We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in the Arab World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Arabe to your Saves list
La Maison Arabe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$ 150 off, and more...
Ranked #8 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“first time in the Arab World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was my first time and my first night in the Arab World. After a 20 hour journey La Maison Arab was everything I hoped for. Perfect sized boutique hotel with the faultless service you'd expect from a larger 5 star group. The Hotel was perfectly located, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the rooms offered character and ambience, i felt relaxed and taken care of as soon as I arrived.

Room Tip: Go for a room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    71
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
232
687
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I had an excellent time. The service was perfect, the staff was kind and helpful, the decor was enchanting and the food and cooking lessons were superb. I will definitely go back and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at La Maison Arabe during a 3 day excursion to Morrocco. In the heart of Marrakech it is central to the markets, medina and tourists sights. We experienced temperatures of 43 dgrees during the day but the hotel was so inviting, cool, and calming. A beautiful pool made the stay more enjoyable. The ambience, meals, room decor, staff and facilities were fantastic. Would definitely recommend to anybody seeking a great place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We picked La Maison Arabe for a three-night stay in Marrakech, and the hotel and city were the high point of our trip. I can't say enough about what an oasis of calm and luxury this hotel is! We were treated like royalty by the staff. We had a room (not a suite) and it was spacious, very well appointed, and was our 'palace' for our stay in Morocco. Everyone we met on the staff was warm and helpful. We had mint tea brought to the room, and the staff delivered fresh flowers for Paige. We ate most of our meals in the hotel -- breakfasts were outstanding, with fresh yogurt, fruit, eggs, rolls/pastries, and coffee (though I missed American-style coffee...). Dinner was a choice of two restaurants -- we opted for the one serving Moroccan, French, and Asian. There's another with a fixed-price Moroccan menu we didn't try. Meals were excellent and unhurried. The hotel's common areas, including the restaurant, were all beautifully decorated - I must have taken a hundred photos. I signed up for the cooking class (recommended if you want to learn to cook Moroccan food like tagines) and Paige did the hammam treatment. The location was within fairly easy walks of most of the old city's hotspots, but beware of getting lost -- everyone we spoke with did at first. There's an excellent piano lounge in the hotel (with a colorful bartender). We also spent one afternoon at the hotel's 'country club', a short shuttle ride away, with a pool and food service. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel -- it's like a riad in terms of local authenticity and atmosphere, but large enough to offer great dining and more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley du Loir
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We didn’t stay at the Maison Arabe but we were there most days for a spa treatment, meal, drink or cookery course.

The cookery course was brilliant, we all managed to cook wonderful dishes and it was a real highlight of our Marrakech trip. The restaurant and jazz bar are also excellent. The one downside was our visit to their hammam. It all looks very pretty with candles burning in glass holders all around the dark, steaming hammam, although a little risk management would suggest that glass, flames and steam are a dangerous combination. We paddled, naked through the shallow water on the hammam floor and my husband and I each sat down on a bench. I felt a twinge in my finger and when I looked down, there was blood pouring down my hand. I then started looking around the bench and floor and there were shards of glass everywhere. I told the masseuse that we were leaving and that we wanted to use the other hammam. I then carefully led my husband out as he is blind without his glasses.

The masseuse just didn’t understand what the fuss was about. She suggested that we try and pick up the pieces of glass and carry on. I was very insistent that the hammam be completely cleaned or we use the other hammam. We were offered tea while the hammam was cleaned and after about half an hour, the other hammam became free so we then had a lovely, invigorating treatment followed by a relaxing massage.

When we came to pay, a 10% service charge was added to the bill and there was no apology for the hazardous state of the hammam. We were very lucky not to have been seriously hurt.

When we were back at the Maison Arabe a couple of days later for the cookery course, we mentioned to the course leader about our dissatisfaction with the way the hammam incident had been dealt with. She was horrified and went and told the manager who immediately refunded the cost of the hammam. I hope that they no longer use glass in the hammams, but if they do, please be careful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taftaf, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our cooking class and the service you received in our restaurant and Jazz Bar. I would like to apologize as we did not meet your expectations in our SPA . We do not use no longer glass in the hammam . We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

When we arrived at this hotel I really wasn't well after coming from the mountains and the last thing I needed was a problem with the room which we got as Antatolian Sky advertise all rooms have bath and balcony or terrace,this is incorrect,anyway the hotel upgraded us for free ,they couldn't do enough and this friendly "go the extra mile" attitude prevailed throughout our stay.The breakfasts were wonderful,dinner was wonderful.If I hadn't been unwell I would have loved to try the cookery school too.We did hear the mosque but we heard it in the mountains and at the coast on our tour,that is the whole point,that muslims can here the call to prayer so I don't think it is any louder here than anywhere else,occupational hazard of visiting a muslim country I suppose,ok it's early but to us it adds to the experience.The wine and flowers on arrival were a lovely touch and we truely loved Marrakech but watch out for pick pockets in the square at night and go to the artisan ensemble to get an idea of prices before you go to the souks as quite often even when you have haggled down to about 20% of the asking price it can still be too much compared to the fixed prices at the artisan,we also really enjoyed the yves st laurent gardens.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taftaf, Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests.I will share your nice comments with our team.
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
141 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was just a 'time off' 3 days on a business trip and now I can't wait to go back.

Everything was good here - the friendly and personal service, the atmosphere, the meals, the service, the hammam ...

But first the only negative and its not part of the hotel. La Maison Arabe is very close to a major mosque and the ~dawn call to prayer, and the PRE-call to prayer before that will wake you several times before 6am. I'm told that its hard to escape anywhere in Marrakesh (at least) but here you can rely on being woken. But it wasn't sufficient to offset an otherwise great time, even though noise is one of my major issues in hotels.

The general atmosphere is welcoming, cosy and very Moroccan; fresh roses and rose petals on water features, cool courtyards, clubby lounges, all serene and charming.

The eating options are superb. Breakfast is served by the pool on a terrace and was delicious (fresh fruits, yoghurt with honey, pastries ... you get the idea). In the evening you can relax in a cozy bar with piano player, a good wine list and attentive staff.

Rooms are well appointed and stylish; beds are a bit hard in the Arab style, but not too bad.

The in-house hammam was a bit expensive, but worth it to totally unwind.

Basically a marvelous experience, but unless you are an early riser, take ear plugs.

Room Tip: Stairs can be an issue for the less mobile - ask about access if this is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taftaf, Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to hear that you were "WOWED" during your stay at La Maison Arabe. I will share your nice comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.