We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel just outside of city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #177 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel just outside of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked 6 months or so in advance of travelling and got a very reasonably priced all inclusive package.

Outbound flights were delayed, but the hotel were expecting us at the new time. Drinks were waiting as we walked into reception. Bags were taken from us and all the room key cards were ready and waiting. Within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel we were in the room. Within 10 minutes the luggage was with us too.

A good selection if food was available throughout the day, at various locations.
All the staff were pleasant and friendly and spoke excellent French and English.
Rooms were cleaned daily and thoroughly.
A minor criticism was the shower, on several occasions it was difficult to maintain a constant temperature, the shower controls were akin to a hair pin trigger. It wasn't a major issue though and you got plenty of advance warning it was about to turn cold.

Beds were comfortable and there were ample extra pillows and blankets.
There were 2 plug sockets in the room so you could charge multiple items at once. Once you left the room though the power went off. You had to insert your key card into the wall for power.

The hotel grounds were well maintained and nice to walk through. There were tennis and badminton courts, along with boules and ping pong tables.
The reception area also had plenty of seating with ample board games to borrow.
Each night the animation team put on a show in the salon bar. Or there was alternative entertainment, usually a pianist, in the other bar.

For the adventurous the hotel is within walking distance of the medina and Jem El Fel Square.
Or you could catch the hotel shuttle bus. Service was strictly first come first served and there was no guarantee there would be enough room on the way back. Although traffic regulations aren't as strict and nobody cares if you sit 3 or 4 to a seat.

All in all a good and comfortable hotel to stay in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    609
    169
    42
    21
See reviews for
331
688
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is immaculate so clean. The gardens are beautiful and also very well kept. Staff are very friendly and service fantastic! The food is lovely and plentiful. Not repetitive and lots of choice. Rooms are a fab size and again immaculate. The maid always made lovely creations from our bath towels!! Sheets changed every other day and towels changed daily if you request it. A thoroughly lovely week would definitely go back. Only negative was the indoor lounge bar which we preferred was not non smoking such a shame.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful outlook either gardens or pool so wouldn't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a friend in November 2012.
The grounds are very well kept and facilities are of a great standard.
The hotel is away from the Medina and hustle and bustle but not too far that venturing into it is an issue. The hotel have a free bus that runs to and fro each day allowing you to go and shop, eat out and see the sights etc very easily.
Though the weather was hit and miss and the pool was incredibly cold we still had the opportunity to chill out and sunbathe. The hotel food and drink was excellent, the choice was good and the cocktails were fab. The hotels Moroccan restaurant was nice but the food is really just as good if not a little better in the main restaurant. The staff in the hotel were some of the nicest i have met.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel given the opportunity, and would stay in any of the other Riu hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

we stayed at the hotel mid jan ,for one week ,lovely weather lovely staff they couldnt do enough for you the food was lovey very clean rooms good location we had fun going to the souks and the square felt very safe had a good laugh with the stall holders many bargains to be had dont forget to haggle its part of the fun we will be back has soon has we can :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I gave the title as it seems the big question with guests on both our visits “which is best” and both hotels have been reviewed to death. We have stayed at both hotels and both are excellent. The food quality was the same at both hotels and the accommodation was also the same, excellent. The service is outstanding and the staff are excellent at both RUI’s as you would expect. The Value for money is also outstanding at both and it’s imposible to go hungary. So the differences, well we stayed in January both times so my opinoin is based on a visit at that time of the year. The Palmeraie is huge and does not have that same personal feel as the RIU Garden. Marrocco has been discribed as a land of hot sun and cold breezes and that is truly the case in January but the RIU Garden has the advantage of being shielded from the breeze by well establishes gardens. The Palmeraie’s layout is sprowling, flat and is not so shielded. Some of the rooms at the Palmeraie are quite a walk from the bars and dining facility, so those with mobility issues would, I think prefere the Garden. The dining rooms at the Palmeraie are huge and there is a slight feel of a being crowded at meal times. I would emphsise that this is not due to management but guest behaviour. There were also far more kids at the Palmeraie especially at local public holidays, this was however not an issue for us, simply an observation. The Garden was closer to the city and walkable to a local area, we never at any time felt threatened, quite the opposite. The only thing within walking distance of the Palmeraie was a filling station. Staff I was also very impressed by the supervison of staff at both hotels. Pablo the General Manager and his team at the Garden was constantly on the prowl ensuring everything was perfect, he always had time to stop and ask if all was OK. So for a quieter stay its the Garden for us in furure but not for any differing quality issues, just for the ambience and ‘family’ feel of the place. Dont be swayed by the price difference both hotels are first-rate. The best rooms are I think on the 2nd floor looking inward. There are of course lifts.

Room Tip: 2nd floor inward looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in dec for a week. Two adults and three children. My only gripe was the rooms were not what I would call connecting, we shared a balcony, with a nine yr old, and twins of 7 yrs, it meant we had to sleep in same room as children as didn't feel secure on their own!! I think thompson should make this fact clear at booking!!
Anyways, this hotel is beautiful, grounds are superb, staff from the reception to the restaurants, the cleaners, the gardeners are so polite and friendly. The staff are the making of this hotel.
All inclusive means food and drink always available, so much variety that we never struggled with the children, pasta, pizza, meats, traditional food, salads, breads, I defy anyone to go hungry!!
Free shuttle ride isn't very regular but taxi rank at hotel entrance is very handy.
Take Imodium with you!! I was poorly but it's so common to get dodgy tummy that I didn't let it ruin my holiday!
We did the history tour, Atlas Mountains and funtasia!! All great but Atlas Mountains was magnificent!!
Don't be afraid to get lost in the souks, it's part of tha adventure! We felt safe at all times and the children loved it!
A special mention to tbissam and salim who did the mini disco and my girls loved them!
Great family holiday!! Thanks to all at tikida gardens !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This resort was amazingly wonderful, I spent a week here in an all inclusive holiday and it was one of the best relaxing holidays I've ever been on! We had to get up early to get a decent sunbed but once we found the small secret rooftop with sunbeds on we took over that and we always had sunbeds and a decent amount of sun! While we were away it was my friend's birthday and the staff had taken this on board and had decorated the room with petals on the day of her birthday, a lovely thought! I didn't see much of the entertainment at the resort but with entertainment comes alcohol and the cocktails there were fabulous! We had excursions while we were out there and the hotel managed them and were all brilliant, including the Cascades of Ouzoud.
Very much enjoyed this holiday, would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.