We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home and we didnt even stay there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Save Saved
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Our home and we didnt even stay there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I surprised my daughter with a trip to Marrakech. Being two blonde females, we played safe and stayed in an all americanised RIU..big mistake! The Riu was "OKAY", but La Maison Arabe was our home:)
We had pre arranged a hammam here, followed by lunch and a cookery school. What a wonderful place. I can only compare it to exotic boutique hotels we have stayed in in Kenya. This beautiful gem is simply a palace! Having had our hammam, which was the best bonding duaghter and I have had, we went to beautiful lunch, then cookery school. For us, we just had to keep going back. Despite being in an all inclusive hotel, we dined more in Maison Arabe. It was Maison Arabe who arranged a local guide for us, and also Maison Arabe who had our custom for the best part of our stay. Fanida if you meet her, she is a treasure!!! I LOVED this rhiad, its just one of those places you know you will return to. Thank you to the beautiful staff, exquisite surroundings, gastronomic food, oh...and Mohammed and Ida our chefs from the cookery school...just treasures. Love you guys, you are on our DEF RETURN list!!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    912
    62
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
182
515
33
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

top notch hotel in marrakech, really great stay, staff all well trained and attentive. would reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed in a suite in the old building. Very nice large room. The wifi (free) worked well here and throughout the building. The restaurant besides the pool had excellent food and a nice setting. The jazz bar is outstanding. People very friendly. Only downside is morning wakeup call at 4AM with the call to prayer. However, it does provide local atmosphere. I definitely recommend staying at the La Maison Arabe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The smallness of the room was well compensated for by a beautiful private rooftop terrace complete with plants and lanterns. We ate in both restaurants and had delicious food in both with really helpful and friendly service.Front desk staff were charming and very helpful. Added bonus is the delightful "country club"were we relaxed every afternoon. A free taxi service takes you about 15 minutes away to a delightful villa with huge pool which is exclusive to guests.Delicious lunches served under trees on the courtyard. We also had a very good massage in the atmospheric spa in the basement of the hotel.This hotel is highly recommended and when we return to Marrakech this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We have stayed at La Maison Arabe several times over the years and each time we return there have been new additions and surprises. Originally a private home it has been continually enlarged and expanded - since our last visit 7 years ago an addition with a large heated pool, restaurant with terrace over looking the pool, new very well appointed rooms have appeared. Always well staffed with friendly and well trained people, they have added even more. The Spa is world class according to my wife who has visited them all over the world.
The hotel is hidden from the busy streets and yet is only a minute walk to the covered souk/market.
One outstanding offering is their fabulous garden compound reached by their own car service about 15 minutes away in the palm gardens on the outskirts of the town. This facility includes a beautifully maintained garden growing vegetables for their restaurants, plants palms and fig trees, a huge outdoor pool with open cabanas. There is a fig tree shaded garden restaurant, and a tent-like pavilion for evening parties {we had our wedding reception there years ago}. The main building has a large reception area, and on the second floor their own cooking school. A wonderful way to relax after visits to the inner city of Marrakech.
All meals were excellent at the main hotel and the gardens.
This trip we returned with our 3 children and two nannies. The children were adopted by the staff and enjoyed their stay. We also spent a day at the Garden Pavilion where they were fee to chase the kittens and roan inside the walled gardens.
It really doesn't get any better than this in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

This hotel was just beautiful, beautifully decorated, I was overwelmed with the sights [sounds & smells]. We had the best meal on our trip (we were in Rome & Madrid, so we ate very well!) here too. The Lamb "tagine" was soooooo good, .... I don't know how to make it at home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in this lovely place that is based around a traditional riad but carefully and tastefully modernised so offers a number of addtional hotel services without loosing its authentic Morrocan feel. Everything was excellent and it was probably the best hotel we have stayed at anywhere. We stayed in a suite in the old part of the building which was spacious, extremely comfortable and interestingly laid out around its own mini courtyard. The jazz / piano bar adds an extra dimension where we happily spent one evening being entertained by the pianist and the lively bar staff. The Morrocan Restaurant is superb - the food, the service and the decor and is worth a visit even if you don't stay at the hotel. The same is true of the cookery school which we did in the lovely setting of the hotel's country club where we learnt to cook a delicious chicken, olive and lemon tangine which we then ate in the delightful Berber tent in the grounds. The class is suitable for any level of cook from beginner to the more experienced as the cooks and translator are very friendly and offer as much help as you want. Service throughout our stay was outstanding. We will definitely return when we can.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;