We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off your bill
Ranked #7 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is well located, beautiful, luxurious, and the service could not possibly be better. The breakfast is top notch, too, and the restaurants are excellent. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, beautiful in fact. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    64
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
189
561
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at La Maison Arabe in March '13. Had a wonderful time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite. The location is outstanding. The facilities are also top notch: the decoration, restaurants, and hammam are fantastic. I would encourage anyone staying in Marrakech to select this ryad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spencer14
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day vacation to Morocco and finished our tour in Marrakech at La Maison Arabe which turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Everything we read on TripAdvisor was accurate and it really is a magical place. Location, ambiance, service and attention on the part of the Riad staff was absolutely superb. Once minor point; the shower in the bathroom should have a better protection from the rest of the bathroom as the water splashes all over every time you take a shower. Everything else was perfect

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A short late February stay in Marrakech led us to the wonderful 'La Maison Arabe' (guided there by the very helpful company 'Lawrence of Morocco'). Once through the door, you enter another world where everything is beautiful and nothing is too much trouble for the charming and helpful staff. Our bedroom was stylish, comfortable and immaculately kept. Fresh flowers and bottled water were welcome touches. We could only stay 2 nights and ate both nights at La Maison Arabe - not something we would normally choose to do when in a hotel. We were very happy that we did. Breakfasts by the pool were unhurried and totally delicious - if you are lucky your Moroccan crepe will be created for you by the wonderful lady who runs the cookery school. We hope to return and stay longer to try the cookery school and relax even more in the divinely-scented hammam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Although we knew this was a good hotel we were not prepared for the magic of it. We stayed for a total of 6 nights.
The splendid rooms,impeccably serviced, the attention to detail, the delicious breakfasts and complimentary afternoon tea, the incredible meals, (French and Moroccan menus) at the wonderful restaurant, all were superb.
But the most important aspect was the human factor: the unforgettable staff! The personal concern, kindness, good humor, were well beyond expectations.

Room Tip: We had two separate stays, the rooms were different, they both were great. I have a weakness for sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When intending to stay in Marrakech for the first time one can only rely upon advice from friends and information from the internet. One doesn't know if the facilities, the ambience, the service or the food would be better elsewhere but having stayed at La Maison Arabe in early march we can say that all were outstanding. The gamble paid off!

It is doubtful that any other hotel could match the welcome one receives and the courteous attention at all times from all the staff but one can say with some certainty that the hotel building itself and its interiors must be unmatched in Marrakech. Where a new hotel establishment may order fixtures, fittings, artefacts etc in bulk on a commercial basis, here, (as the history tells us) the aristocratic italian owner has had a hand in the selection of every item - and has done so with singular good taste and apparently with no expense spared. The combination of Moroccan artefacts and craftsmanship with Italian sensibilities and flair have created interiors of exceptional quality - for all guests to enjoy. If this is your interest it is a real treat.

One finds too that this visual feast is matched by one for the ears. Every evening one is entertained at dinner with lute, guitar and the tremulous voices of the players (not to mention the pianist in the Jazz bar!) - not travelling musicians but masters from the academy of music in Marrakech no less. It doesn't get more exclusive than that!

It is so difficult to orchestrate the proceedings of a hotel with such seemingly effortless efficiency but here it is done with great success. Here in the UK we have the television series "Faulty Towers" to remind one just how difficult that is! Well done to management and staff. We shall be back for more.

The Browns, UK

Room Tip: We can recommend Room 243, with balcony over looking pool and courtyard. and spectacular Royal Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

In many ways I am just repeating others' views. Beautiful hotel, lots of places to sit inside and out, particularly lovely in the old part of the hotel. The service was exceptional - we felt welcomed and known throughout our 3 night stay. There were small problems all dealt with efficiently - WiFi didn't work and there was some time spent giving us different passwords to try before it did. Then we had a power cut - just in our room apparently, and it was out for a couple of hours, but we went to breakfast and were kept informed as it was sorted out. Finally an area power cut within the city was announced for the morning we left - it didn't affect us at all but all rooms had a personal letter of explanation. We also found a free bottle of champagne when we returned from dinner - assume this happened to everyone staying during the power cut. My only complaint was i didn't know it was coming so we left it untouched!
Would love to come back. Breakfast excellent, Moroccan restaurant good but portions rather generous. We loved the Jazz Bar and the ability to eat small meals there instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear esteemed client,
Thank you for your kind words regarding La Maison Arabe. I would like to point out to readers that power cuts in our neighborhood of Marrakech are extremely rare. In the case you mention, we were told with less than a day’s notice by the city that power would be cut for several hours. We immediately notified all our clients staying at the hotel, and left everyone a bottle of champagne in their room as a small gesture for the inconvenience
this would cause. As it turns out, the public works were thankfully accomplished without cutting any electricity in our district. We sincerely hope you will return to Marrakech and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to La Maison Arabe...and please consider that your bottle of champagne has been kept “on ice” to enjoy during a future stay with us!
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.