We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful, Charming, Luxurious Hotel - a veritable Oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Save Saved
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Wonderful, Charming, Luxurious Hotel - a veritable Oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

From the moment we walked through the entry door we were welcomed and treated like royalty. The first impression of the hotel is one of elegant sophistication, incorporating the best elements of Moroccan. The place is stunning! As the hotel is located right in the heart of the old medina, it seems to consist of a series of interconnected buildings which really add a warmth and cosy feeling as there is no expansive lobby to contend with - instead, around every corner there is wonderful with art, impressive antiques, armchairs, etc.

The bar is a delight! Very welcoming, with an extensive cocktail list. The restaurant is even more impressive with food that is beautifully presented, and succeeds in creating a delectable fusion of Moroccan and European tastes.

I could also not believe that there could be a such a huge swimming pool right in the heart of the medina. I understand that this has just been added after the hotel was able to acquire an adjoining property, but one would never know as the addition was seamless and integrates beautifully with the rest of the hotel.

Our room was magnificent - spacious, tasteful, quiet and had its own balcony. I would hightly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    60
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
173
504
32
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This was such a luxurious hotel. Me and my husband had the time of our lives while staying here. It is such a beautiful and relaxing hotel. The best place to be when going on vacation. The setting was so wonderful with beautiful Moroccan antiques and rugs. Everything that you could possibly need while on vacation is here. Me and my husband had such a fabulous time we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is my second tripin Marrakesh and my second stay in La Maison Arabe, I was so surprised by new extension, new rooms, more restaurant and the best of is the swimming pool. The hotel location is very convenient.Close to the down twon .Very good restaurants close by and a convenient shop across the street.The price I paid for 11 nights was excellent for what we got.Will go there again

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Entering in the Maison Arab is as if you are entering in a small paradise in Marrakesh. Beautiful service always ready to help. The hotel is beautifully decorated with antiques. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant. Although we ate in three other considered to be the best in the city, the best restaurant was inside our own hotel!! I couldn't believe it. Eat for sure the soup with orange and shoulder of lamb (this was the best plate I tried in all Morocco).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We arrived in Marrakesh after a very long and tiring drive through the Atlas Mountain...
We were greeted by a very welcoming staff at the reception and were immediately taken to our room - it was a lovely room!!!
The bed was very comfortable and big, the bathroom had both a shower and bathtub, and of course had all the ammenities (slippers, bathrobe, shampoo, soap, etc). We also had a small living room space and had 2 flat tvs in the room. the room also had a very nice private terrace, with view on the hotel's swimming pool. Every afternoon, after walking around Marrakesh all day, the room service always brought us mint tea and local sweets, to our terrace! it was the perfect way to finish our exhausting days!
the staff at the reception helped us with all our restaurant bookings, and was always very helpful and polite.
be sure not to miss 2 things:
- the amazing food in the hotel's restaurant. seriously dont miss out on trying: the orange soup, the lamb shoulder and the beef and tomato tajine. before marrakesh, we spent 4 days travelling around morocco, and we had our best meal in this hotel!!
- also, the hotel has a second location outside the city. on our last day, we got tired of shopping and walking around marrakesh, so we went for a swim and lunch there. it is also the place where they have their cooking classes, and their own vegetable garden.
i would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester - UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I booked this hotel through recommendations in a couple of guidebooks and didn't even think to check tripadvisor beforehand.

We arrived at 10am, and were expecting to have to leave our bags until we could check in later. However, the hotel was not very full, and we were allowed to occupy our room immediately.

The room was absolutely one of the nicest I have ever stayed in, and we were also given complimentary water, wine and Morrocan treats - such as dates, dried apricots and walnuts. The decor was beautiful and the room felt completely new.

We ended up spending the late afternoon relaxing on the terrace by the pool after tiring of haggling in the souks - what a welcome retreat! In the evening, we ended up dining in the Moroccan restaurant and tried the chicken and almond pastilla, which was very different and completely mouth watering (I feel hungry even writing about it!!), followed by tagine and chicken couscous, all washed down with some Cuvee du President red wine - gorgeous. Oh, by the way, the chef gave me the recipes for the pastilla and tagine!

We had an evening flight the next day, and were once again expecting to have our luggage locked away as per usual, but the reception staff allowed us a very late checkout at 4pm.

We cannot find a single fault with this hotel - location is fantastic, service is wonderful, rooms are beautiful... bear in mind that I have seen plenty of ropey hotels through business and leisure travel and can usually find at least a couple of issues when I stay somewhere!

We have decided we would go back for a bit of a weekend retreat at some point, and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Please remember the Arabic word for thank you = shukran!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We arrived at La Maison Arabe at 1 AM due to a flight delay. When getting into our room, we noticed it had some problems. On the following day, the manager promptly upgraded us to a brand new suite (room 240) without our asking, and provided the packing and moving too!! It was just perfect!!! Bright, airy and tastefully decorated, with all the furniture covered in soft leather. From our terrace we had a view of the pool!! On the desk we had Moroccan wine (great!!), nuts, dried fruit and a large bottle of mineral water.
The staff was incredibly polite, cheerful and helpful.
The riad is lovely, beautifully decorated with antique Moroccan crafts, full of character. Every little corner had a sitting area with lovely sofas and always a small fountain. The pool area is large and housekeeping was constantly cleaning and maintaining it.
The localization is just perfect, as you could easily walk to the Koutoubia and the Djemaa el Fna Square, with the colorful bazaars and souks.
We were so pleased we chose this boutique hotel to stay at in Marrakech. If we had stayed at a one of the large chain hotels, we would have had to depend on taxis.
We surely will recommend this place to all our friends who intend travelling to Marrakech!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;