We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Save Saved
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I just spent a few days at La Maison Arabe and I really loved it. I was on business in Casablanca and a friend recommended that I visit La Maison Arabe and I am so glad that I did.

The staff are very kind and accommodating. The hotel is so interesting and beautiful - there were many different places to explore within the hotel and you never felt like there were many other people around. I have stayed in other hotels in Morocco and none of them hold up to the standards of this place.

My bed was really comfortable and loved my room. I had a terrace and had breakfast on the terrace a couple of the mornings of my stay, which was really great.

I also had a couple of treatments at the spa - which were excellent. Having a private steam room was lovely and then a relaxing massage at the end was very good. The price for this treatment was very reasonable.

Overall, I am very impressed with this hotel. As a business traveller - looking for a few days to relax, this was the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    878
    58
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
166
500
32
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just spent a wonderful week at La Maison Arabe! What an enchanting place. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. We loved our room – we had one overlooking the pool. The food was incredible and the breakfast was out of this world.

We really enjoyed the Moroccan restaurant – what an experience. We had a beef and lamb tagines – they were both really delicious. We loved the music as well. The restaurant is beautifully decorated in traditional moroccan style.

The spa treatments were amazing – best massage we have ever had and the spa staff are outstanding.

The best kept secret is the country club location – which is a another location about 15 mins from the hotel via a shuttle – with beautiful gardens and a huge pool. It was such a tranquil place.

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on trip advisor and we were not let down. We whole heartedly recommend this hotel. It is one of the best we have ever stayed at.

Thank you to all the staff at La Maison Arabe for the most fantastic week.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool - very nice - but we saw another room which was not overlooking the pool and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am so very happy that we found La Maison Arabe. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The Riad itself is well situated, extremely clean, and well cared for. What set this place apart however was the incredibly supportive staff. They responded to each and every request we had and always with a smile. When we were ripped off a little while shopping they even interceded with the shop keeper to get our money back!

The food in the restaurants and bar was terrific and of course the service was great as well.

When you go there be sure to go to the Moroccan cooking class - it's truly world class as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I agree with the other reviews though having stayed in a beautiful riad in Essaouira (Riad Chbanate) La Maison Arabe felt much more like a hotel than a Riad. The service was excellent, the Jazz bar is a beautiful space as are many of the small lounges and courtyard spaces. The rooms (in the modern part of the hotel) were good though lacked some Moroccan charm or feel for me. The rooms in the original part of the hotel might be better.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in the old part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Esteemed Client,
Many thanks for the kind words you have written about our establishment, and for the opportunity to explain to Tripadvisor members what we feel distinguishes our hotel from a traditional riad property. La Maison Arabe has evolved over the years by combining five adjoining riads and the former stables of the pasha’s palace. Most riad properties in Marrakech have a central courtyard, and between 3 and 8 guestrooms. We have numerous lounges and patios, 26 rooms and suites, and a staff of 100. We strive to provide the personalized service of a smaller riad property, while offering at the same time the amenities typical of larger hotels: 2 restaurants, a piano bar, a wellness center with 2 large hammams and 5 massage rooms, a cooking school with workstations for 10 participants, a boutique, room service, laundry service, and a 24-hour front desk. We also offer our guests a choice of two swimming pools: on-site in the medina, and one set in luxuriant gardens, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle. So we like to think of ourselves as a “riad-hotel”, offering clients a traditional medina experience that combines the beauty and charm of a riad property with the amenities and service of a hotel.
Respectfully yours,
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I were recommended this place by a friend. We decided to go for dinner as our friend had said it was the best place they went to during their stay in Morocco.
We didn't make a reservation, but we got there well before the restaurant opened for the evening. We went to the bar and had drinks while we waited. The decor was just absolutely stunning!
The staff were super friendly and extremely efficient. With our drinks they served us a variety of little nibbles such as nuts, olives and peppers, which was such a nice touch.
The restaurant was as equally gorgeous, we were seated next to the pool and there were candles lit everywhere giving it a very romantic feel.
They had two men on acoustic guitars singing, which added to the experience.
The food was amazing and was my favourite during our stay in Marrakech.
I highly recommend this place to all! It is just totally fab in every way!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights as my family wanted to experience a different culture. Marrakech was certainly that, but despite heat in the 40's and Ramadam it was well worth it. You have to be careful, but we didn't find intimidating, ate In the square, bartered and loved the vibrant activity. In the middle of this La Maison was a wonderful oasis of calm. The rooms luxurious, the staff great and breakfast in the courtyard by the pool wonderfully calming. Being in the Medina made us feel even more absorbed. The hotel also has a Kasbah/country club that you reach by shuttle bus. After a half day walking the souks this was fantastic. The hotel also recommended great restaurants. We then spent a week at the Sofitel in essaouira which made this more traditional hotel a special comparison.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We travelled with our 5 children (ranging from 10 to 21) to this hotel for a long weekend. It was probably one of the best hotels we have ever visited and as a family we travel extensively. The service was amazing, we were stuck in Agadir unable to get to Marrakesh due to Ramadan, the hotel just arrange to collect us, nothing was any trouble. The Guest Services Manager Adil arranged some wonderful restaurant's and a guide to show us the sites who was fantastic. My daughters' and I did the cookery course run by the hotel which was lovely and gave an insight into Moroccan cooking. In weather was very hot in August but the hotel has a country club close by with a free transfer, once you arrive you are greeted by the staff who offer you a free welcome drink, the pool is lovely. A tranquil place to relax away from the bustle and heat of Marrakesh. The location is great as you are within the city walls so can walk most places. My husband tried the spa which was lovely.
I would recommend this place, we loved it so much we extended our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.