We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Be In Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Place To Be In Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are two places to stay in Marrakesh for the traveler looking for a superior experience. The first is, of course, La Mamounia, which is the ultimate in the big hotel experience. For those looking for smaller, more intimate and charming place, there is only La Maison Arabe.

Unlike the Relais & Chateux property in Marrakesh, Mason L'Orange (which I also visited), La Maison Arabe perfectly blends the riad experience with that of a luxury hotel. There are three reasons for this. First, unlike many of the newer boutique riads, La Maison Arabe is not just one central courtyard that makes you feel a bit locked-in. Rather, its a bit of a rambling property made up of six separate but connected riads. Second, the hotel's nearby garden/swimming pool, which is a 15 minute (free) van ride away, has more charm than the Majorelle Gardens. The pool and food service at the pool are exquisite. It's a true luxury experience. To my taste, I prefer this pool to that of La Mamounia. The third reason is the in-hotel hammam/spa. It was truly exceptional in terms of ambiance, amenities and service.

My wife and I visited here on our honeymoon. We spent 4 days and had plenty to do. We participated in a class in the cooking school and made our own chicken tagine (so much fun -- and delicious). We had our first Moroccan dinner in the hotel restaurant, which has a well-deserved reputation for excellence. It was a memorable meal. The hotel jazz bar, with its barman who knows everyone, is a great place to start or end your evening.

The staff is both discrete and helpful. The front desk staff, Adil in particular, makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. They arrange local transport, excellent city guides, and outside dinner reservations that were always spot-on. Many others on this site have written about the wonderful decor of the hotel. I will add that it is both mischevious and endlessly surprising, with more and more beautiful objects set about, and one jewel-like room after another waiting to be explored. At night, the hotel glows with candle and lamplight.

The rooms are great. They are spacious and the bathrooms have completely modern and luxurious fixtures and finishes. Overall, our experience in Marrakesh was enormously enriched by our opportunity to stay at this great property. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    69
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
226
661
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our group of 7 friends were guests of this marvelous place for 3 days. Everything was meticulously delivered--food, ambience, location, staff, and the appointments within the rooms. All of our rooms had two balcony patios overlooking the large courtyard below. The food was so good that we were tempted not to bother with local restaurants. I would go back in a heartbeat, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: All of us were pleased with our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON, FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love this place. But it is not for the ordinary traveller. I love boutique hotels. Those off the main streets where you get a true flavor of the area. It is a Riad so it is an old palace in an alley. There are so many little rooms that i am still trying to figure out where everything is. The rooms are spacious with A/C, Wi Fi and TV. The beds are comfortable and the staff is very warm and friendly. However, this is not for the ritz Carleton or the Marriott crowd. Our room was a 3 floor walkup. The style is a little worn but I would definitely come back again. There is a Hamman which shouldn't be missed.
I would guess anyone going to Marrakech has to be a little adventurist so clearly this shouldn't bother them. Come here. You won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Try for a low Floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

An excellent place to stay or just have dinner or drinks. The bar area is fun and the pool-side dining was dramatic and delicious. The service was very good, the guys at the front desk were amazingly kind and helpful and the spa experience was beautifully executed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just spent 4 days at this hotel and we can't rate it highly enough. Beautiful building, with an opulent decor, very atmospheric at night with candles lighting everywhere. If you want to be in the heart of the Medina but removed from the hussle and bustle this is the place. Great food and very attentive service, I forgot my camera battery charger and the manager took it away and charged for me. For fabulous lazy days try the hotel garden on the outskirts of MARRAKECH with bali beds, a great pool and once again superb food, bit like a private party. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here on our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to relax, enjoy a Hammam treatment, have really good morroccan meals, and listen to live piano music as you enjoy a drink in their bar. The staff were all very professional and helpful.
The hotel itself should be in a guidebook as it is beautiful and very luxurious!
We needed the calm and relaxing environment after hectic shopping and trips around the city.
Quite expensive but well worth the money!
If we go back we will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Our patio side room was lovely. It's name was Badhr
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Excellent highly trained and friendly staff, very helpful and polite. We enjoyed perfect service from everyone - starting from the bell-boy and to the guys on the reception. Restaurants serve delicious food, however it should be noted that the “European” restaurant serves food prepared Moroccan style;), to be honest we didn’t see much difference between the European and Moroccan restaurants. The breakfast is ok, could use some more variety, the SPA is good.
The rooms could use slippers (we never received ours) and on-site they have only one swimming pool - an outdoor pool in close proximity to the restaurant (the eating guests sit close to it), so we saw no one during our stay using it. The indoor pool is a 15-minute trip on a shuttle bus (at least we were told so, didn’t go there).

Классный отель, в морроканском стиле. Мы были первыми русскими, кто посетил его за год, т.е. наших соотечественников мало/нет. Бассеин на самом деле один - около ресторана, особо не поплаваешь, до нормального бассеина 15 минут на бесплатном автобусе, мы не ездили. Сервис на очень высоком уровне. Рекомендуем.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.