We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Save Saved
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Don't be put off by the approach from the road! This is a truly gorgeous character hotel in a great central location in the Medina, which gave us the flavour of Marrakech we wanted, combined with making life easy for us as first time visitors so that we explored and did all we wanted to do without feeling that we had been ripped off. From our welcoming and very personal check-in while sat on sofas, enjoying the peace and beauty of one of the many candlelit courtyards with free welcome drinks after the busy and hot wait to go through Passport Control at the airport, the staff generally were excellent and very kind. The excellent staff at reception got to know us personally very quickly and were particularly helpful - they responded to every request with immediate attention, and helped us to see what we wanted, organising a lovely driver to take us on a personally devised tour out of Marrakech, and for a horse drawn caliche (requested with well treated and fed horses only) at only a little more than the going rate which after all is a few pounds extra at most, so took the hassle out of trying to find decent people and negotiate and all done at short notice, which meant we had experienced and nice people to show us the sights. Equally, when we wanted to explore on our own, they gave us every help to do so easily. The hotel itself is an oasis of peace and the architecture is beautiful so it is incredibly relaxing, especially at night with candles lit everywhere. Our 10 year old daughter is Type 1 diabetic so travelling means extra pressure in relation to having the right type of food when we need it if she has an unexpected hypo (low blood sugar),and everyone could not have been kinder or more helpful, bringing us hot milk and biscuits quickly at any time of the day or night. Having the Spa on hand there was great for treatments when the weather let us down, and the Country Club was a nice extra although sadly the weather was more cloudy than sunny during our time there. Our suite - The Chem - was superb, and we had a lovely roof terrace with hot tub and views of the Atlas Mountains and the Katoubia, but they kindly lit a fire in the fireplace of our sitting room in the evening when it was chilly so it was also cosy. All in all, we made the best use of our room and the hotel facilities from anywhere we have stayed, and although we are lucky enough to have stayed at some lovely luxury hotels, this was one where they did not seem to be trying to get every last cent out of you. The staff gave my husband a lovely Birthday serenade, cake and drinks without being told it was his Birthday, made my daughter a chicken sandwich for the airport when I asked what was there and mentioned I was worried about the timing of our flight in relation to her meals, and would not take any payment, and translated a letter into French for me to give security at the airport explaining about her radio controlled insulin pump which cannot go through the X-ray scanner. The hotel atmosphere seemed genuinely personal and all about the well-being of the guest, with all but a very few of the staff wanting to give the best service to its guests, and make their trip the best it can be. We would genuinely say this is a great place with lovely food that lives up to all of its good reviews and more, and we are so happy we chose it. It is truly lovely.

Room Tip: The Chem Suite (Royal Suite) was lovely and worth the extra money, and works well if you have a chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    886
    60
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
172
503
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

From start to finish our 2 night stay was perfect. We had an airport pick up which I would recommend, then we were welcomed by all the staff and whisked off for a delicious welcome cocktail - Virgin mojito I think - prepared by Rachid the talented head barman.

Our pool view suite - Nars - was spacious and beautifully appointed. Wifi was brilliant.

Breakfast round the pool was so pleasant. The fresh juices are delicious and really recommend the Moroccan "pancake". Enjoyed drinks in the jazz bar before dinner in the Moroccan restaurant which was a real highlight.

We were lucky enough to enjoy some lovely weather and spent a very pleasant afternoon on the sun terrace dipping in and out of the heated pool.

Nothing was too much trouble during our stay and I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A delightful and architecturally interesting riad in a good location in the Marrakech medina. Very comfortable, varied menus with good food, and very helpful and friendly staff. Log fires in public rooms on cool evenings were very cheerful.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony with an attractive view over the swimming-pool and outdoor dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Esteemed Client,
Thank you for your review of La Maison Arabe.
Several reviews were recently posted to our listing on Tripadvisor by new members (only 1 posting). Some were considered suspicious by Tripadvisor, and the result is that our ranking has been downgraded from 5 to 14. In order to assure ourselves that your review was indeed posted by a client who stayed at La Maison Arabe, would you please be so kind as to contact me as soon as possible via email at: gm@lamaisonarabe.com, and let me know when you stayed at our property and under what name the reservation was made? I sincerely thank you in advance for your important help in this matter.
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
PS: I would also appreciate you letting me know how we might improve, in order to merit a 5/5 rating. We are striving for excellence and so would highly value any specific feedback you could give me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had an amazing stay in La Maison Arabe. Excellent location, just at the gate of Medina and walking distance to major sights and restaurants, so after soaking up the city, we can quickly walk back to the hotel/riad and freshen up. For me, the hotel gives even more Moroccan feeling than outside on the streets. The interior is authentically and beautifully decorated, doors and drawers in real leather, rooms are very cozy, and overall the hotel exudes elegance. Most importantly, the staff and service are tip top! They anticipate your every needs, from making up rooms EVERYTIME you go out, to organizing excursions or even just taxi services. The in-house cooking workshop was also nice, especially the chef/dada. I highly recommend staying in this hotel and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at La Maison Arabe was faultless, the hotel arranged for a driver to meet us at the airport, which is only 20 mins away. It was our first time to Morocco, The hotel is beautiful, it was our anniversary and the manager kindly upgraded the room, the room was spacious with a very nice bathroom & small outside area to sit. We booked the cookery class, I feel this is a must do, it was so much fun & we learnt so much about Moroccan cuisine. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance for Koutoubia Mosque & Jemaa el Fna, we also visited the stunning Majorelle Gardens. We found the hotel very relaxing The Jazz Bar is great of an evening, asked Rashid to make one of his lemon specials. We went to the Moroccan restaurant in the hotel serving very authentic cuisine, which was superb. Breakfast was taken by the delightful pool area, again the food was great, you must try the Moroccan pancakes with home made jams. My wife had a massage at the spa which was most welcome after walking round the Souks. We would like to thank the staff for there hospitality & we will be making a return visit in the near future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at La Maison Arabe for a short break from 12 Feb 2014 to 15 Feb 2014. We had booked a deluxe suite with a patio and were kindly upgraded to the Royal Suite (227) by the manager upon our arrival. The room was spledid with a private terrace and whirlpool tub which allowed us to relax in solitude and enjoy the sun for a few hours each afternoon after walking through the medina. The location was perfect - not too far from everything but quiet and tranquil within the walls and courtyard of the property. The food at the two restaurants was of very good standard and the staff were always attentive and accommodating. The restaurant recommendations were very good as well. Thank you La Maison Arabe for a wonderful holiday. We hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Absolutely everything we encountered at Arabe was first-rate. Absolutely gorgeous, very relaxing; the service in every aspect was superb from front of desk to restaurant. And speaking of restaurants, the food was fantastic. Best yogurt ever for breakfast, delicious tea service in the afternoon (welcome after a day of walking the souks), and the international restaurant was outstanding. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: We loved the garden/pool view, but the Mosque next door does broadcast its call to prayer at 5:30 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Esteemed Client,
Thank you for your review and very kind words regarding La Maison Arabe.
Several reviews were recently posted to our listing on Tripadvisor by
new members (only 1 posting). Some were considered suspicious by Tripadvisor, and the result is that our ranking has been downgraded from 5 to 26. In order to assure ourselves that your review was indeed posted by a client who stayed at La Maison Arabe, would you please be so kind as to contact me as soon as possible via email at: gm@lamaisonarabe.com , and let me know when you stayed at our property and under what name the reservation was made? I sincerely thank you in advance for your important help in this matter.
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.