We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tikida charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #179 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“tikida charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

First imperssion on travelling off the main road to the hotel is a bit of a rough area. reception staff are very good, my wife uses a wheel chair for distances and as soon as they saw the chair they were looking to give us a room on ground floor but this did not matter as there was a lift for us to use but still considerate of them, as they were during the whole week. Rooms and whole hotel very clean but only the top floors of the blocks will see much sun due to postioning. Bar staff in zanzibar are very good could not tell you about bar salon as it was down stairs and this was a no smoking area. Evening dining in main resturant staff ok(ish not just our opinion a few people mentioned this) except for the older waiter at the end furthest from entrance he was the best by far. Breakfast good plenty of choice. Evening meal ok we have had better and worse but you will always find somthing you will enjoy, but it is a bit repetitive. Lunch at the pool bar/resturant ok but again repetitive. Nice gardens surround the hotel only fault few sitting areas if you want to avoid the pool area. Outside walkink to main road as said looks a rough area but i had no problems walking there people friendly without much " come into my shop"

Room Tip: try for a top floor room then you will not be woken by all the golfers dropping their balls on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    609
    169
    42
    21
See reviews for
331
688
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From watching our plane be de-iced so we could take-off, under three hours later arriving in the warmth of this exotic city. Great Hotel, with the friendliest staff we have ever encountered, the bar staff were particularly good, always having a joke with us. The smoking situation was just like going into any pub at home a few years ago before the ban, and although we are non-smokers it didn't bother us unduly. The hotel was spotlesly clean, and a good choice of food if a little under seasoned (I think the chef was told to under spice things for western palates, but we would have appreciated more) The bread selection was particularly tasty (the french connection?) The other guests were prodonimately french, with no sign of russians (make of this what you will) The animation team encouraged everyone to join in the activities, but if you are like us and just want a peaceful holiday, they left you alone. In the evening they put on a hilarious show, their enthusiam far outstripping their abilities, but all the better for it. Great fun.
We travelled with Thomson, and booked three half day excursions for £50/head. This proved to be incredible value for money, Souks, Gardens, and History, informative, educational, we would not have learned half as much had we tried to do this on our own.
The neighbourhood around the hotel was perfectly safe to walk around, seeing the locals at work and the school children buying breakfast on their way to school, practising their english on us.
A perfectly balanced holiday 50% relaxing and 50% site-seeing, one of the best we've ever taken. I have recommended this hotel to many friends since we returned home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Couldn't criticize the staff as they actually 'made' the hotel. they all work hard to ensure a pleasant stay. This hotel may well be a 4 star in Morocco but would definitely be around 3 star in the UK.

On the down side - the hotel rooms are very basic but clean. The towels are fairly thin and you will notice once used, they look very grey. The pillows are rock hard and it's like sleeping with a brick under your head. We informed reception that our fridge and clock were not working a couple of days in and no action was taken. The food is produced 'on a budget'. Whilst o.k. it was nothing to shout about and by the end of the week does become repetitive and boring. There is a Moroccan Restaurant which for 1 night is included in the stay. The starter is serve yourself and a little better than the main restaurant whilst the main meal is a selection of 4 tagines. However, the food is not cooked in the tagine but is placed in there and served - disappointing. The desserts are similar to the starter - just a little bit better than the main restaurant. It's worth visiting this restaurant just to break the tedious main restaurant. There's ample alcohol and drinks available. However, if you want water in the room you need to request a bottle at reception.

You can get the hotel bus into Marrakech but it's only small and gets really busy. Avoid the 10:30 am as on average, 8-16 people don't get on and have to get taxis.

If I was scoring a holiday on the star system then it would only have been a 1 star as the hotel is like an oasis in the midst of poor surroundings. Once leaving the main entrance - its 3rd world with nowhere to walk or go to. Marrakech is disappointing unless a 3rd world holiday is what you're looking for. It's poor, dirty with litter everywhere. Smells of exhaust fumes and many, many beggars. Crossing streets - you take your life in your hands as there seems to be no 'order or system' on the roads. Within the Medina you can't relax as motorbikes, bicycles, carts are constantly beeping you out of the way.

If you are an animal lover - this is not the place to be. Avoid the main square at night, you will see various animals tethered and unhappy. On the whole, they don't treat their donkeys or horses very well. Also upsetting to see chickens squeezed into cages at the back of butcher shops ready for slaughter.

