We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, with lovely gardens and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amine to your Saves list
Hotel Amine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #367 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money, with lovely gardens and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed here for 8 nights with my husband in the middle of June 2011. We paid a cheap price for staying in the hotel and because of this were not expecting too much. However we feel it was very good value for the money. Although parts of the hotel look a little tired, the bedroom was clean and kept that way throughout our stay. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the nice, good sized pool. Each morning a small army of cleaners cleaned the area around the pool and deckchair areas and the rest of the hotel was kept very clean. We spent a couple of days by the pool (because we were a tad tired from all the walking we did!),and saw that there were always spare deck chairs to lie on. The pool was great, apart from a rubber dingy that was really to big for the size of the pool that was being used by some children and it did bump into a few people in the pool. The room was quite basic, but clean. The shower worked well,although the water was sometimes a little cool. However a welcome relief after a very hot day in the sun. There did seem to be of a restriction on the number of toilet rolls left in the bathroom. A bit of an inconvenience if you have a bit of a funny tummy. However we managed to source some from the toilets near the reception! The breakfast items varied depending on the time visited. Breakfast was available between 7am and 10am and we visited it somedays just after 7 (due to going on trips), and others as late as 9.30am. On the whole, there was a good choice of food - croissants, cheese, ham, eggs, pancakes (made while you wait), cereals (on occasion), fresh fruit and orange juice. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The hotel is quite a distance from the medina, but we just walked everywhere, although you could get a taxi quite easily from outside the hotel as we usually got asked if we wanted one. There is a cash point just outside the hotel on the main road (just to the left of the hotel) and a supermarket about 15 minutes walk away, towards the railway station. Although the hotel is on a main road, when sitting by the pool, it is very relaxing, with lovely gardens and you soon forget the tooting of horns and manic traffic, which is the norm in Morrocco. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Amine. For someone who doesn't mind staying on the outskirts of Marrakech and are on a budget - the Hotel Amine would be ideal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    134
    135
    94
    86
See reviews for
99
158
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

i stayed there in july 2010.it was brilliant , nice staff, nice rooms . if anyone says it is rubbish ignorer them! because they are wrong .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Considering how little we paid for our holiday this hotel was excellent. It was clean, comfortable and had good facilities.

The only downside was that we needed to take taxis to get to the centre. That said, it was still far cheaper than staying in the medina so if you're trying to keep costs down it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu1982
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Myself and my mum have just returned from a week at the Amine.
It was our first time to Morrocco and we weren't sure what to expect. When we pulled up to the hotel it had a grand entrance with a huge stone arch and different nationalities flags, we had a quick and friendly greeting and we were shown to our room with our bags carried for us.
The room itself was a nice size, we had a balcony over looking the pool and it was very clean. It was slightly dark and it did get quite hot in there but it is Morocco! The only thing we would have changed is to have a fridge in the room but its a small ask really.
I loved the feel and decor of the hotel it was very authentic and rustic morrocan, the couches in the lounge were really comfortable and the bar was cozy,

We went down to breakfast and were greeted by smiles the breakfast was lovely a continental feast with french bread, pastries, jams, cheese, ham, salad, tea, coffee, orange juice and even a lady making fresh pancakes with honey, more than enough to set you up for the day. You can sit inside or outside on the terrace, the gardens are really well kept with lovely colourful flowers so its a great place to sit and relax. We also found out you could have breakfast in the room so on the last day we phoned and ordered and for no extra cost were brought a feast which we enjoyed with the birds on the balcony.

The pool area was fantastic it got the sun all day and had really comfortable cushions to lie on, the pool boy was really friendly and it was a good place to meet people.
The Amine did attract a few 'characters' while we were staying there but they just added to our entertainment : ) We also used the hotel spa and Attika is worth a visit just for the fun of it as she is great so funny and makes you feel welcome. We had a hammam and scrub and I have never felt so clean, its also a good thing to do before getting a tan!

The hotel location is a short walk (5-10 mins) to Mohammed Avenue which is the main avenue that leads to the Medina, this has lots of places to eat and shop and is the area called gueliz which is the new town. We recommend Charly's Cabana if you want a meal with alcohol as well it is just off the first main cross roads you come to on the right hand side and has a light up blue sign. Also on the same road as the hotel past the shell garage there is a great place for cheap eats (can't remember the name) that is red and black and open fronted, a good bar to try the local Houka is called Face Coffee and is also two minutes from the hotel. There is a great little kiosk up from face coffee on the left hand side its a hole in the wall and they sell water etc but do great nuts and sweets to and great prices.

