We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu has it all wrapped up in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #172 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Riu has it all wrapped up in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our 5th visit to Marrakech. Previously we have always stayed at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie. We went here this time because of a great room sale.

This hotel is clean easy to get around and had everything we expected from the Riu brand. However a couple of points which have been made before.......

Rooms smaller than their sister hotel and not as high grade but for what we paid absolutely fine.

Food a good selection and plenty for veggies etc

Drinks this is the only Riu we have been to where staff are watched and encouraged to be mean with measures! Come on Riu sort this out! Its an overhang from when it was a Best Western and really lets the brand down.

Annimation team spot on as ever with Riu Samir was great with our family.

Staff are very friendly and fell over themselves to help with younger children.

Great location but shuttle goes to Gueliz rather than 'the square' which after 1 visit is most annoying!

I won't spend ages lamenting the differences if you want some guidance please feel free to message us. We love Marrakech and the Riu brand.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    609
    168
    41
    21
See reviews for
330
686
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We returned last week from 11 nights at the Tikida Garden and had a fab time! Myself and my husband travelled with our daughter 17 and son 19 and all enjoyed the holiday. There were good points and bad points but I have given an honest review and if you go with an open mind then i'm sure you will enjoy it too!

The rooms were very clean and beds comfortable, though I would have preferred a duvet rather than the sheets and blankets provided. There were spare blankets and pillows if needed, and a fridge which could be used for bottles of water available at any time from reception. The main gripe was about the shower, which was over the bath and would sometimes lose all pressure or suddenly go boiling hot or freezing cold. This seemed to be worse around 6pm, I guess due to the number of other guests using the water at this time. The aircon was also ineffective and very noisy, though being there in April this was not a problem as it wasn't too hot. Our children had the room next to us and we had a connecting balcony which was very useful, and we had a lovely view of the pool.

The pool was very cold so I didn't venture into it, but there is an indoor pool which can be used, though I understand there is a charge of £10 for this. However the grounds of the hotel are beautiful and quiet, many plants which smelt lovely, and plenty of areas to relax. Sunbeds round the pool tended to be taken very early in the morning but we always found beds nearer the gardens and you could find a sunny or shady spot as required. Pool towels provided which could be changed when required and were adequate. We have been on holidays where we have had to reserve beds at 7am so to get a bed at 9am was a bonus!

The food although not an outstanding selection or themed like other hotels was plentiful and we never struggled to find something we liked. The food was constantly topped up, and was very rare to see an empty container. A microwave was provided if food not hot enough. For breakfast was eggs, poached, scrambled, boiled or omelettes could be made on request (though this is not advertised and we didn't realise until a few days in), no bacon obviously but turkey sausages, potatoes, cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries, pancakes and doughnuts. These were my downfall, still warm and fresh! Bread too was always fresh. Lunchtime was a selection of meats, fish, salads, pasta, pizza and paninis, and similar in the evening. Not forgetting the desserts, delicious coconut and almond tarts and icecream! If hungry between lunch and dinner, pizza and paninis available, though we would have liked some sort of food to be available later on after dinner, as alcohol tends to give us the munchies! We all put on half a stone over the 11 days so that tells you something!

There is a moroccan restaurant onsite which can be booked but we didn't really see the advantage of this as the starter and dessert were buffet style as were the other restaurant. The main restaurant offers a tagine each night but I suppose if you wanted a bit more service for drinks and a change of scenery then would be worth a visit. My husband ordered a lamb tagine but was very disappointed to find that his consisted mainly of bone and little meat, however when he pointed this out they did bring him another boneless one!

There are 3 bars. We would have preferred a poolside bar that was outside rather than having to go into the lunchtime restaurant for drinks. Soft drinks were self service. There is Zanzibar which is smoky but we found this bearable, and the evening entertainment venue downstairs which was similar to a nightclub. Non premium brands of spirits were on offer and very weak measures, cocktails varied depending on which bar you were at, the wine was very good and beer drinkable. Who cares though when you can go back as many times as you like?

There was plenty to do during the day if you wanted, darts, table tennis, gym (free from 3-7), arabic lessons, tagine lessons. We enjoyed our morning stretching though it did tend to get very hot even at 10.30am. The entertainment team are very friendly and went out of their way to speak to you. They would not pressure if you didnt want to join in, but the offer was there. A special mention goes to Salim (crazy!!) and Samir, two lovely guys. In the evening there was a mini disco from 8.30, then entertainment from 9.30, followed by disco from around 10.30. This took place in the nightclub, or in Zanzibar there was an organ player or singer though we didn't spend a lot of time in there. The evening entertainment was not the best, dance bingo a strange concept, and the shows partly in French. But you have to give them credit for trying and they work so hard and are so lovely that you can have a few drinks and just laugh along!
We didnt stay up past 11 most evenings but be warned if you are a party animal, the bar closes at 12 and they tell you to leave then as we discovered on our one late night! You could sit in reception after this but no alcohol.

