We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, a warm welcome in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad, a warm welcome in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in this really lovely Riad. We stayed in a patio side suite (room 216) which had a delightful private patio overlooking the pool. The room was lovely, spacious and very well equipped, (it was up two flights of fairly steep stairs which may be a problem for some) There was a very spacious bathroom. Housekeeping was exceptional and the whole house was spotless, attention to the smallest detail was evident. There is a lovely pool (guide books and websites say there isn't one - I believe it was added recently) and a lovely shady sun deck for when the medina is a little too much! We were made very welcome when we arrived and were shown around the house, it is a bit of a warren as it is several houses made into one, so there are little stair cases and patios around the place.

Breakfast is lovely, taken by the pool there is a wide choice, including the lovely fruit and yogurt, cooked to order Moroccan crepes and eggs and lovely homemade bread, pastries and jams. Also it is served until 11am which is great if you like to lie in.

We ate in both restaurants and the food is good, especially if you are a tagine fan! The service is good, however one night the restaurant appeared to be overbooked and we had to wait a considerable time to be seated. The piano bar is lovely, comfortable and very good cocktails! Moroccan wine is very good and matches the food well - there was a good wine list

We took advantage of the country club which is delightful, lovely pool and beautiful gardens, a great place to chill and have a spot of lunch.

One of the highlights of our stay in Marrakech ( there were a few!) was our experience of the Hammam. We booked a the Hammam and massage package which was just a brilliant experience, really relaxing and highly professional service. we were so well looked after.

We didn't experience the cooking school - however we saw the participants coming and going and everyone appeared to be having a great time - there was lots of laughter and clapping - if we had longer we would have given it a go!

As our flight was late in the day, we were provided with a day room so we could relax completely - this was arranged willingly and efficiently and was very much appreciated. Also our exit cards were prepared for us so we didn't have to do it - one of the thoughtful things that make life a little easier

I would highly recommend and hope that you enjoy as much as we did!

Room Tip: Our room (216) was quiet, with a lovely private patio with a view of the pool and an internal patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    64
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
192
571
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a wonderful Riad, stunningly beautiful, spotlessly clean, the staff were brilliant so kind and helpful,nothing was to much trouble, The food was excellent, breakfast was leisurely and plentiful, with something for all, the homemade yoghurt was superb with the yummy fruit. The Country Club is a "oasis" of such perfection,set in lovely gardens, again wonderful staff, fab food, amazing facilities, it is hard to believe you are still in Marrakech. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay Marrakech was just incredible, buzzing, colourful and we were at ease walking and exploring on our own, though we did have a guide for a few hours to take us into the Souks and some of the architectural gems. To return to relaxing La Maison Arabe at the end of the day was just the ticket. Do enjoy the Mint Tea!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and restaurant area does mean that you can hear some noise but it is not intr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose La Maison Arabe as it looked really authentic. The other reviews all sang praises and as one who writes good and bad reviews this ticked the boxes.

None of the other reviews say anywhere what this should say. I have travelled the world in 5star hotels but have never seen the level of attention we are getting here. Yes I write this from Hillel suite overlooking the pool as we go into our 4th and final night.

On arrival I knew you walked up an unassuming alley to a Riad made of many houses. But when you step inside, this place has blown me away. My bags were taken, no silly ticket, a tour of the property and a fantastic drink delivered with love from the barman, the bags a moment later.

The room is exquisite, we are not in the largest suite or even have a balcony, but the French doors are open a breeze is flowing in and the air conditioning is off right now. When we have used it the room is cool in minutes.

There are more wardrobes than we have at home, the bathroom in marble with double sink ticks all my boxes. I have a thing about bathrooms, you have to have a decent shower and great towels. La Maison Arabe not only has these but they are in plenty, changed twice a day.

The room has complimentary bottled water replenished whenever you leave the room.

We have tried both restaurants, not a single critique, it was just right every time. The staff so friendly, the manager has a 'nothing is too much trouble attitude' and passes this to the staff.

The Hammam, well I think this was a little piece of paradise hiding in the lower ground floor. I will be back without question.

If there were 6 stars to give this would get them. Number 1 in Marrakech? Well we went to other 5 star hotels here and found they were just too pretentious for my liking. La Maison Arabe has been the most wonderful experience since we stepped off the plane and were met by their driver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool or even with a private patio. Each looks better than the last!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Neither of us had been to Marrakech before, and I'm so glad that we chose La Maison Arabe as the setting for my birthday treat. The hotel is a beautiful, relaxing oasis in the middle of a hot, exciting and bustling city, and it is a pleasure to arrive there, and be greeted by courteous, smiling staff. As soon as the wonderful staff found out about my birthday they went out of their way to make our stay very special.
That personal attention to our every need distinguishes La Maison Arabe from any other hotel we have experienced - right down to the completed embarkation cards handed to us as we left.
Thank you so much - we will return!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I wasn't feeling well at all. Thepeople at Maison Arabe were so kind, friendly, and interested in my welfare, which seemed quite sincere. The room was so attractive and comfortable, the location excellent, the food wonderful ( for a while, much of it room service). I highly recommend this Riad, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: They all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had another enchanting stay at La Maison Arabe (our third) – our absolute favorite place to stay in the world. All the staff and the management team make us feel so special and do absolutely everything to make sure we have a wonderful visit every time. I don’t think you can find better service anywhere. We stay in hotels all over the world for our jobs and I am yet still to find anywhere that compares with the exceptional customer service and caring staff at this hotel.

The reception staff are incredibly helpful and very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go. The housekeeping staff are attentive and always seem to know when we have gone down to breakfast to come and clean our room.

The Breakfast staff are excellent and get you sorted out with anything that you need. The breakfast is so delicious with tons of choice for every palate. The food is fantastic at both restaurants as is the staff. We also love the jazz bar! If you like wine - make sure to try some of the outstanding Moroccan wines when you are at the hotel - they have a very good selection.

If you visit, you have to go to the country club location –with beautiful gardens, outdoor giant beds to sleep on and a mouth watering lunch menu – you can’t go wrong!

The spa is really lovely and the forfait Royal is one of the best treatments I have ever had and really great value for money. The girls who work at the spa are so sweet and the spa manager is lovely.

A special thanks to Slim, Ibrahim and Hicham for the tagines and Nabila for the fantastic cream for my sunburn and Taoufik for spoiling us so much and making our visit so special!

We cannot wait to go back again and visit the paradise of La Maison Arabe!

Thanks to all the staff for making our visit so fantastic !! We miss you!!

Room Tip: Really all the rooms are lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was our third trip to La Masion Arabe and each time we visit we are even more convinced that La Masion Arabe is the very best hotel in the world.

The staff’s attention to detail and truly caring attitude is exceptional. We were spoiled with kindness. It was my wife’s birthday and they knew without us saying anything and throughout the entire day she was wished happy birthday by every staff member in the hotel, serenaded at breakfast and at dinner and spoiled with flowers and champagne. It was an unforgettable day and the wonderful staff at La Maison Arabe made it so special.

We love the Spa – the treatments are fantastic and the massages are out of this world and the Spa staff is amazing.

We ate again at the Moroccan and Poolside restaurants and the food continues to be top notch along with the staff. The breakfast is lovely – some new juices had been added this time (including cucumber and beetroot – which were delicious) and the breakfast staff, absolutely fantastic as always – their smiling faces help start your day with happiness.

We even had a private tasting of whiskies with the General Manager in the jazz bar which was wonderful.

From the housekeeping staff to the reception staff and indeed every member of the Maison Arabe team, there is a passion and kindness that I have not seen in any other hotel – their goal is to make sure you have everything and anything that you want or need.

To all the staff at La Masion Arabe -Thank you for making our holiday so incredible !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.