We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Lovely Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Save Saved
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #9 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“What a Lovely Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We arrived at La Maison Arabe at 1 AM due to a flight delay. When getting into our room, we noticed it had some problems. On the following day, the manager promptly upgraded us to a brand new suite (room 240) without our asking, and provided the packing and moving too!! It was just perfect!!! Bright, airy and tastefully decorated, with all the furniture covered in soft leather. From our terrace we had a view of the pool!! On the desk we had Moroccan wine (great!!), nuts, dried fruit and a large bottle of mineral water.
The staff was incredibly polite, cheerful and helpful.
The riad is lovely, beautifully decorated with antique Moroccan crafts, full of character. Every little corner had a sitting area with lovely sofas and always a small fountain. The pool area is large and housekeeping was constantly cleaning and maintaining it.
The localization is just perfect, as you could easily walk to the Koutoubia and the Djemaa el Fna Square, with the colorful bazaars and souks.
We were so pleased we chose this boutique hotel to stay at in Marrakech. If we had stayed at a one of the large chain hotels, we would have had to depend on taxis.
We surely will recommend this place to all our friends who intend travelling to Marrakech!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    885
    60
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
172
502
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Our trip to Marrakesh was absolutely wonderful! Our experience at La Maison Arabe was first class all the way. LMA is located inside the Medina walls about three city blocks from the Souk. Upon arriving, I was a little surprised at the lack of a fancy entrance off the street. The entrance was midway between two streets down a cobblestone alley too small for a car. Our tour guide (from Olive Branch Tours whom we grew very fond of) was quick to point out, that this is part of the magic of Marrakech, you never know what lies behind the walls. The second we walked into LMA, we knew we had found a hidden treasure. The people were warm and sophisticated. The furnishings of the hotel are beautiful including berber and persian rugs throughout, antiques, interesting ceramics and pottery, old baskets and original fine art. LMA is decorated with exquisite taste to the Moroccan style and culture. There were also several darling outside courtyards complete with trickling fountains, flowering vines, chirping birds and butterflies. LMA has a wonderful heated pool that is large enought to swim laps. Spa services are available and I hear the massuese there is great. Free Internet and Wifi access that worked well.

I have to mention the staff at LMA. There are at least 50 employees working at all times. This is a very good guest to staff ratio unlike some of the newer Riads in Marrakech. Check this out as I heard some scary stories from some other travelers about their Riads. Some of the Riads have 3 - 5 employees that all leave after breakfast is over. At LMA, everything you needed was at your fingertips within minutes presented with a genuine smile. The front desk staff was helpful, knowledgable, courteous and available for recommendations, directions or just a friendly hello.

LMA has two restaurants and a lounge. One restaurant offered only Morrocan for fine dining and the other offered French, Thai and Moroccan. People came from hotels all around Marrakech to dine here as the food, wine list and service were so good. In the evenings, each dining room had live musicians that just capped off the atmosphere. The Tangine Lamb L'Orange was delicious. The souflees melted in your mouth. Prices were reasonable.

Regarding our room; we had a small suite that was perfect for our family of three. The main area of the room had the master bed (mattresses were fine), spacious bath, two large closets, and a TV. The sitting room was complete with a couch, fireplace, writing desk and a single bed perfect for a third person, child or adult. Everyone had privacy and we were very comfortable and made ourselves right at home.

I went to the cooking school which was located at the LMA Country Club about 20 minutes away from the main hotel. The instructor spoke French, English and Arabic so there were no communication problems. We made Chicken Tagine and then sat down together and enjoyed lunch by the pool. The Country Club was very nice and could accomodate large groups. There was a great vegatable and flower garden, ponds with frogs, turtles and fish, palm trees, a restaurant and a large pool with showers. One of the other students described LMA as "palacial" and was very tempted to move there from her western hotel in new part of Marrakesh. The pictures of LMA on the website do not do it justice, the hotel is much nicer.

Our stay at La Maison Arabe was fabulous; a perfect 5 on the Tripadvisor scale. My husband and I cannot fathom why it is listed as #51 and not in the top 10 if not #1. I highly recommend LMA to anyone desiring a taste of the true Moroccan culture and the comforts of a 5 star hotel. One last recommendation would be to hire a guide, it was well worth it. Have fun in Marrakesh, we sure did!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We did not actually stay at La Maison Arabe. We were staying nearby and booked a cooking class through La Maison Arabe. The class was great, held offsite at a great resort location. We met someone who was staying at LMA at the cooking class and she recommended the spa there. We arrived at the hotel a half hour before our spa appointment time and had not had lunch. Starving, we asked if there was somewhere in the hotel to get a snack. We were whisked off to the restaurant, a beautiful table was laid and we were brought a delicious club sandwich we ordered off the room service menu as they were between lunch and dinner service. All in time to make our appointment. The spa is an amazing experience also, so relaxing and restorative after a dusty day of shopping. We stayed to meet our new friend in the bar and ended up staying for a light dinner in the bar. Service at LMA was perfect throughout and we wished we had stayed there!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Our party were staying in the Riad Les Yeux Bleus in the adjoining street. We came across the hotel by accident and ended up eating there 6 times during a one week stay. The hotel is wonderfully decorated and the staff are imaculately turned out, very friendly and helpful.