If after reading this, you still want to visit Morocco - we understand the Riu Tikida Palmeraie is a larger, newer and better hotel. However, it is out from the centre but there is a shuttle bus which will take you in and back for free.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel gets the sun on the balcony in the evening. The other in the morning. When b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The buildings and facilities at this hotel are of four star standard, although the decoration could do with freshening up, the smokers do not help. The deciding factor for us booking this hotel was the indoor pool which could be used between 11.00 am and 3.00 pm although you had to allow the first hour for the kids. The large outdoor pool was not heated. The animation team had activities going all day but were not pushy about joining in. We were here in Febuary and there were no problems with sunbeds even though there was the usual towel laying out early in the morning. The courtesy bus into town could also be a source of problems, we used it four times in eleven days and on one occasion people could not get on at the hotel which made us wonder if we would get a ride back on the last bus, which we did but what if there are too many people who want a ride back? Also we felt four buses a day were not enough and there was not one in the evenings.
Our room was comfortable and clean, there was quite a layer of dust under the bed I discoved when I dropped an earring. The maid also had a habit of coming in the room, after knocking if we had not put the do not clean sign on the outside of the door. The food was edible and consisted of staples with a couple of different dishes each day it became very boring We ate out one evening and the food was much better. There was plenty to drink and we over indulged as we stayed in the hotel for the shows which just passed the time, Salim and Yousseff were very professional but the rest of the animation team did not impress. There was Wi Fi but no computer for general use and no USB port as I wanted to charge my walkman all standard in a £10 a night backpackers hostel and what I would expect in a four star hotel.
We visited friends staying at the Riad Granvillier near the old square and experienced more welcoming hospitality there in 90 minutes than in the whole of our stay at Tikida gardens. Overall we were not impessed with this hotel, for what we paid we were happy but at normal rates it is just not good value,we will not be back. If it was a three star or even two star that would be nearer the mark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penicuik
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a great hotel well located for visiting Marrakech without being right in the busy part. The staff are very helpful. My daughter was ill when we here and the reception staff could not have been more helpful they arranged a doctor and went to the pharmacy for us to colllect the medicine. The food in the main resteraunt was very good and the separate al acarte resteraunt is superb well worth a visit. The hotel grounds are well laid out, a lovely pool with an adjacent resteraunt if you want to laze around. There were plently beds on offer around the pool and through the gardens. There are taxis on standby to take you into the town centre at a very modest cost. There is so much to do in marrakech and the surrounding area so interesting and some spectacular scenery in the mountains. I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for a week on a First Choice ‘all inclusive’ package. It was pleasing to be given a soft drink at reception while our group was booking in and that sort of service continued throughout our stay. Our room was clean, spacious ad comfortable - just like the picture in the brochure. The location of the hotel is excellent, far enough away from the main road to be quiet, but the centre of the city was only about 15 minutes away in the hotel transport, which did about 6 round trips per day. The gardens are great, even in February there was plenty of colour and exotic birdsong. There was a bit of piped music round the pool for the sunbathers (yes warm enough in February), but it was not intrusive and it was easy to find a quiet spot. Before our holiday, we were a bit apprehensive about cigarette smoke throughout the hotel, but the dining rooms are non-smoking and we were never troubled by smoke during our stay. We enjoyed the food and there was always something available that we liked. There is an ATM in the hotel reception, so local currency was not a problem. ‘All inclusive’ turn out to be just that: we were not charged for our beers, G&Ts, or rum & cokes, so there was nothing to pay when we left.
Our only criticism was that there are gaps in the balustrades on the second floor of our accommodation block and we thought that they might be big enough for a toddler to fall through.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel the last week in August 2012, and it was superb. Food and cocktails are on offer throughout the day and evening. Hotel room spacious and clean with cleaners leaving petals on your bed in the morning! Staff are fab, everyone is friendly, pool is LUSH, yoga in the mornings is a great way to start the day, shuttle bus goes into Jemaa el Fna, so you can visit the crazy Souks every morning (they are a MUST, especially in the evening - take in all the sights and sounds and grab some lovely bargains). We ended up in a stall, where I bought a beautiful traditional Moroccan dress and the owner made us all a gorgeous pot of mint tea and we sat around chatting for ages. The Moroccans are friendly, and it is safe to go outside of the hotel (try the little shop just left of the hotel - its tiny, but you can get some little bargains in there). Do a horse and carriage ride, visit a Riad, have a traditional massage, or go on a camel trek, or spend the day up the Atlas Mountains.... there's plenty to do! The hotel also has beautiful trees, so you are surrounded by shaded areas if you need to cool off, put your feet up and have an iced cocktail.
All in all, an amazing holiday and a fab hotel.
Dont listen to the (very few) negative comments about the hotel - its fantastic! And Im going again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.