We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice garden and pool area, at a bargain price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amine

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #365 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice garden and pool area, at a bargain price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was our first visit to Marrakech. I understood we had a choice of old town, riads down dark alleys, noise and pollution or new town Western type Hotels serving alcohol. The Amine was new town and was just OK, proberly our 1 or 2 star, but it was cheap with a nice relaxing garden pool area. Nobody bothered us. There was a bus stop right outside to the El Fna square but the buses was mostly full. Lots of Taxi's around to go anywhere. There was a man with a minibus outside the hotel that doubled as a illegal taxi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    130
    128
    92
    86
See reviews for
99
152
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I have just spent the last 5 nights in this hotel. I have to say it has to be one of the most pleasent hotels i have stayed in for a very long time. On arrival we were greeted with big smiles. The man behind the desk spoke good understandable english, which was very helpful. The porter carried our bags to the room, we obviously gave him a tip. (I always find if you tip, you get a great servies, which we did. And it was only a few pennies) The rooms were clean and tidy, with a balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel is far enough from the main road that noise is not too much of an issue. The toilets were clean, and every day our beds were changed with clean sheets and towells. Breakfast was a mix of moroccan and French breakfast, lots of bread, boiled eggs, fruit and lovely mint tea. I have to admit, after 5 days, the breakfast is the same each time which can get boring, but all of it was tasty and well prepped.
When wanted to book tours, the men behind the counter were so helpful, explaining the prices, arranging buses to pick us up from the hotel, and he would pick up the phone while we were standing there and book everything for us. And every trip we booked through the hotel ran so smoothly. The pick ups were ontime, and exactly as explained. Obviously the hotel get a commision for booking tours, but they even advised us not to do a certain one, as it would be a waste of time. They even advised us on how much we should pay for the local buses, and how much taxi's would cost, so that we would not be ripped off. I cannot explain how helpful everyone at the hotel was. All the cleaners and maids always smiled and said hello everywhere we went.

The location of the hotel was a great advantage aswell. It was far enough away from the main centre of town, that it was not too full of people at night. It ws also close enough, that a 5 minute local bus journey only took 4 minutes into the markets. The bus stop is just across the road from the hotel, and only costs about 30p. Much cheaper that getting a taxi. And we wouldnt have known all of this if the hotel staff hadnt told us. the hotel is also located near lots of lovely restaurants which serve lots of moroccan and british food.

All i can say is i am recommending my family to use this hotel. Nothing went wrong, the breakfast was great, the staff were brilliant, so helpful. I would recommend anyone to go here.

Obviously, if you are looking for a British 4* hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for somewhere to sleep in the evenings, watch a bit of TV, and are on a budget, this is the best place to stay. Who spends the whole holiay in the hotel anyway?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

This is the worse hotel I've stayed in. It is close to a main road and a car jetwasher where the noise is quite intrusive. Although the rooms were clean, we only had one shower due to the poor state of the shower and curtain Yuk! At breakfast the staff were only interesting on feeding and watering themselves and taking no notice of the guests. Most of the staff were rude. The breakfast was very basic. There were no tourist brochures, no advise about Marakesh - only if we wanted a taxi. Although I wouldn't necesarily expect one in the room, I would have thought that they would have a hair drier to loan, but no. TV had only two english channels; BBC World News and Eurosport. Blaring dance music at the poolside. Food in the evening was not bad, although left over rolls from guests tables were saved and used for other guests and not thrown away, despite using the same plate to dispose of our skewers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We arrived in Marrakech late at night and due to the tiredness it seemed that the hotel was fine but as time progressed the stay at the hotel turned out to be a disaster!! At breakfast there was ants in the bread basket which really put me off!!! The pool was very large which was nice but due to the many trees and flowers there were dead insects and leaves floating on the water's surface constantly. There was a constant stench in th bathroom because the cleaners didn't come often, the phone in the bedroom was broken and didnt work and even when we complained to the reception they still didnt fix it, there was no fridge in the room so even for a cup of tea we needed to use UHT milk bought from the local supermarket called Aseema, there were holes in the mattress and lots of stains. The taxi drivers outside the hotel sweet talked us at first but soon began to rip us off. The location isn't bad and there is a McDonalds very close by that has a children's play area....the other McDonalds is near the town shopping area. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Amine and were pleasantly surprised at how clean and friendly it was. People have written very negative things about it of which we did not find. Other British guests also has good things to say about it. The pool although cold was very clean and refreshing, in well kept gardens. Our room was very clean with fresh towels everyday. The hotel is a little way out , but the number 1 bus is regular and cheap at 3.5 dh per person each way. It stops on the other side of the road opposite the petrol station next to the hotel. You will know when you get to the square, and you get the bus back to hotel at the same stop where you get off. If you want to visit the Atlas Mountains by private Taxi stress where and what you want to do. If not you will be taken to shops and restaurants where they want to take you. We were lucky and had a very good experience paying 500dh for 3 of us. Others were not so lucky spending more than necessary on food, gifts and guides. The hop on hop off bus tour is a good day out and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights having booked through a reputable high street travel agent requesting minimum 4 star. Arriving in the evening we found reception was unfriendly - no eye contact let alone a greeting but very keen to be tipped - and very little information available in English.
The room was basic. Beds ok apart from rock hard pillows. Walls and doorways grubby and shabby. In the bathroom we had a cracked basin, broken flush handle on toilet, bath plug didn't reach plug hole so no baths possible. Shower had no workable wall fixture. Hot water some days if you get up early! Bidet stained and grubby. Bath itself stained and cracked.
Breakfast was a joke. Bread and croissants. Some days you could warm them. Some days you couldn't. Very basic selection of food. Meat looked liked shredded spam. Coffee awful. Lighting flourescent in this dingey room. Table cloths dirty. Cutlery bent. Cups almost all chipped. Plates dishwashered to death. Broken chairs.
The bar was a joke too. Some times no white wine. Sometimes no red. Sometimes one beer and then none left. No apologies. Decor in bar was shabby. Scuffed chipped paintwork. Dirty surfaces. A brass rail along the bar covered in fingermarks. Arm rests on chairs sticky and grubby.
The whole experience was depressing from day one. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Just had 21 days at this hotel. I found the food very basic .Not nice and allways cold.
I was on half board. I was sick for 3 days.After that i went out to eat.

Brian.
From redditch.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amine

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amine 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.