We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Moroccan Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ali to your Saves list
Hotel Ali
Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #370 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Moroccan Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Greetings: We can't comment on Hotel Ali's rooms, but did want to tip everyone that the Hotel Ali serves a fantastic evening "Moroccan buffet" in their restaurant with equally tasty hand-thrown pizzas at their cafe.

Last night we enjoyed the wonderful Moroccan buffet. The lavish spread of hot tagines included couscous; mini-meatballs in tangy sauce; tagines of chicken, lamb, and vegetables; wonderful tasting rice dish with prawns and vegetables; a great-tasting grilled vegetable casserole; lentils; casseroles of carrots and fresh green beans; and a complete salad bar, and soup. Dessert nothing to talk about really, some basic cookies and/or fresh oranges.

They start serving about 19:30 and one can dine inside or at one of the small cafe tables overlooking the side show at the Fna. Price is about 90 dirhams / per person.

The hand-thrown pizzas they serve are equally fantastic. There's a large selection of pizza available for one or two persons. Once selected, your pizza is baked in a large clay oven roaring hot only feet from your table. Price for a large "Four Seasons" pizza is about 45 dirhams.

If you're looking for a great cheap place for a meal - near the Fna - look no further.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    58
    49
    19
    23
See reviews for
17
30
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

On my fourth trip to Marrakesh, we stayed at Hotel Ali, with the half board deal at £15.00 per person per day, what a great deal. Our fourth trip to Marrakesh and our forth stay in Hotel Ali. Unfortunately my brother got robbed of his passport and £400 and the management could not have helped us more, most of Morocco say if you dont speak arabic or french kind of push off, these people found us an interpurter who helped at the \Police station, Many thanks to Hotel Ali for so much help and just let us stay there when we had no money to pay the bill. congratulations to them. They go down in my memory as being just the best of Marrakesh as you could find. annette griffin

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expat in uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Stayed here in March 2010 as part of an Explore tour. The hotel is fairly grim and run down and smelly. One of the rooms were infested with creepy crawlies. Don't expect breakfast as you're risking a half cooked omlette and orange squash (that is if you get any service at all!). Excellent location for the market though, and the view from the roof terrace at night was quite good, although you risk disturbing the staff sleeping on the terrace. Head to the square for a glass of fresh orange juice for 3 dirham instead. Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

As ever I'm amazed to find some people still knocking the Ali. It isn't a 5 star hotel and it isn't advertised as such . In my opinion the Ali provides a comfortable, conveniently placed and friendly destination when you arrive in Marrakech. We stayed here about six years ago and found it just fine then and I wasn't at all disappointed with our reception this time either. It was quite wonderful to see that Mr Cedric was still in his appointed place at the front door, observing everyone who entered and left, smiling, dispensing advice and generally making people feel welcome. Yes, the bathrooms do tend to have a whiff of the drains about them, and sure, some of the rooms are a little tired but the Ali provides value for money, excellent location and a friendly place to stay. I smile to myself when I see a few reviewers advising fellow travellers to stay at one of the nearby 5 star hotels. If this is what you need then perhaps it would be better to stay home and buy a book on the country instead. For those who aren't concerned with glamour and glitz (which the Ali surely doesn't provide) I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. We stayed in amazing Riads around the country, we stopped off at some very plush establishments indeed, and each and every one of them had something different to offer - the Ali is no exception to this rule and if you stay there you'll certainly be likely to meet up with interesting people from around the world - which is part of the delight of travelling.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My first couple of nights in Morocco were spent at this hotel. My first impression when I got into my room was, "oh no, what have i done" - the room was a complete mess, and it smelt. Well it turned out they hadn't serviced the room from the previous occupant, and when I came back later in the afternoon, it was clean, and the smell was gone (apart from the mustyness). Its not the greatest hotel i've ever stayed in, but for the price, and for Moroccan cheap hotel standards, it was pretty good. Bed was ok, pillow a bit uncomfortable, and I got used to the cold shower by the second day.

As all the other reviews will tell you, the location can't be beat. This is not something to be underestimated. Late one night, some friends I met from another hotel and I were coming back to the hotel from near the square, when we got harrassed by a local who was obviously affected by drugs, and it looked a little scary at one stage. The hotel arranged for someone to escort my friends back to their hotel.

Breakfast was average, but who really cares when eating out is so cheap in Morocco anyway.

In summary, it was old and a bit grotty, but it felt safe, and was relatively clean, and a pretty reasonable price for a great location. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

...this hotel is in a good location, but is dark and quite grim...fairly rundown with crappy service. Ok for a night i suppose but you should try and barter them down from 300 dirhams (around 30 euro) a night really...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costwolds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Used this place on two occasions during an Explore tour of Morocco during Xmas and NY 2009.

The location is perfect, being on the edge of Djemaa el Fna square. This does mean you can't always get too park near it though which sometime leads to a walk of a few minutes with your bags. It's not that quiet, but if quiet's your thing then you probably shouldn't go to Morocco! Has a great roof terrace in which to get a view of the square, mosque and some fantastic sunsets!

The rooms are average for basic Morocco hotels. Not everything will work, there will be a bit of peeling plaster or paint, but generally it was clean. Beds were OK and there were plenty of extra blankets (as it gets cold at night).

Due to the place also having a Hammam on-site, there was always plenty of hot water (a luxury in basic hotels).

The breakfast was (as is the norm) bread and jam. Sometimes there were omlettes or pancakes, but it was a little sporadic in quality and timing.

The service levels were very poor when tested on a couple of occasions; before you finished your breakfast they were telling you to hurry up so they could clear the table, this happened on several occassions, but you just ignore it after a while; on our second visit the room we were given had a broken toilet (still in pieces and clearly beyond repair), but when we asked for another room we were given a "what do you want me to do about it". Luckily our Moroccon tour leader was passing at the time and a few words from him ended in us having a new room which was fine.

Overall it was an OK hotel. You get what you pay for and we were never expecting any luxuries. However, with a little work and customer service it could ba a great little place.

PS. has free Wi-Fi downstairs in the hotel

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.