We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for - A Bar with no alcohol” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amine to your Saves list
Hotel Amine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for - A Bar with no alcohol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Good: Very helpful staff with a good understanding of English. Pool is stunning but understandably very cold still. The no 1 Bus literally stops across the road and costs 4 Dirham to get to the Medina area and the main square. The breakfast is what I expected having been to Morocco before. Bread, tomatoes, cucumber, olives, jam, croissants, tea, coffee, orange juice. Especially nice was the home made pancakes with honey.

The Bad: The hotel is alcohol free. There are signs saying no food or drink can be brought into the hotel, but reception will tell you to bring in what you want, but you must drink in your room, not by the pool, they will come and tell you off.
Needs painting and a lot of TLC.
It is freezing at night! Unpleasantly so.
I must have been there with the last reviewer :) The dog from the garage next door would bark every 5-10 mins up to 1.30am. Cleaning staff make enough noise in the morning to wake me up at 7am, so not much sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side to the garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    134
    134
    94
    86
See reviews for
99
157
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel is not 5 star its more like 1 star the rooms were very cold and no heating they need to get new beds and new bedding the towels were gray it all needs a good lick of paint and a good clean. There was a dog that lived in the garage next to the hotel that bark most of the night. i was very disappointed there was no Bar.breakfast was bad the orange juice was yuck and the mint tea was full of sugar they had to many sweet stuff. There were no coat hangers the TV dident work. Husband had to have a hot bath twice in one night just to get warm .We were booked in for a week but after 2 days decided to go to Agadir then spend the last night in the AMINE hotel before flying home

Room Tip: Go To Agadir
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel does not deserve the negative reviews is it getting, it is a beautiful hotel with a spa,pool and wonderful gardens. It also has free wifi in the lounge and if you give the waiters a small tip ( about 10 deerams- which equals 80pence in English pounds!) you will get your breakfast brought too you instead of having to go around getting it yourself.
The only place I can fault this hotel is the rooms. The rooms are slightly un-modernised(but it's morocco what do you expect???!)
A taxi from the hotel to madina is 2 - 5 euros and you can get a free bus to the water park ( you do have to pay to get in though! ) the water park is very good and has resonable slides and swimming area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Amine does not deserve the negative reviews written about it. I stayed there from the 22nd - 25th Jan 2014. The hotel staff were incredibly polite, helpful and welcoming. There were no language barriers and I felt very much at home at this hotel. This is a cheap hotel with regards to price, but not in regards of amenities or rooms! I wish the hotel all the best in the future and I will be retuning there!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent 2 enjoyable nights and consider it was a fair deal, considering the price.
The infrastructure is quite old but everything is generally functional.
Breakfast was alright, with enough variety but no fruit regrettably.
It was further from the centre than what we thought (around 45min).
There was some intermittent noise during the night by the room, that seemed to come from the pipes (or boiler room).
There's a cash machine just outside the hotel.
Wi-fi works better in the bar but you may have to inhale some unwanted smoking smell.

Room Tip: ask about noises from the pipes/boiler during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Now I'm not generally one to write reviews but I think my holiday to Marrakech over Christmas 2013 deserves an exception. After reading very negative reviews about both this hotel and Lowcostholidays.com and preparing for the worst, I was pleasantly surprised.

Now this hotel is by no means a 5*, however considering we got it pretty cheap I wasn't expecting it to be. Our room was a 4 people family room and a great size. Our heating was not working but the staff at reception made sure we were comfortable, providing portable heaters and extra blankets also offering to give us another room.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly- anything you need they will get done. The reception guy also speaks good English which was useful to find out local attractions and routes.

The pool area is lovely and relaxing, though the pool wasn't used whilst we were there as the water was freezing! As for the food, it is pretty basic to be honest. Nothing really fancy, but simple Moroccon food.

The only issue for us was the distance to the old Medina. It is a 40 minute walk to the Djema al Fena square and about 15 minute taxi ride.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Amine and I think it deserved a good review after all the negative comments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

You get what you pay for. At less than £13.00 p.p.p.n half board, perfect for a budget holiday. The hotels tired and could do with modernisation but it was cheap, cheerful and clean. If you visit in the winter months please be aware rooms were very cold and could have benefited from a new heating system. If I went there again, I'd take a small blow heater. However what you save in hotel costs you may lay out in taxi fares as it's a good walk from the main square and mosque. Taxi fees varied from about £3 - £5 each way but if that's not your main concern, it's fine. Breakfast was nothing special but it was good food which filled you up. Staff were particular helpful (we took a 91 year old with us) especially if you tip well, which is the custom.

Room Tip: Rooms were pretty much all the same. Rooms on the front of the hotel benefited from winter sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amine

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amine 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.