We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon in a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% when you book direct
Ranked #8 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Stratford-upon-Avon, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Honeymoon in a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon at La Maison Arabe. We took the Royal Suite, which is over 3 floors including private roof terrace and jacuzzi, and were just overwhelmed by the place and especially by the staff. From the bellboy to the manager, they could not do enough for us and they really made the holiday for us.

For example, we were very bad at planning and woke up one morning feeling like a trip to the Ourika valley. We asked the manager at 10:45 if it was too late to organise an excursion that day and by 11:00 he had a people carrier and driver outside the front door waiting for us.

The breakfasts were wonderful - weather permitting these are served by the pool and besides a wide range of buffet food, they will cook eggs for you any way you like.

Be sure to make use of the private, and complimentary, country club & gardens. These are a 15 miunute drive away and there is a free shuttle every hour. There's a larger pool, nice gardens and small restaurant there - nice if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina and just lounge in the sun for a while.

To summarise - these are nice folks running a beautiful hotel really well. You should go stay there.

Room Tip: We had the royal suite, which is across three floors including a private roof terrace and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I celebrated a birthday at this historic and beautiful riad, Le Maison Arabe, by participating in their introductory cooking course followed by a dinner with friends. Regrettably we did not stay at this wonderful hotel this time - but hopefully during the next visit to Marrakech. The cooking course was top notch - very informative, entertaining and perfectly planned as well as executed. The cooking courses of Le Maison Arabe are highly recommendable. As to the dinner itself - the food was beyond wonderful and the settings were incredibly beautiful. Even though I did not stay at the hotel - I had to communicate with the staff on several occasions for planning etc. The level of service offered at this hotel is incredible, - possibly beyond anything you find elsewhere in Morocco. The friendliness and efficacy of the staff, often spiced with an appropriate dose of marrakechi sense of humor made every interaction a pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a beautiful place and like most of The Medina's best spots it's hidden away in a modest and relatively hard to find location. The modest exterior doesn't prepare you for the splendor and relaxed decadence inside. We didn't stay but visited for drinks on one night and I felt like I'd be transported into a different era. This is a pretty special experience for the senses and the ego - almost psychedelic if you understand my meaning.

On another occasion we ate with friends and family... food in Marrakesh can be repetitive but is generally to my taste so I am more than happy about that. This was among the best examples of Moroccan food, particularly the platters to start with and the setting was really nice and colourful with live music (just right, not too intrusive).

I get the sense that it is the type of place you'd be very excited and proud to take friends to if it were their first visit to the city... there's something about walking down a nondescript road and through a modest door into somewhere so special... Makes sharing it more special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just returned from an incredible first trip to Marrakech and 3 wonderful nights
at La Maison Arabe. It's located inside the old city, a 10 minute walk from
the large square. The hotel is larger than we were expecting and has 2 restaurants,
a bar and large spa. Our room was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated, had a private terrace, and the wifi worked perfectly in the room and common areas of the hotel. Everyone on the staff is first class and made us immediately feel at home. A highlight for us was spending our last afternoon at the hotel's heavenly country property. They provide free transportation there. It was the most peaceful and relaxing way to unwind after two days of running around the city. The staff at the country property was also exceptional, we felt like royalty!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Maison Arabe in Marrakech for three nights as part of an extensive trip around Morocco. We had already experienced some terrific Riads in Rabat, Fes and Ouarzazate but La Maison Arabe was easily the best accommodation we stayed in during our Moroccan trip. In fact, La Maison Arabe may be the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. Certainly nothing springs to mind that we would say was better. The level of individual service provided by the staff at La Maison Arabe has to be experienced to be believed. They even gave us a cellular phone with the number of the Riad already entered so that we could call if we ever had any problems while visiting the city. In addition to the service (which is really what sets this hotel apart from others) the room was extremely well appointed and the other facilities were simply world class. We were so sorry to have to leave La Maison Arabe (and Marrakech it has to be said) as we moved on to our next part of the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAG2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This place is first class.
The decor is charming with nice rooms filled with antiques and unique carpets.
They also have a cooking school where we learned how to make a tagine. The staff is first class as well.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at La Maison Arabe in the middle of November 2013.
The hotel is tucked away down a quiet street about 20 minutes walk from the main square. It has a quiet unassuming entrance which leads into a beautiful interior of 6 raids beautifully decorated with a cool courtyard.
Our room was tastefully decorated in typical Moroccan style. The hotel has two excellent restaurants ( one indoors specialising in Moroccan food and one outside for Moroccan and international food).
There is also a villa outside of the city owned by the hotel which has an outdoor pool etc. this is 20 minutes away via free hotel taxi and when we were there, there were only 4 other people. It was like having your own villa.
The staff at the hotel were very very polite and attentive.
The main square and souks are only 20 mins away walking distance and the whole area was very safe and the Moroccan people in general very welcoming and helpful

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#77 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#164 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing