We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #181 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a large modern hotel in a the "Palmeraie" district of Marrakech, a little way outside of the old city walls and to the North of the bustling Medina. In my guidebook the Palmeraie is described as being "the Beverly Hills of Marrakech" which may be rather overstating it(!) but it's a decent enough location. There is a free shuttle from the hotel to the city centre, but more about that in a moment.

The hotel has nearly 500 rooms so although it has a large plot, the hotel buildings take up much of the space. I mention this because from the name "Tikida Garden" I'd expected a bit more, i.e. a few acres of parkland, but perhaps that was wishful thinking for a city hotel. What it does have is 4 tennis courts, a volleyball/badminton court and an area for playing petanque.

In addition to the main restaurant there is a special (and much smaller) restaurant called "One Thousand and One Nights" serving Moroccan cuisine. Unusually for all-inclusive resorts, this other restaurant was included at no extra cost. (But due to its size one has to book at lest 2 days in advance). The all-inclusive wine is perfectly acceptable and is definitely not watered down.

We enjoyed our stay but I'll list a few negatives too:
1) Some areas are lack atmosphere; particularly the main bar which is like an airport departure lounge.
2) Smoking is permitted in the bar; may please some people but not me!
3) The shuttle into the city doesn't run often enough and doesn't go to the Medina. It just has 1 drop-off stop which is in the "new" city so if you want to visit the Medina, souks, etc, you still have a 25 minute walk to get there. My tip for visiting the Northern part of the Medina is to walk directly from the hotel and go through the Bab El-Khemis.

Overall, a good hotel with good service, just not very romantic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    613
    181
    43
    22
See reviews for
358
699
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Arriving late into the hotel we were welcomed by the very friendly reception staff and they got us settled into our room quickly and professionally. The gardens of this hotel are wonderful and the pool area is great for those lazy days, even though sometimes the entertainment staff can be a bit overwhelming but if you tell them no once they tend to skip past you for that day at least. It is far enough away from the city to remain quiet but close enough for a quick taxi ride into the city square to have a good cultural slap in the face. The bar at night can get a bit repetative after one week but is very enjoyable for the live music and the shows. Would recommend this hotel for couples and familys without doubt.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was handy for the balcony led straight onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set on the outskirts with nothing around it when you leave the complex but its only a short ride into the centre the food is lovely and it's set in beautiful gardens Staff very helpful and rooms kept very clean. I love Marrakech and the weather was amazing!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we arrived late at the Riu Tikida Garden hotel and even though it was gone 10.15pm we were welcomed with a drink and food if we wanted it. Our rooms were spotless and all staff helpful our bags in the rooms immediatly. The rep Sandy was marvellous, really helpful, and full of information from the trips we booked to where to look for specific things. Me and my brothers only stayed for 8 days and will definatly go back again.The experience of haggling in Jamaa El fna square was one we will talk about for a while!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Well since using a Riu hotel a couple of years back i now never hesitate to look if there is one available to stay in, this is my 5th time in morocco and 4th in Marrakech and now have stayed twice at this hotel. From London it is a touch under 3 hours and always a quick journey to this hotel from the airport.

Taxis will try it on at the airport but you will always barter the price down , just be patient and you will succeed in a cheaper fare to the hotel never pay more than around 200 dirhams day or night. The hotel is in an area of town which is not the hustle and buzz that the main square or the medina displays it is perhaps a poorer part of town where many live and work hard. Morocco is a country of many friendly people who work hard and on my visits so far have been very welcoming to me and i would not hesitate to go again.

The hotel has security at the front gate and you pass through some lovely gardens and palm trees before you arrive at the front of the hotel and is very peaceful indeed, Ramp to go down with luggage or ten steps and the cool reception area with a water feature. The front desk are very friendly and they are very quick to get you in checked in the formal paper work and you to your room, you get a welcome drink and straight away your red wristband now you are mr or mrs fully inclusive so much food and drink awaits you. (put an extra notch on your belt)

The bellhop-porters take you to you room and there are a few sides to the hotel and all have at least 2 lifts one at the end of the block and one in the middle and the buildings are 3 floors.

Hallways cosily lit and many fire hydrants and and exit information for those who like to know it is safe and secure.

Bedrooms are keycard access and control the lights and electrics in the room, rooms feature alarm clock , lcd Television , nice beds not too hard or soft pillows are quite firm and sheets soft as are the blankets. Flooring is tiled as is the bathroom and toilet which is separate and there is a bidet in the bathroom. You get just a few shower gel sachets and two small soap bars , you do get unlimited bottled water from reception and hairdryer is in room with shaver point. Couple of plug sockets in the room - Remember your adapter. There is A/C in the room it is a sneaky idea but i leave the room key card in the slot and when i come back it is nice and cool. You get two rooms cards if you ask.

Balcony with two chairs some over look the pool and some the outskirts of hotel a bit of barren land in places but full of palm trees and views of minarets which is scenic.

The main restaurant serves breakfast and Dinner Breakfast from 630am to 1030 am and dinner from after 630pm till 930pm The poolside restaurant serves lunch from 1230pm till 3pm and then from 3pm till 5pm snacks and all kinds of drinks

The food is plentiful meat , chicken so many salads and breads , soups and tangines , pasta dishes . pizza , chips, much moroccan dishes , cheeses , pastries and lots more and fresh fruit with many ice cream flavours with cakes and mousses and sauces for dessert , listen you will not go hungry okay.

There is a main bar with all your drinks available throughout the day next to the main reception and another bar in the poolside restaurant . You have also the pre booking restaurant there too on the other side of the pool.open at night only.

