good opportunity to see a bit of Marrakech without the worry of getting lost. The 4 X 4 trip to the Atlas mountains however was very good. Though much of it spent driving, we were lucky enough to be in the car with the tour lead, and saw variety of different landscapes, we were driving through snow at one point! There was one hairy moment when we were stuck by some fallen rubble from the ravine but the car managed to drive over the top, just don't look down! There is a bus which runs from the hotel to Marrakech, but this doesn't run very often and once its full that's it. We took this once and went to the Artisan centre, a good place for souvenirs if you don't fancy the souks. However we were a bit rushed as we didn't want to miss the bus back. You could get a taxi if you wanted but we didn't want the hassle of trying to haggle the price!

One word of warning for Thomson customers, our flight was 6pm and we didn't leave the hotel until 4pm. The queues at the airport were extremely slow and consequently we had to rush straight through onto the plane and had no time for duty free shopping or even a drink!

However this review is mainly about the hotel and overall I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice week in tranquil surroundings with activities if you want them. We felt for the price we paid it was very good value for money, was clean, staff friendly and food good. I wouldn't choose to go back to Marrakech as the world is a big place but we would definitely go back to this hotel if we just wanted to have a few days relaxing in the sun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#148 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.