We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect in every way"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“"Perfect in every way"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A delightful stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional. The comfort, peace and tranquillity are just right after a day out in the city.
The restaurants are excellent and good value as is the spa.
I would not hesitate to recommend and return myself.
There are many stairs/steps but there is a lift to some rooms/suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    64
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
192
571
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our family (two adults, 14 year old, 11 year old) just returned from a nine day visit to Morocco. We used La Maison Arabe as our home base by staying there for three nights, then traveling around the country and then coming back to stay at La Maison Arabe at the end our trip. It was by far our favorite hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door and provided with a tour of the property. Totally treated like royalty. The rooms were spacious and gorgeous all with outside space too. The hotel is a beautiful property in an excellent location. We visited the sights of Marrakech in the mornings and then relaxed by the pool in the afternoons. The hotel is meticulously maintained, however if you want to get away from the urban setting there is easy access provided by shuttle get to the Country Club. The staff is completely knowledgeable about the Riad’s history and makes recommendations for seeing the area. We received top notch personalized service from both Hicham and Adil Chaif at the front desk and really felt like everyone was pleasant, caring and attentive. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say, this was probably the best service we've experienced anywhere in the world. Hicham showed us around the impressive facility with impeccable English. At the registration desk, Adil and Raja went out of their way to help us with boarding passes, arrangements at the spa and helping us stay an hour past check out until we had to reluctantly leave to go to the airport. The rest of the staff was just as helpful.

Rooms were great-- good a/c, internet access, comfortable beds. We had rooms in the older part of the riad (213 & 214) which overlooked the garden- beautiful, esp if you like waking up to the sounds of birds .

Setting for breakfast was poolside and memorable. We also ate one night in the jazz club, which was less expensive but entertaining. If you can, try to set aside a few hours to take their free shuttle to their "country club", a property they own about 15 min away. Only the riad guests can go there, which means great access to a pool, cabana, drinks and food-- only the food and drinks are extra.

This riad is located close enough to walk to Jamaa el fna, but you're probably better off taking a taxi or horse and buggy ride (a blast). There is an ATM within one block and the riad staff was very helpful in giving us change for the markets, tipping, etc.

Saw several honeymooners here and I'm sure they will remember this stay for a lifetime.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at La Maison for two nights at the beginning of a week long trip to Morocco. As soon as we arrived we were offered breakfast by the pool which we hadn't expected and then given a tour of the hotel by the manager. It is a beautiful place so calm and tranquil after the bustle of Marrakech which unbelievably is just outside the front door! Our rooms were great and looked out over the pool area. At night it looks magical with lanterns and candles lighting the pool and eating areas. We went to the country club each day which is a ten minute shuttle in the hotel people carrier. The gardens here are amazing, we had lunch there which was very good. The staff at both the hotel and the country club were incredibly kind and friendly. We travelled with our two teenage daughters and would recommend La Maison as a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here on the final night of our 3 week honeymoon in morocco.
This was definitely a highlight of our trip and an incredibly luxurious riad in the middle of the medina.
Located just a few minute walk away from the main square of jamaa el fna, this place is everything you have read about and more.

Because we were travelling on our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a suite which was large, impeccably decorated and extremely comfortable with a great view of the pool and poolside area.
The staff, from start to finish, were so nice and generous. They always offered us some treat, or just a nice smile and asking us about our day and if they could do anything for us.

We ate dinner there, which was our last night before we flew home, so we hoped for something special. Boy did we get it.
The setting of the dinner was poolside, with lamps illuminating the area just enough to make it incredibly romantic with musicians setting the mood.
The food was spectacular. Traditional dishes served with modern flair. The flavours were out of this world as well. What a great way to end our journey.
Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

One of the highlights of our stay in Morocco was our stay in Maison Arabe.
From the reception during our check-in to our check-out we had been treated with the most amazing staff a hotel could have. Rooms were spotlessly clean,every time we stepped out..as if there was a magic wand somewhere and the moment we stepped out of the room and returned our rooms were spotless again. The breakfast was great and so was the afternoon tea and cookies added with the room tariff. Free wi-fi in every room and a complimentary bottle of red wine and water was a great added gesture. The boys in the reception were really great and helpful. And the best bit at the end of the stay, was we had our embarkation cards filled in already by the hotel staff (no one has ever done that!) sooo.. very thoughtful. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakech. Just loved the stay.

Room Tip: The most unique part of this hotel is..each room is different and the care you get from the hotel st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Like many other reviewers here, I rarely take the time to review a hotel online, but my husband and I had such a wonderful relaxing and enjoyable break at La Maison Arabe in April that I felt I must share my experience - and finally have found the time! The hotel really does deserve its fantastic reviews. From the moment you step through its front doors from the harsh heat and the bustle of manic Marrakech, you enter a true oasis of cool, calm relaxation and beautiful surroundings. The hotel is a small traditional 'Riad' (built around a courtyard; two small courtyards in this case), charmingly furnished and beautifully lit with hundreds of twinkling Moroccan lanterns and mirrors.

We had dinner on our first night at an al fresco table on the balcony of the inner poolside courtyard - so romantic in the flickering candlelight. We both chose traditional Moroccan dishes, though international options are available as well, and the food was absolutely delicious and perfectly cooked and served. Indeed, the food and setting were both so perfect that - after dining out at various recommended restaurants for the next few nights - we returned to the hotel restaurant on our last night and had another wonderful meal. Breakfasts are also served in the poolside courtyard where traditional Moroccan crepes are cooked to order as well as eggs/omelettes, alongside a small but high quality buffet of fruits, breads, yoghurts, cereals and cold meats etc.

The service is top class. All the staff were so friendly, charming, helpful and efficient, in the restaurants and at reception where we got great advice on where to go and how to get there etc. - even on how to haggle more effectively in the souks!

Make sure to stay long enough for at least a day at the hotel's Country Club, just 15 minutes away by hourly, courtesy mini-bus. Here, within a charming walled garden, there is a large swimming pool surrounded by comfortable sunloungers, parasols and gazebos. (The pool at the hotel itself is small and, while you are permitted to swim in it, not many people did while we were staying there. There is also a small sun deck up a flight of stairs from this pool).

Our room was a 'prestige' room called 'Dalila' which had a beautiful balcony overlooking the tiny second courtyard. It had a very comfortable bed, spacious practical wardrobes with safe, and was traditionally and elegantly furnished. Obviously this is a traditional building so the rooms are not enormous - this one was long and narrow, but totally charming. The shower was an over-the-bath type but had good water pressure. The air conditioning was effective but rather noisy, but the room is a quiet one overall and we were not wakened by the early morning calls to prayer from the town centre (friends had forewarned us to pack earplugs just in case!)

The hotel spa was also beautiful and so peaceful, and I had a wonderful full body massage there.

We came home thoroughly refreshed and reinvigorated after our 4 nights at Maison Arabe - we wished we had stayed for a couple more days! THANK YOU to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so memorable. We will definitely be back for another visit, next time with our teenage children too...

Room Tip: The hotel does have several flights of stairs to negotiate as it is formed from more than one old bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.