I went in june and november this year and never as yet had a problem getting a sun lounger especially november 2 sides of the pool area were empty. As i left on my last day they were relaying the area behind the pool where the sun is lovely and direct over you so it will be a great area to be when finished that is all grass. and behind thats is an indoor pool and gym and
spa.

What is on during the day ? Well you have a very hard working animation team there, they never hassle anyone they ask if you would like to take part in daily activities , they will sit and chat with you if you like and they will make you feel happy and take interest in you whether old or young. In the mornings especially in the summer time when busier they have water aerobics and stretching activities and it is very popular, also french boules they have 2 courts, there is two tennis courts a badminton court and a football pitch and volleyball court, there are also two table tennis tables. They have badminton activities and volleyball and football and also table tennis tournaments each on different days. Water polo a few times a week and it is great fun. Darts competition also. If you or the team you are in win you get a certificate during the evening shows. Also they have Tangine cooking lessons and mint tea making session , Arabic learning session and dance lessons all included my friends.

These are held downstairs in main building in a very comfortable lounge with lots of chairs a nice bar and pool table and fully air conditioned. They have a night of moroccan music , african night , karaoke night , best of show where the animation team put on their own show , hits parade evening and much more all starts at 9pm.. Samir , Salim and Hasna are 3 of the main 5 animation team people and they are all so friendly , Salim will make you laugh so much and they will make you very welcome if you take part in any event , they really are peoples people .

In the main bar a huge giant screen and very comfortable chairs and sofas.
There is a shop on site selling many items as papers sun cream cigarettes and also clothes and goods , on cigarettes the airport has two duty free shops opp each other and goods can be as much as 9 euros cheaper in the one on the left as you enter so when you get your perfume and cigarettes check out each ones prices.I would buy your perfume back in UK at the airport tends to be cheaper.

Long trousers in the evening in the restaurant is needed.
you get two cards for pool towels and the hut by the pool opens from 8 till 1 after to get your towels, they also have all the rackets and balls and everything you need if you want to play some games.

Music is not too loud by the pool and is not boom boom. Self service drinks available most of the day and always a snack available. The hotel has lots of lovely palm trees and cactus and is very scenic you would think you were at a tropical beach retreat.

Marrakech main square the souks are amazing you will need days to look around them all and remember to haggle haggle haggle try to pay 1/3 of what the asking price is at least. so so so so so much to buy everything you can imagine. There are more taxis around than flies and at night food stalls are plentiful there. Do not let the girls put henna on your hands they will expect some money or the guys with the little monkeys they will try to let it sit on you and also expect money just say no thanks and walk on. You do not get hassled really even when in the souks if you say no thank you and move

Would i recommend it there ? well of course so why are you still reading this have you not booked yet ? come on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Staff are all,friendly,helpful and polite.Food is very good, with a wide choice too.
Very clean hotel and has amazing gardens which are full of fruit trees,flowers, cacti,palm trees and there are birds every where.
The gardens were an unexpected bonus as you could take a pleasant stroll around them and find many places to sit.
We are not really sit around the pool types,but if you are there is a large pool and many sun beds available in November.
In the evening there is entertainment if you are prepared to take part.There are 3 bars BUT for non smokers,there is no where set aside.The dining hall and the bed rooms themselves are the only non smoking areas.
The hotel is located in a poor area and walking out side of the hotel is not for the faint hearted.
The free shuttle bus is small and fills up quickly.It drops you a good distance away from any where interesting.
Your only real choice is to take a taxi to where ever you want to go,for between 50 to 100Mad, depending on your haggling abilities.
Brush up on your french and you will find comminication easier in and out of the hotel.
We found 4 nights to be a long enough stay in Marrakech for a 1st time visit.

Room Tip: Top floor,as it is quieter.Also facing away from the pool if you prefer peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week in August. Whilst it was Ramadam while we stayed within the hotel you would not have guessed this. Food/alcohol was not limited during this time and there was plenty of choice for each.

The hotel is lovely and clean and has air con through out which in August you need. We knew it would be hot but some days the temp was over 50 degrees. Bottles of water are free if you ask at reception.

The reception area has free wi fi, infact the hotel advertises this but you can only seem to get the connection in reception.

Entertainment was ok. This would be a good hotel if you have kiddies as there is always something on. On a night they have different entertainment after 9pm, dancers, kareoke, disco etc... It was my husbands 40th while we were there and the maids decorated our bed with 40 trimings and later that day he received a personal invite to the Moroccan restaurant on site where we had champagne and a cake too. They really did make an effort for him which I thought was lovely.

Whilst this hotel is family friendly I did not think Marrakech itself is. If I had children I would not take them to this city. It is a real eye opener so be prepared if you have not been before.

We booked thorugh Thomson and did a trip every day we were there, Altas Mountains, Camel rides, Suks, Mosque, you really do need a guide as myself and my husband attempted a wander and we would not do this again if we went. Keep your hands in your pockets if you visit the Medina as they will try and grab you for henna tattoos,snake charmers etc... and they do not take no thank you for an answer. Always asking for money too so if you are going to tip or agree to purchase make sure you know what notes are what - don't pull out your wallets!!

The Moroccan restaurant at the hotel is absolutley lovely. You do need to pre book with the head waiter to dine here. We went twice both times were lovely.

Down side to this hotel - seems the pool does not open until 8am yet people are allowed to lay on their towels from 5 and 6am until 8am when you are allowed to then leave.??? We saw families with children asleep on sun loungers which I thought was un called for. If the pool opens at 8am open it at 8am either that or get more sun loungers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.