We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haven of peace in bustling Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Newcastle, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“haven of peace in bustling Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

it was our first trip to Morocco and we found it was a bit daunting to be harrassed in the street whenever we left the hotel, but La Maison Arabe was beautifully peaceful and the service from all the staff we came across was exceptional. We also visited the country club outside the town where the service was fabulous.Also the spa was first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    65
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
189
561
36
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

An exotic oriental dream come true, the riad has several courtyards where one can loll about in a food or wine induced stupor while enjoying a cool breeze at night. The spa is just beautiful. There is also a country club with an even bigger swimming pool that is right outside of the city and accessible by free shuttle from the hotel. We were treated to a Morroquito, the alcoholic version of the Moroccan mint tea (is basically a slightly exotic mojito).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely hotel with beautiful Moroccan features and design. Large spacious rooms. The food was nice in the evening but breakfast was limited. The staff were all very friendly. The pool is small and cold but the sunbathing areas are lovely. The hotel is in a good location. Really enjoyed Marrakech.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your feedback and kind word regarding La Maison Arabe.
We begin heating our on-site swimming pool soon, and it remains heated during the winter months; we regret you found it cold during your stay with us. We would like to mention to readers that our pool is 14 meters long, which is large for the medina, where space is so constrained. Your review suggests you unfortunately may not have taken advantage of our second swimming pool, which is set in a luxuriant garden property, reserved exclusively for our hotel guests, and located 15 minutes away from the hotel by complimentary shuttle.
Our breakfast buffet includes, among other things, a selection of freshly squeezed fruit juices, fresh fruit salad, homemade yogurt, homemade breakfast pastries, organic eggs prepared your way, a selection of cereals, and Moroccan breakfast crepes cooked before our guests. This week we are adding additional varieties of cheese and ham to those already included in the buffet. Nevertheless, we are sorry you found the breakfast limited. I would very much appreciate it if you could contact me at gm@lamaisonarabe.com with your suggestions as to how we could improve our breakfast.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to La Maison Arabe.
Best regards,
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

the best in marrakech. i love this Riad... Hotel ..it is fantastic. fantastic....fantastic...fantastic...fantastic....fantastic....fantastic....fantastic..... that´s all....!!!!
you must to go to the Maison Arab for live that i m not write here.... the best!!! i m sure about that

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I consider ourselves pretty seasoned travelers having been to about 50 countries and stayed in over 150 commercial accommodations from mega luxury to modest and from one night to weeks in the last decade or so.
After the grueling and tediously boring 8+ hours train trip from Fes, we arrived in Marrakech and were met by a pleasant English speaking guide exactly as booked with La Maison Arabe. We were taken a short drive in a modern aircon'd Mercedes van to the hotel and escorted into the lobby where we were pleasantly greeted by a number of staff. A lovely gesture was moist scented cool face-washer/towelettes to dab of the dust and grime of the journey. From that moment on throughout our stay, every member of the staff was overtly concerned for our comfort and well-being We mentioned we needed to freshen up and that there was no lunch or even any refreshment on the train. We were efficiently checked-in, then guided through the interesting adjoining buildings that comprise this riad to our room.
The room was light bright and well appointed with a small separate sitting area, mini-bar, flat screen TV and balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The bathroom was modern and well appointed with toiletries and plenty of towels.
A nice touch was rose petals dotted around that added to the welcome.
Within just a few moments there was a knock on the door, and a staff member presented a tray of cheese and fruit and tea with compliments of the management (responding that we had had no lunch). This was a thoughtful and appreciated touch and one of just many we experienced over the next few days. For example, the first day at breakfast I selected a home made yoghurt from the buffet and placed in on my table. I did the same thing the second day. On the third day, before I got to the yoghurt, the attentive waiter had already placed it on our table. Another was my wife asked the in-house pastry chef for a vanilla millefeulle. He hadn't made any that day but did so the next and one was brought to our room for her. I needed to get a sole glued onto a sneeker and asked the porter where a cobbler was located and practically had to fight him off taking it for repair for me, explaining I really wanted the experience.
We both enjoyed lovely treatments in the day spa, an amusing session in their cooking school (not fine dining but fun nevertheless). All the meals and wine at their outlets were internationally good standard which thoroughly we enjoyed.
Everyday there was attention and care. This is not the flashest hotel or the biggest or even the most luxurious - but it was the best we have ever experienced in terms of welcome and constant discreet attention and effort to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable and fulfilling.
The owner also has a country club a short drive out of town where we spend a pool-side afternoon taking lunch and relaxing in the cool gardens.
If we ever have occasion to go back to Marrakeck, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The high floor over looking the pool with a small balcony - however the dawn call to prayer from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Maison Arabe is an old riad with thick terracotta walls, spacious rooms over looking the central pool come dining area. The service is pleasant and unobtrusive with a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. Take time to enjoy the surroundings and calm before heading to the Medina and souks which are an easy walk away, but most of all, enjoy the food. There are international dishes, but you would be mad not to try the delicious local dishes, spectacular Morroccan wines and all the sweet treats you can manage. The hotel is old, full of character and because of this, you forgive the slightly worn furnishings and occasional bit of bad plumbing, although for the price, maybe not.

Get the hotel to organise you a pick up from the airport. It is worth the small extra price and makes it easier to find the entrance down a shady alley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A group of us (3) stayed in a suite within this delightful Riad which is tucked away in the Heart of the old town, only a 6/7 min walk from the Jemaa el-Fna. If you are looking for a true Moroccan experience within a luxury setting then this is the place to be. The staff are at your service with a smile at all times, happy to make bookings and arrange trips at your requests. The in-house restaurant is suburb serving breakfast by day and transforming into an idyllic oasis by night. The food was delicious and service second to non. Would definitely return to this Riad in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.