We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AT YOUR PERIL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amine

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Hythe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“STAY AT YOUR PERIL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel looks fine from the outside, and I'm a great believer in "you get what you pay for" but ...
UNPLEASANT stench of stale cigarettes permeating the building.
UNHELPFUL receptionist: on our arrival at 21.45 stating dining room closed (22.00 on hotel details), advising two female guests that it was safe to walk to nearby shop to buy snacks, where we were mugged at knifepoint.
UNACCEPTABLE level of hostility and lack of sympathy from receptionist when we reported said mugging, stating we shouldn't have worn shoulder bags but only carried cash in our pockets.
UNEATABLE food in the dining room (or as we renamed it, the dungeon) unless parties of Japanese tourists staying, when it improved marginally.
UNDENIABLY stupid of me not to have taken heed of the many bad reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor prior to booking a package with last minute.com.
UNDOUBTEDLY never returning to Marrakech, and to warn as many travellers as possible not to stay at the Hotel Amine.

Room Tip: If you are foolish enough to stay here, choose a third floor room with pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    130
    130
    92
    86
See reviews for
99
153
68
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed 20 to 27 January. Arrived 2130 hrs first night but no food provided. Next day supper consisted of anorexic chicken. Lived on bread and cold stewed coffee for breakfast each day and very little choice of anything decent for supper. Patio door draughty. Very good hotel if you want to loose weight. Staff not very friendly except for one member of security staff and cleaners. Fitness or shop not open. Don't waste your money on this hotel.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are very dark and cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, unfortunately I read a review after we had booked it saying it was "The Fawlty Towers" of Morocco, this was so true.
We managed to stay 1 night but could not do anymore. The best part of the hotel is the pool and Gardens. Inside it is very dated and shabby, dirty towels, ripped towels, dirty rooms, cold and very dingy. We went in January and the evenings were chilly, the heating in the hotel didnt come on till 7.00 pm, we had to eat, in the basement restaurant, wearing our outdoor coats, there were some people there with gloves and hats on.
Food was very basic and most the staff, apart from maybe 2 were rude, it was as if they didnt care.
If this was rated as a 2 star hotel and you were paying 2 star prices then there would not be a problem but they have branded this hotel a 4 star. We moved the next day to a genuine 4 star hotel and the difference was huge.

Room Tip: Don't Go to this Hotel, Opera Plaza Hotel was lovely, beautiful rooms, great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we stayed here 5 -14 jan2013, first room allocated was small, smelly, and shabby, loose fittings, bare electric wires.
we complained next morning, and soon had a better room, on 3rd floor overlooking pool, a sewer smell came from heating at times, the water ran brown at times. The corridors and stairs leading to rooms are very poorly lit at nights
the food was basic, french bread sticks cut up, salad, cheap cornflakes and sweet pastries for breakfast. Dinner changed from buffet to table service after 2 days, portions very small, lots of tough meat, tasteless cous cous or smash potato, all very bland, dry cake and biscuits for dessert. staff not that helpful, better service if you constantly tip,
the city is noisy ,busy and full of pushy stall holders, lots of animal cruelty in square, not my kind of holiday at all, amine hotel does not have a friendly atmosphere and marrakech is a mucky place .

Room Tip: if you can speak french, will smarm round waiters and other staff you may just enjoy this place, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've travelled to many places and this is the worst hotel I've been to. It was so bad it was almost comical. On arrival I tried to take a bath but the water was a disturbing shade of brown. The night temperature was around 6 degrees but the heating didn't work. We were given a twin room instead of a double and when we asked to be moved were told the hotel was full (it had 20% occupancy at most). The 'room service' was only available at selected times, the wi fi limited to the cold lobby and the gym shut for 'repairs' (despite another guest apparently having only come out of it a couple of hours before) !

The worst bit was the food. Breakfast was just about edible but very limited. Our great mistake was that we booked half board. The evening meal was meant to be a buffet and for the first few days it was, albeit the worst buffet I'd ever experienced. On the morning I departed for the mountains I came down for breakfast at 6.45 only to find nothing prepared (it was meant to be open at 6). On returning from the mountains the buffet had disappeared and was replaced by a set menu. It was so limited we ate it and then went next door to a restaurant to complete our evening meal ! Three times I asked for coffee with my evening meal and was told I could only acquire it in the bar (despite that fact that it was available at breakfast).

The staff were far from helpful or friendly and the only reason I have given it two stars instead of one is that the room was at least clean. Also, the pool area would be nice in summer but in January only the brave or foolhardy would venture in. I never saw Basil but am sure he was in a back office somewhere directing operations.

I wasn't expecting much as it was cheap but I've experienced so much more at the same price. An eclectic mix of hotel guests dulled the pain but overall very poor.

Room Tip: Just stay for the room - don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff are incredibly unhelpful-there is no one to complain to as their manager is no where to be found and no one knows when she will be coming to work either!
Air condition/heating system is not only poor but is noisy and rather then cool or warm air you get aired with a horrible smell. Food lacks variety and often stale and night before food on offer!
for me its important to have a friendly atmosphere in a hotel but this one did not deliver in its customer service. Would not recommend, the pool is the only thing going for it.

Room Tip: would not recommend full stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

large hotel with series of courtyards - so quite cold with breezes flowing freely. Staff were quite freindly. Helped us get a very good guide to tour the city and souks. Howvere for day trips better to book via travel agent offices just outside hotel or 200 yards to the left of main enterence. This will be 25% cheaper than booking via hotel.

Taxis back to airport were arranged with no difficulty - at 100 dinar flat rate.

Hoever old and not well maintained building.

Food was very monotonous and was tagines and couscous every day - in our half board package. Better to haveB&B and take dinner from any nearbye resteraunt - one just next door.

Lovely ceilings in the 2 lobbies based on palace in old city.

Room Tip: higher foors facing pool and gardens are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amine

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amine 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.