We went on two trips through Thomson, the Marrakech discovery and the Road to Kasbahs. The Marrakech tour was mainly spent in palaces looking at very similar architecture, then rushed through the souks to a herbal place and a shop, obviously the tour guide is on commission! We didn't like the souks much as my daughter got hassled quite a bit despite covering up, and was even touched on the leg/behind by one man! We didn't feel brave enough to venture out on our own so the trip was a good opportunity to see a bit of Marrakech without the worry of getting lost. The 4 X 4 trip to the Atlas mountains however was very good. Though much of it spent driving, we were lucky enough to be in the car with the tour lead, and saw variety of different landscapes, we were driving through snow at one point! There was one hairy moment when we were stuck by some fallen rubble from the ravine but the car managed to drive over the top, just don't look down! There is a bus which runs from the hotel to Marrakech, but this doesn't run very often and once its full that's it. We took this once and went to the Artisan centre, a good place for souvenirs if you don't fancy the souks. However we were a bit rushed as we didn't want to miss the bus back. You could get a taxi if you wanted but we didn't want the hassle of trying to haggle the price!

One word of warning for Thomson customers, our flight was 6pm and we didn't leave the hotel until 4pm. The queues at the airport were extremely slow and consequently we had to rush straight through onto the plane and had no time for duty free shopping or even a drink!

However this review is mainly about the hotel and overall I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice week in tranquil surroundings with activities if you want them. We felt for the price we paid it was very good value for money, was clean, staff friendly and food good. I wouldn't choose to go back to Marrakech as the world is a big place but we would definitely go back to this hotel if we just wanted to have a few days relaxing in the sun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just arrived back from 10 days in the Tikida Garden - my wife, 11 year old daughter and I had a wonderful time.
Seeing previous comments - on booking we asked for a third bed in the room and on arrival it was in the room. No camp bed for us! Beds were very comfortable.
Staff are brilliant from cleaners / waiting staff right up to the Head Chef and manager : ) .... for example, my daughter wanted a simple omlette one evening and asked the head chef who found it no trouble to make her a cheesy omlette. On other nights, he would even come over and ask her if everything was ok and if she had found something she wanted to eat, and if not, he would be happy to do something for her.
My wife's leather sandel broke - just needed a simple repair but question was where would I take it. On my way to reception, I came across the manager (he was always walking around, very visible and making sure everything was just right). Anyway, I asked him and he promptly called a member of staff over and said he could get it sorted - I bumped into him at lunch and the manager said the shoe was at reception, all mended (excellent repair job) and when asking 'how much' the manager said, dont worry.
The animation team became more like good friends rather than hotel staff - nothing was too much trouble, even if we wanted to do something different to the published entertainment programme (beach volleyball rather than petanque). We even played the hotel football team which was great as following the game, everytime you went into dinner, you knew half of the waiters - again great people and great service.
We also meet up with a great bunch of people, not just Brits but from Belgium and France - all helped to make for such a wonderful holiday.
The hotel grounds are immaculate, and being spring, flowers in bloom - my daughter was captivated by the family of tortoises especially the babies.
Trips into Marrakech both by day (souks & medina) and at night (horse & carriage ride), and trip into the Atlas mountains and valleys were good value for money. Be ready to bargain hard in the medina but great experience - I found the Moroccan's not to be pushy unless you started to engage them in the bargaining - we wandered into shops and were not hassled or maybe it was a lot less than expected! Got some bargains :)
We would definitely go back to the Rui Tikida Garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights (with my wife and 8yr old daughter) all inclusive at New Year (booked through Thomson, arrived new years eve) and would definitely recommend it for a stay in the madness that is Marrakech.

Driving from the airport you begin to wonder what on earth the hotel is going to be like because Marrakech is just such a mental place. It appears on the surface a very poor city but once you arrive through the security gate (with 24 hour guards) it's a little oasis. It is odd at first as the smell of cigarette smoke hits you instantly in reception but you soon begin to not notice it. The reception staff were excellent, they showed us to our room (which was a ground floor one by the pool). It was a little dark and dingy and also right next to the stairwell and lifts so we asked if they had anything else available. They showed us a couple of other rooms but they weren't really floating our boat so we enquired about a suite. They showed us one which was perfect, well worth the additional 200 Dirhams (only approx £15.00, yep, £15) per night. Would recommend booking a suite for the space, comfort and location of them.

The quality of the food all day every day was excellent, the head chef is constantly walking round checking the quality and talking to the guests. The selection was also excellent, something for everybody. The first night we were there we enquired about what there was for children and they asked us what we'd like. Told them she liked chicken breast, goujons that sort of thing, they said they'd buy some the following morning and were true to their word. There is also a separate restuarant near the pool where you can sit down and have proper waiter service for a change (still in the all inclusive package). The alcoholic drinks are also very good with an excellent selection of cocktails too.

