We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Save Saved
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are just back from a truly lovely and relaxing vacation in Marrakech with our two boys ages 10 and 11. I was expecting something "adventurous" and maybe a bit overwhelming at times, but the trip was relaxed and wonderful from start to finish. We spent our first few days in the mountains before coming into the city to la Maison Arabe. We were met with exceptional service and friendliness. This hotel seems to have thought of everything. There are numerous quiet corners in which to relax, curl up with a book, or enjoy the sunshine. Our boys swam every day in the heated pool and we also went out to the "country club," a 15 minute drive from the hotel, one day to swim in that larger (unheated) pool. Our room for the first 2 nights was the Royal Suite and it was unbelievable, with a private roof deck with jacuzzi tub (!!) and huge luxurious spaces. The second two nights we were in 2 smaller rooms, also lovely, which shared a sunny outdoor courtyard.
The food at this hotel was fantastic - we ate twice at the "traditional" dining room and once in the other one. We didn't want to worry about food safety, esp with children, so we stuck to the hotel food. Our last day we did the cooking class which was terrific and fun.
I can't say enough about the quality of the service at this hotel. Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, without being annoyingly overattentive. We all felt completely at home here.
The location of the hotel is also excellent - walking distance to the large market area as well as the Marjorin gardens.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Royal Suite, it's well worth the cost. Heavenly!! But, our other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    60
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
173
504
32
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to Marrakech now 3 times and love it. After visiting with my husband for the second time; I decided to take my sister from the United States who had never previously held a passport. We did a girls weekend here from Europe.

La Maison Arabe is the total package for a vacation destination - close to the adventure of the medina (market). No need for a car and I recommend you don't get one. Just take taxi or arrange for pick-up thru the hotel. The staff are all amazing and willing to assist their guests. The hotel's pools are refreshing and enjoyable to just look at. There are two: on property and another in the gardens which is accessible by courtesy transportation. The pool in the riad is refreshing after a day of negotiations in the market place. The spa...oh la la how wonderful. I went for the hammam and massage with my sister and we had a totally rejuvenating 2+ hours. It was hard to prepare for dinner within the property. They have at least 3 places to eat. We needed more time to enjoy all of them and couldn't even fit in the totally professional cooking classes ;-( Gotta go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This gorgeous riad/boutique hotel is 10 minutes from the central piazza, down an unlikely looking back street, is an ideal setting from which to discover Marrakech. The service is first class as is the attention to detail. The building itself is quite stunning and the 2 restaurants offer fine dining opportunities.

Room Tip: The garden suite overlooking the pool was quite exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were most impressed with this stay -- everyone was so helpful and friendly. The suite we had overlooked a courtyard with a nice terrace to sit outside. Huge closets, much space in the bedroom and a wonderful cozy sitting area down the hall. The furnishings are lovely too, a nice desk, artwork, pillows, etc. You have to be able to climb many stairs to get to the room -- they take your bags up as that would be a real impediment to any traveler with a large suitcase. But to go to breakfast you have to go up and down many staircases, and some are circular and small steps. Nevertheless, the climb is well worth the reward. So we would say this is one of the finest hotels we have seen during our travels in Morocco.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at 3 different places during our trip to Marrakesh and this one was our favorite! The service was exceptional and the overall ambiance of this hotel is the perfect! It really gave us the sense of being in an exotic, romantic location and the underground spa was magical and so relaxing. Waking up every morning for breakfast by the pool was a fantastic start to our day and dining in one of their two restaurants made for a wonderful ending to a full day of sightseeing. The other places we stayed at were very nice too but La Maison Arabe is the one that I hope to return to someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My better half and I swung by "La Maison Arabe" looking for a nice place with a good food. Although online reviews were quite positive about "Les Trois Saveurs" restaurant inside the hotel/riad, we were still surprised by what we found inside. The restaurant offers three most important things you should expect from such a place - great food, professional service, and beautiful atmosphere. If you add a good location to that list, you get a perfect place for a peaceful getaway from usual street madness of Marrakesh Medina. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

When I visit a country I try to stay in places where I find the country’s character, culture and style. There are times that I even stayed at simple guest houses just to experience the local life. In Marrakech, luckily I found La Maison Arabe to meet my expectations. Situated within walking distance to most of the places of interest in the city, La Maison Arabe is a small boutique hotel (called “riad hotel” in Moroccan) with only 26 rooms. It was nicely and skillfully converted from an old arab house with a sympathetic swimming pool in the courtyard. The entrance is through a very narrow alley, typical of Marrakech’s old “medina”. Above all, the staff is extremely warm and friendly and very attentive. If you love to dine out of hotels, I advise you to think twice because La Maison Arabe offers two separate fine-dining restaurants by the pool with outstanding menus, including, of course, famous “tagine” varieties. If I had the time, I would definitely have loved to take cooking lessons from the Chef. Yes, dining there is not cheap, but it is definitely worth the money. All in all, La Maison Arabe is a great experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.