The Moroccan restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice on the set three course menu. We also ate in the International which was having some staff problems. The Director of the hotel was very apologetic and gave us free water, wine and cognacs. More than enough compensation but on seeing us again the next evening gave us a round of drinks in the bar. This was not necessary but left a warm feeling with us all. We would definitely stay at this hotel should we return to Marrakech.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
669 reviews 669 reviews
261 hotel reviews
Reviews in 227 cities Reviews in 227 cities
1,124 helpful votes 1,124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Nice, very relaxing place with style and luxury.

Location is within the medina, but rather on the outside.

Good restaurants (1x international, 1x local)

Nice room/bathroom, TV only English and French.

Service a bit too slow and unflexible.

At that price you can expect better service!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Windsor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

This is a wonderful, peaceful hotel tucked away from the hustle of Marrakech. Centrally located, you can head out to Djemaa or the souks easily or simply choose to relax and unwind in the hotel.

The 'Country Club' which contains pool, gardens and restaurant is a real treat - much nicer than the website pics suggest. It is a 20 min shuttle away (probably the only slight negative to this hotel), but it is well worth an afternoon there.

We warmly recommend La Maison Arabe.

  • Liked — central patios where you'll spend a lot of time
  • Disliked — bus ride to pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcgoldie
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

I went to Marrakech with a girlfriend, and we originally planned to stay in Riad we had booked online.
We arrived on a Monday night to our Riad quite late, and it was horrible. We droppe dour bags and walked around the Medina, stopping in at La Maison Arabe for dinner. On our way in, we asked if there were any rooms available, and the concierge said they had a room for 200 Euros. We are students, and I immediatley said 200 Euros was too much, at which point he countered with 100 Euros a night. He explained that the room was normally 400 Euros, but that it was low season and they were trying to fill the hotel.
They showed us the Aladdin room, which we were thrilled about. We put a deposit down of 100 Euros to hold the room, and we returned the next morning.
The hotel had free internet on a communal computer, which was perfectly doable.
The room we got, the Aladdin room, was great. It was big- it had two twin beds pushed together that formed one bed, it had a sitting area with two chairs and a table that had a bottle of red Moroccan wine and a basket of snacks (dried fruit and nuts). It also had a small balcony with an umbrella and two sofa chairs. The bathroom was big, with two sinks and a bath/shower and toilet/bidet.
The room was quite clean- We certainly had no complaints after where we had booked the night before. There was satellite TV which was OK- kinda wierd channels from different countries.
Included in the room rate was breakfast and afternoon tea- both of which were DELICIOUS. Breakfast was some croissants and pastries with homemade jam, fresh OJ, house made yogurt, mint tea or coffee, and Moroccan pancake type things.
Afternoon tea was mint tea with a plate of little cookies- a perfect afternoon pick me up.
We ate dinner in the hotel one night- it was very expensive, but quite delicious. And really nice to not have to leave the hotel. We did not do the cooking class- it seemed like a lot of money.
We ate really well at other restaurants for a lot less though.
WE did do the Hammam in the hotel, which was not very good. It seemed expensive for a lot of lying down and just being rubbed- which we could have done ourselves. Upon check out we mentioned our disappointment and the staff was super nice and took the tip off the bill.
We did try and do some things- like camel rides- through our hotel, but we felt that in many instances teh staff had deals going with certain tour guides that would make it cost more etc., so we ended up doing most things on our own. However they did try their best to help us.
The room was tidied twice a day, and the staff was incredibly helpful, especially in the evenings, always trying to accomodate our requests.
I woudl definitely go back to this hotel, especially for its location. It is a 5 minute walk from the Djemma El Fnaa and the souks. We walked ALL over, and found this to be a great location. It is far from the Nouvelle Ville, but to be honest we felt there was not a whole lot going on there (beyond Ex-pats psuedo partying) that we wanted to be involved in. WE much preferred the authenticity of the Medina and we felt it was a great respite to be able to walk out of the bustle straight to our hotel. There was some construction going on next to the hotel, but it was not disruptive.
Also be sure to do a caleche ride around the Medina at night when it has cooled down. Super nice.

  • Liked — Breakfast, Location, Wine and Snacks in room, Balcony
  • Disliked — Hammam
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.