The Thomson tours/excursions are a bit iffy though. The medina one is particularly rubbish. We got totally lost on our first day in them so booked the "navigation/familiarisation" tour. We were rushed through about 5 streets before being plonked into the local herbalist shop for over an hour whilst they tried to sell us a load of old pap. Then onto another shop which was supposedly "everything you can buy in the medina in one place", again quite blatantly all on back handers with each other. Complete and utter waste of time and money and absolutely no use for helping us find our way around the medinas. The gardens trip is also poor, the Menara garden is boring with nothing to see apart from a load of olive trees, stray dogs and a brown lake. The Majorelle gardens (designed by Yves Saint-Laurent) on the other hand are amazing and beautiful but you can quite easily get there on your own.

They had kids games and entertainment on an evening which was of a fair standard. But a trip into the main square at night is well worth it. The local area directly outside the hotel does appear a little poor and intimidating at first but most people are genuinely friendly and just say hello. Much like anywhere you visit, if you have your wits about you then you shouldn't have any problems. A taxi into the main square/medina is about 7-10 Dirhams.

To sum it up I'd say everybody has to visit Marrakech at least once just to experience it and the Tikida Garden is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a suite, they're in the main hotel rather than the annexe buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Tikida Garden which was really peaceful oasis. The hotel lives up to its name as the grounds are covered with beautiful cacti, plants and flowering trees plus resident tortoises. I went with my parents and 9 year old son who rates the hotel as "wow".

What stood out for me was the rigorous management of the place led by a dashing Spaniard called Pedro. He made time to speak to the guests and to respond to our needs. All staff were friendly, organised and never stopped cleaning the grounds, kitchen and communal areas.

I found our room adequate to our requirements with a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens. It was extremely clean and everything except the ac worked well. In a heatwave I don't think the cooling fan would be sufficient.

The pool was freezing but in the hot weather, quite bearable whilst you are in there. On cooler days, the heated indoor pool was available but I thought £12 for half a day was a bit too much.

The all-inclusive allowed us to have food throughout the day and unlimited drinks. The choice was good but the same everyday. We did complain about the food not being hot enough but there was a microwave for guests. The Moroccan restaurant offered a different experience and the lamb tagine was nice. The zanzibar was a nice place to rest before bed however smoking is allowed.

My only gripe was the entertainment. You couldn't fault the exuberance of the animation team however after a brilliant 'African show'on the first night by Senegalese musicians, the nightly entertainment went downhill. At times, it was quite embarrassing. I would have expected more outside performers for a 4 star hotel. The animation team also provided activities for the children and adults during the day however most children seemed to make their own fun with friends and tortoises.

Overall, it was a lovely hotel to spend our first time in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The riu tikida gardens is an average hotel. The rooms are in need of modernisation it would be nice to have decent beds. We took our daughter who is 13 and paid the same price as we did for us, little did we expect a put me up camp bed in the room with blankets. This proved very uncomfortable for her. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and presentable. The gardens are exceptional. Word of caution if you want sun beds get up early and find some as most are gone by 9am. I do not feel the standard of the rooms warrant a four star rating though. Having stayed with riu before on several occasions I was a little disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Marrakech is a really chaotic, crazy and crumbling destination to holiday in. Everyone thought we should have stayed in a Riad in the centre but as we had two grown up children (both over 18) we opted for the all-inclusive option. The idea was that they would sit by the pool for a few days while we did the history and culture thing. However, exceptionally cool and wet weather for early April dampened our plans, and we spent each day visiting the souks.

I have to say that the Tikida Garden was a beautiful, tranquil setting and wonderful escape from the centre. All the public areas were magnificently managed - leave a cup or a plate for a moment and it is whisked away, as was any litter. Although smoking is permitted we were in a non-smoking block very close to the pool. We also hardly noticed any smoking in the restaurants.

Food was plentiful in the restaurant. Not always fantastic, but loads of choice. Service was brilliant. The small a la carte Moroccan restaurant on site was terrific - it only seated about 40 people and you needed to book. Very well worth it.

So why not 5 stars? Really it was the room that let things down; it wasn't 4 star quality. The air con didn't work and the safe needed fixing (always seems to happen to me); the fridge didn't seem to work and the alarm clock was broken. The room phone was dodgy too. To be honest, they did fix most things quite quickly, and they gave us a blank card key so we could keep the electricity on (and then the fridge worked). The bathroom wasn't brilliant and the shower went from cold to boiling hot.

The free shuttle bus to the centre was sometimes over subscribed and only took you to the new part of the city. So we usually took a taxi from the hotel gates, and picked another up from the centre to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.