It was a good hour walk to the medina so we used to get a cab 20-30 dh for two people 40-50dh for four.

I found the hotel fun, friendly and helpful it was fantastic value for the price we paid and our little oasis in the Marrakech Madness, we would definately stay there again and I have already recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our first impression of Hotel Amine was not favourable as we had arrived in the evening and the corridors are very poorly lit.
Although the cleaners were friendly and appeared to be busy, I think they need to hire more cleaners as there was a fine layer of grime over the wood work and it appears that the hotel has not had a deep-clean in years. Overall, the hotel needs a lick of paint and definitely needs new bathrooms. If you have already booked to stay at this hotel, try and get a suite or at least a double room as the rooms with twin beds are smaller and grubbier. Although the beds sheets seemed clean but the blankets and bedspread irritated our skin and probably needed airing.
We only ate breakfast there and the only item I found edible was the Moroccan flat bread which was freshly made at the cooking station near the main entrance to the breakfast room. The internet access is a joke – it consists of 1 working p.c. (the other one was not working) which was out-dated 15 years ago and even then, the staff were unable to connect to the internet and we had to give up and use an internet cafe. I had booked the holiday over the phone at the last minute and not researched the hotel. Had I known what the hotel was like, I would have been happy to pay a little more to stay in clean, comfortable surroundings.
On a positive note, the hotel is conveniently located with a frequent bus service to the medina and we found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegmat
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My photos will show this hotel up for its shoddiness.

The staff do not speak English. This hotel caters only for the French tourists. Everything is written in French, even the warning signs around the pool.
Television channels are all in French and Arabic, only English channel is BBC News
Air Conditioners in all rooms not working.
Dodgy light switches.
The Gym is not equipt with any Machines.
The Pedicurist was non existant
The Breakfast is Cold , Olives , tomatoes, cereal, coffee tea orange juice. Croissantes
Bread rolls. Maroccan style pancakes.
Our Twin room was dirty with broken glass under the bed. The toilet seat did'nt fit and when sitting the seat would fall forward and hit you in the back.

Mohammed the waiter was lovely and brought our breakfast to our room .

Room Tip: for peaceful sleep dont overlook pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Myself & my friend stayed at the Amine hotel Last week (11th - 18th May)..I really dont know how or why there are so many complaints about this place!..If your not paying top prices for your holiday then why would you expect a top hotel?!?!..We had a great time here and i myself shall be coming again!..
We arrived in the morning around 11am and were greeted by a very nice and friendly guy called Mohammed, who spoke very good english, he was very helpful and we were taken to our rooms straight away!..Our room was fine..it was large, clean, had a balcony and we had a beautiful pool view!..Yes maybe the decor is a little dated but it was of moroccon style and i thought was quite nice..and yes, the bathroom had a little damp in it, ..but it didnt bother me or my friend atall!!..We both said that at the end of the day, were not here to stay all day in our rooms and as long as its clean then thats fine..which it was!..The maids came every day to change the towels, new loo rolls, clean the room etc, so we could fault that either!
We stayed on a half board basis and the food in the evening is buffet style & was very nice, plenty of it and i have to say..the vegetables are lovely!!..The breakfast are fine, plenty of breads, pastries, tomatoes, cheese, eggs, olives, cereals, fruit, freshly made pancakes every morning, and fresh orange juice..so why are people complaining?..you wouldnt eat all that in the mornings in the u.k!!!..All the waiters were very friendly towards us and couldnt do enough for us!..we were made to feel very welcome..Also around the pool bar area the staff were lovely and very friendly..( i think maybe they thought were were 2 crazy english girls because all we did was laugh, laugh, and laugh for the whole week!!)..But we were relaxed and enjoying our time there so that is a compliment to the hotel and its staff really..
The hotel itself is in a great situation, its just a quick bus ride into Jemma Al Fna..The main square, and is only 3 dirham 50..(about 25p!)..and the bustop is more or less right opposite the hotel...Jemma Al Fna is a great place to go at night, such a great atmosphere and plenty of things going on to keep you entertained!!
All in all, we had a great week there..i would recommend this hotel to my friends who want a cheaper holiday and arnt expecting anything too grand with the accomodation..its in a good location, the staff were all very friendly and polite to us both and also helpful!..Its clean, food is fine and the pool area is just beautiful!!!!!..What more do you want on a budget hol??...Thanks to all the staff there, i hope we didnt give you too much of a headache with all our laughing!!!!!...Will see you again!!..x

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amine

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amine 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.