We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Save Saved
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is perfect; the location is in the old medina, close to the souk and within walkable distance of most sights. The riad itself is historic and very beautiful, very moroccan with stunning decor and the rooms are five-star - and everything is spotlessly clean. The rooms are also air-conditioned. The food is delicious. There is a beautiful pool in the hotel but there is also the country-club pool owed by the hotel located outside the medina - a complimentary shuttle runs between the riad and the pool. All the staff (without exception) are superb, so helpful, friendly and courteous. Nothing is too much trouble. Marod and Mrs Nabila will personally ensure your stay exceeds your expectations. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    909
    62
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
180
514
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just returned from Marrakech where we stayed at La Maison Arabe for 4 nights. La Maison is a converted riad with a ton of character, enhanced by excellent customer service. It's conveniently located to Jemaa el Fne and the souks. The restaurant at the hotel is top notch, and the bar at the hotel was outstanding(although I wished they carried a bigger variety of beers). During our stay, there was a scheduling mixup concerning a cooking class that we had signed up for. No worries-Adil, the GM, made it right by rescheduling a private lesson for my wife the following day. Not easy during Ramadan.
My wife raved about the Hamman at La Maison.
While in Marrakech, I took a walk-through and had a drink at one of the other large, top hotels in Marrakesh. I found it to be stuffy and a little snooty. On the other hand, La Maison was comfortable to us and quickly felt like our home in the midst of crazy Marrakech.
No reason to repeat all the details of other reviews here. We concur with them, and encourage others to stay here when in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite in the courtyard, overlooking the pool. loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at La Maison Arabe on my very first and recent trip to Marrakech.

This wonderful hotel is a converted riad, the very first of it's kind in the Medina, and is in a terrific location. The decor is pure Moroccan and you feel the connection to the magical city of Marrakech throughout the public spaces as well as the rooms.

The food at the restaurant is fantastic... from the fresh vegetable juices and homemade yogurt at breakfast, to the exquisite chicken and preserved lemon tagine at dinner.

But what really sets this hotel apart, and I believe what made this trip such a memorable experience for me is the entire
hotel staff. The very gracious and accommodating hotel managers Taoufik and Nabila were ever present, but very low key and just kept the place humming; the guest relations manager Adil is a national treasure - he can make anything happen and always with a warm and welcoming smile; the entire staff (too numerous to name) is unparalleled. They all made me feel like I was a good friend visiting the home of good friends.

I can't wait to return to Marrakech and will look forward to seeing my new friends at
La Maison Arabe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everyone says how good this hotel is - and they're right. Both the team who run it and those who work there are simply exceptional. Superb customer service from the moment you arrive to the minute you depart. There is nothing that is too much trouble - even on your last day and you're waiting for the airport transfer, they look after your every need and make sure you don't want for anything during that time. We were offered a guest room in which to shower and change before leaving and they had completed our emigration forms too - quite unexpected. We had a beautiful first floor suite overlooking the pool - pretty, spacious and cool - it was a haven from the heat. They will organise tours, get a driver and a car at the drop of a hat and are always on hand to offer advice about where to visit, where to eat etc. Its own restaurants are very good though - you should eat here at least once. They also run a cookery school - great fun and good value. The chef and her assistant are charming and everyone had a good time. The Riad has the use of a "country club" not 15 mins away (shuttle bus every hour) which is an oasis on a hot afternoon. There you'll find a beautiful pool staffed by the loveliest waiters who again, can't do enough for you; providing a complimentary cold drink on arrival, fresh fruit and sorbet and even scented cold flannels. Joy. There's a lovely little restaurant on site too - a bit pricey with service charge but very nice. All in all - highly recommended. Utterly charming and excellent service.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool was lovely with a balcony to sit in the evening and enjoy a sundowner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I just spent a wonderful 3 nights at this great Riad with a perfect location in the Medina of Marrakesh.
Reception staff very friendly and ready to assist with anything.
Enjoyed the 2 level royal suite which felt like being in a private home
Only downside - the breakfast a little poor
Absolutely loved the Cooking class run by the excellent school manager and her assistants
This is a great city and this the perfect accommodation to make you feel lie you are truly in Morocco !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This riad-hotel is supposed to be the first riad in Marrakech. The structure and architechture are traditional and typical of Marrakech, with a lot of woodwork, tiles and courtyards. In the rooms, all the doors are covered with leather, ours had a little balcony-terrace.
The staff was very friendly and attentive, always ready to help with any request or question. They suggested restaurants, atracctions, escorted us to nearby restaurants, provided transportation from Fes, and to the airport.
We had dinner at their restaurant the first night, it was very good and served in the lovely courtyard with live music and beautiful moroccan lighting. Breakfast was served in the same courtyard with the pool in the center, it was a buffet with traditional western and also moroccan items. Their pastry was made in house. There was a moroccan "pancake" station where you had your choice of fillings for the "pancakes" that were really good.
The best part was the cooking school course that I attended. The ladies(translator and "dada") were amazing and made it a great experience. I really liked our stay here. There are more luxurious hotels in Marrakech, but La Maison Arabe felt like a more personal and authentic Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is just lovely, everything about it was just to our taste, the food home made the room was luxurious. We found the hotel easy to find just get on the bus no 19 and ask the driver and he will drop you off about 5-7min walk from the hotel. They also have a shop on the street which the lady was very helpful and called the hotel for someone to take our luggage. The staff very helpful anything you need. There is a Country Club what a fabulous place, the shuttle takes you there for free and bring you back, food and drinks are available there.Taxi from hotel should be about 20dhs to the square,always agree a price before you take the taxi. Forgot about the spa you must try the Hammam it an experience, we just went to see and asked on the day we arrived if we could book anything that moment and they obliged us with a wonderful relaxing 2 hours of scrub, massage and steam room this not too be missed wonderful.

Room Tip: There is a lift but some rooms have stairs to go down to the main bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.