We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it... Great central location in the heart of all the action!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ali

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ali
Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #371 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Love it... Great central location in the heart of all the action!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stay here every time I'm in Marrakesh as the location is one of the best. Right in the heart of all the action and only a short walk away from everything you need. I first stayed here back in 2006 and things have not changed much (in a good way) A few miner upgraded, but its still to be regarded as a basic/ budget hotel. The prices have gone up steadily over the years BUT as with everything in morocco the price IS negotiable. We paid 300 Dirham for 3 people in a room that had 4 single beds. The rooms are basic but cleaned every day and the toilets have great showers with hot water 24-7. Bathroom is private! It can be a bit noisy as you are right in the heart of the Madina and off the famous square. The roof top terrace is a one of the best (highest) as it overlooks the square and gets sun from sunrise to sunset.. Relax with a book and look down on all the hustle and bustle of the square. If you are on a real tight budget you can sleep on the room for a bargain price.. This is much better done in the summer month as winter nights can get cold. Winter is also low season so Hotel Ali will have a lot of empty rooms that you can negotiate a price that suits you both. DO NOT feel bad about asking for a discount.. This is Morocco!! There are lots of hotels in the area and you can easily walk from one to another looking at rooms and asking there best price. Although this can get frustrating as 'guides' will be hassling you every step of the way trying to take you to the "perfect" hotel. Iv had a look at a lot of the hotels in the area and always find Hotel Ali perfect for a base to explore Marrakesh and morocco. FREE FAST WiFi is also available on the ground and first floor. They have a good restaurant (breakfast, lunch & dinner) and breakfast is included in all room prices. Its basic but it fills you up!! In the summer they have a buffet dinner on the roof for a set price and its highly recommended!
Over all this is a fantastic place to stay and a bargain can still be had if you negotiate a price. Even if you don't stay here you can leave you bags at the hotel for 5 dirams for 24hrs (handy if your going on a shorts overnight trip e.g toubkal and don't want to cart all your stuff around with you) and enjoy the free wifi ohhh and they also have two toilets on the roof, so if your in the square and in need of a clean toilet then trek up the set of three floors to the roof and you will find them right in-front of you.
I highly recommend this place, but please don't expect anything fancy... This is morocco and you are right in the Madina (center). If your looking for luxury then look elsewhere, but if your looking for a fantastic location, great service, clean rooms and hot water then this is the place for you. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    46
    17
    21
See reviews for
14
29
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Within 2mins walking from the square at 350dh (£30ish) a night for a double room breakfast Inc. Allso has a little restrant/cafe which is the only wifi spot we found. We had a problem with the lock on our door (would not open) but within an hour the man had kicked it in and we were moved to a better room. All in all , it did what it said on the tin, cheap, friendly, clean, safe and central.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Reading the reviews, I think its only reviewed as what is it, a budget hotel. For £12 a night including breakfast it can not be reviewed as a 5* hotel. But it was fab, my room was clean, the en suite was good, nice touch as towels were provided, breakfast was more than sufficient. The location was Amazing...perfect spot. Sitting up in the roof terrace over looking Jemaa El -fna was wonderful. The staff were also incredibly friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate recommending Hotel Ali.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is a reasonably decent budget hotel located at the heart of the main square. it is very safe and staff very friendly. The hotel rooms are basic and clean. Remember you can choose to select a different room if you dont like the one they allocate you. Food is decent as well. I have stayed there a couple of times and will definitely recommend the place for solo trasvellers as well as couples and families
You can also find some good hotels located within the same area on this website:

http://www.discountedtravels.co.uk/Hotels.aspx

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport, s. wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

I stayed in Hotel Ali for 10 days in late Nov. this year, rooms are a little shabby, and there was a faint drain smell, otherwise, the place was fine. Only 200 mad. per night, can't do much better in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Ali as a solo traveler and my first impression was one of relief and happiness as the woman at the front desk was so kind, spoke english, and was incredibly helpful. She made my stay pleasant. My room was small and there was a bit of a bad smell coming from the shower drain. As well, I got a lot of bites after sleeping there. But that might have been a one-off. The location of Hotel Ali can not be beat. It's right on the square and easy to find even as a newcomer to the city. Yes, there were a lot of flies in the dining room during breakfast but that wasn't such a big deal. Hotel Ali is good value -- I had a private room but if I went back I might stay in the dorm beds which are a really great deal. Also, the hotel has an amazing roof top deck. It's a great place to escape the city for an hour or two while still being able to watch everything that is going on.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I get fed up with people who expect too much from a basic hotel such as this is, Hotel Ali isnt 4 star, its Basic, but has everything you need, clean rooms, clean towels, FANATSTIC location, good food.
We spent 5 days there, as independant travellers, the rooms where clean, but a littel shabby sheek, the beds comfy, the toilets clean and lots of hot water.. Yes the pillows need replacing and maybe a little tlc on fixings... but hey we didnt pay for the Ritz, half board for around £20 a night .. a bargain, food was very good, tasty.. and as much as you wanted..
It was a little noisy, simple because you are on the edge of the main square, but everything quitens at midnight, there is no lift, so its a carry up to the rooms. Get yours self a outside balcony room, great views and perfect for people watching.
Yes there are a couple of pet cats, BUT they are not a problem, the staff keep them away from you. THE FOOD was basic Morrocan, tahgine, chicken, lamb, HOt and lots of it. The breakfast was hot omletes or Pancakes, basic but tasty. The reception staff VERY helpful and if you ASK for anything they try and help.. Even the coffee if you found it less hot would be replaced. JUST ASK and they will try and help.
I would recommned this hotel for travellers on a budget, who want basic clean accomodation. Enjoyed our stay...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.