We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be able to find a better hotel in Marrakech.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You will not be able to find a better hotel in Marrakech.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked this hotel for a short break in June and and managed to get a two rooms. When we arrived we found that one room was in the old part of the hotel and one in the new part. From the start, picking us up from Marrakech airport to the drop off at the end they were faultless in their service level. For example we arrived late in the evening on the first night and they showed us to a sheltered court yard and provided us with a refreshing drink then showed us round the hotel. They were just so polite and kind. The breakfast is great and has fruit and cooked and prepared arabic crepes which were lovely. We decided to take a walk out and as this hotel is in the Medina area of Marrakech its really only a short walk to the souks. When we mentioned this to the reception they gave us one of the hotel mobile phones and said if we get lost just to call them up. We never used it. They showed us on the map where to go and really set us up for a nice walk out. We dined in the hotel Moroccan restaurant on one evening and it was very very good. I really have to say that the level of service and comfort offered by this hotel are among the very best you will find. The staff are sincere and really care. Incidentally please don't forget to go to their country club pool, the transfer is hourly from the hotel and the pool is an oasis in the chaos of Marrakech. I was sad to leave as they were all so nice and would certainly come back here in the future. Just for info, the hotel is just off the main street down a very small alley and when you pull up in your transport you can't actually see it but don't worry its there!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the new building as I think they are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    64
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
189
561
35
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here at the end of a two week journey, for 3 days. This is possibly the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we are widely traveled. The pool is a stellar attraction on a hot day, and the service is impeccable. The dining room is excellent as well, and the whole place is just so PRETTY. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful, and individually decorated. We did not see a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It is hard to think of a hotel where we have stayed, in all our travels, where everything was always 'right', but La Maison Arabe does everything well. We just finished a 3 night stay there, with our family of 5, and we found the experience fantastic in every way. The staff is kind, attentive, caring and ahead of the game. The rooms were luxurious and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and were made more enjoyable by the pool side ambiance. The spa provided a welcome break and the cooking school was superlative. We attended the cooking school with our 2 high school age sons and friend and all of us enjoyed every aspect. The front desk provided good advice daily on all things, ranging from guides, to sights to see, to transportation, etc. And we loved the sights and sounds of Marrakech. We loved every minute and were sad to leave. La Maison Arabe is a beautiful marriage of 1st world accommodations with an emerging 3rd world (really 2nd if you can say that) culture- a place with varied rooms, cozy spaces and amazing architecture- every need met, yet you feel as if you are in a boutique hotel all to yourself. Thanks for the memories. We hope to return! Kudos to all of your staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I decided to visit somewhere different and identified Marrakech as fitting the bill. The city and all it offers was great and everything you would expect, to go with this break we wanted a really relaxed luxurious hotel/riad and we found the perfect place. La Maison Arabe is even better than we hoped.
Starting with the staff - all friendly and very helpful, nothing is ever to much trouble. Two very good restaurants hard to pick between them but the Moroccan restaurant just had a little more style. In both restaurants the had gentle live music very in keeping with venue, playing instruments such as a Sitar.
The piano bar was great and had a jazz theme going on with a very friendly head barman.
All the decor everywhere was top quality and very Moroccan.
They have an onsite Hamman, I just went for a full massage - this is a must, don't miss it.
Finally, the 'Country Club', just a short ride circa 15 minutes takes you to this oasis - fantastic. We visited twice had lunch on both occasions and since its exclusively for the Riad guests it was never busy.
We had the Aladdin suite (Room 216) this was a great room with the outdoor veranda overlooking the pool area.
You may think I've been a little over the top on this review but trust me it deserves it.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra to get a junior suite or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Riad in the Medina is very friendly and beautiful. Upon our arrival, my party was greeted with delicious welcome drinks made by the bartender with cucumbers and mint. The rooms are gorgeous, my bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning very strong (it was over 100degrees F our first day).

We tried the restaurant that night because we were too tired to go out. It was delicious and had live music. There is also a jazz bar and a swimming pool by the breakfast area. Breakfast is a delicious spread of continental style plus local fruits, dates, figs and prunes. They make a Moroccan crepe which is square and crunchy. We enjoyed it all.

Look at the decor for an idea of what the well made, high end stuff you see in the Souks should be if you want the good stuff. Especially the silver plated lamps and bottle holders and Berber rugs. It's all exquisite at Maison Arabe.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in negotiating taxis, we also loved the spa (Hammam). They use the black soap but don't scrub too hard. And the massage felt so good on my tired legs after 8 miles of walking the day before through the Medina with our guide, Yder, who was excellent. He was through Around Morocco Tours which handled our whole trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed for three nights at this beautiful Riad in the centre of Marrakech. This was the most wonderful way to conclude our two week trip to Morocco and after staying in some wonderful places this was or favourite. The property is a great mix of an authentic Riad and a new section with a careful mix of Berber decor and modern conveniences. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. We dined around the pool in the international restaurant each night but enjoyed classic dishes from the Moroccan menu. They also have a second property with a great pool where we spent an afternoon relaxing and taking lunch. We did not participate in the cooking classes but they are offered every day and feedback was very positive. This Riad delivered everything we expect from a first class property and is ideally located in walking distance from the Souk and main square in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older section are truly authentic although they are upstairs so you need to be mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was at la Maison Arabe for their half day cooking classes. The place is absolutely beautiful and all the staff was very kind with us. The cooking classes are very interesting and - of course - focused on typical Moroccan dishes. They also took us to see how they make the bread and to taste the famous Moroccan mint tea. Not cheap but worth it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.