We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly for location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Central Palace
Save
You added Hotel Central Palace to your Saves list
59 Sidi Bouloukate Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strictly for location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel is right off the main strip from the night market. As a result, very noisy so you will need ear plugs if you want to sleep. There is all night or early morning noise from people talking and hanging out in the alleyways around the hotel.

Room: Not very clean. Bedding dirty. No towels or supplies. Had to ask for towels.
Bathroom/ Toilets: Not very clean.

This is a place where you get what you pay for. Would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is about a two and a half minute walk down the street from Djemaa El Fna, but neither of the two rooms in which we have stayed have been loud. Pretty small rooms, not much larger than the beds, but we only used the rooms for sleeping, so that was fine. One of the rooms had a slight smell, but I left a window open (it had bars in case you’re the safety conscious type) and it was no problem. The hotel is very clean, pretty though by no means fancy, and had a great wifi connection. I paid 250 Dirhams a night for a room with a toilet and shower (same price for 1 or 2 people sharing the room, which isn’t always the case in Morocco), which in Marrakech is a very good price, especially so close to Djemaa El Fna. The people who work at the reception desk are very friendly. Other commenters have mentioned concerns with leaving their key at the front desk – we just never handed it in when we left during the day and they never gave us any problem about it (that meant that our room was not cleaned during the day, but we didn’t really care about that). If we are looking for a no-frills, reasonably priced hotel in the Marrakech medina, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've stayed in the Central Palace numerous times during 10 visits to Marrakech. It's not luxurious but it is clean and considering it's location on the edge of the Djema el Fna and 2minutes walk from the souks it is great value.
Latifa at reception is a friendly host and they also organise day trips to the nearby Cascade D'Ouzoud or the mountains as well as longer trips to the desert. On one visit with a group of friends we booked the 3 day trip to Merzouga taking in the Dades Gorge & Ait Behnadou and were looked after superbly by our driver. 3 days and nights including food, accommodation, camels etc for something like €60 each. The sunburn was free.
Like a lot of places in Morocco great value can be had, an a little more authenticity, staying in a local place that's maybe a little rough around the edges. I would recommend the Central Palace to anyone who wants a convenient, safe, clean & friendly neighbourhood hotel without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_road5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

On our return from Taghia we stayed for one night at Central palace, we left our excess luggage at the hotel and went on a 3 day camel tour, on our return we stayed for 3 more days.
Rooms where clean, price was ok. 250DM (25 Eur.) for one night in a room with shower, breakfast was very good for a price of 25DM! (2,5 Eur.) Personnel was very helpful, if u don't plan to spend your vacation in a hotel room this is excellent option, and yes it's ONE minute walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vedran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

A friend and myself arrived in Marrakesh by train after spending a week in Rabat and Dar Bouazza. I had read about Hotel Central Palace on Lonely Planet and decided to give it a whirl. Because of budget constraints we stayed in a double room without toilet or shower. There was a sink in our room. I did not mind going the shower on our floor to save the extra money.

The room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. I think they clean their floors about 5 times day. Check in was very fast and the receptionist spoke good English. As other reviewers have indicated they give you a big block of wood with the key on it. My friend and I never dropped it off at the desk when we left for the souks.Instead we would keep it in our purse.

The hotel was just a short walk to the main square. It was a nice haven to come back to after spending a long day in the souks. The hotel had a couple men keeping watch to make sure unwanted people would not enter the hotel. I felt very safe. We ate at the cafe upstairs several times during our stay and the waiter was very friendly with us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolastars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here twice, at the start and end of our trip, for a total of 8 nights. The first room included shower and toilet. Whilst it's nice to have a private toilet, the showers are right over the top so after showering, it takes a whole day for the toilet to dry (in winter). The second time around, we took just a room with a bed, and shared facilities (which were maintained well and always clean). At 155dh per night (15 euros), this was an absolute bargain. Toilet paper is supplied generously, however they seem to often run out of towels.

The location, right next to the Djemma el Fna, meant we could have as many adventures as we liked without hassle. However, though many reviewers have mentioned how noisy it was, it didn't bother us at all.

Rooms were very clean, beds fairly old but comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone after a cheap, clean, central and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessBella67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Folow LP direction but before taking this hotel make some other viewings around. There are a lot of cheap hotels in this perfect location.

Good location, nice roof terrace, but the noise during the night (from outside and inside) won't let you rest after hot and busy Marrakech day. The last night there I couldn't sleep at all and I had to take my 8 am. flight back to Madrid and later that day to Dublin without a minute of sleep.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are cooler but noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadas_juozonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#266 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#317 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#258 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#379 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#93 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#117 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Palace

Address: 59 Sidi Bouloukate Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Palace Marrakech
Central Palace Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing