We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dependent on which room you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ali to your Saves list
Hotel Ali
Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“dependent on which room you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel as part of a tour of Morocco (the hotel was not my choice). The first room I was in was really poor, lights hanging out of the ceiling, shower didn't work and the toilet leaked. However the second and third nights were in a different room and it was much better, of a standard I'd expect in a budget hotel. The breakfast isn't great - camp syrup coffee, sweetened orange juice, nasty baked goods, but staff were friendly and helpful. Apparently it's being renovated very slowly hence the difference between rooms so ask for a renovated one and you'll probably be ok but I wouldn't recommend it for anything other than location which is overlooking the main square.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated one to get functional showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tach A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ringwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Ali for 1 night before and 1 night after an Atlas Mountain trek. I guess if it had been really bad we wouldn't have gone back there after the trek! My single room on 1st stay had 3 beds in it which I never really worked out why and second time I had a double bed so always plenty of room. Bathroom and toilet were clean and always had plenty of hot water. Breakfast was basic but edible and the bureau de change had much better rates than the airport. The major plus with this hotel is the location. Very easy to find with great access to the main square and souks. I recommend Hotel Ali but bear in mind it is basic and more suited for backpackers / people on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Location ok electrics highly dangerous,curtains don't meet in middle,shower didn't work wall had hole in it ac unit didn't work breakfast stale. Rooms £5 more were available early and were significantly better value and more comfortable

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was just there last week for 3 nights and I mainly stay there for the location (literally in the Djemaa Al Fna square) and cheap rates.


Pro:
rooms are clean
staff are generally nice
cheap rate
best location

Con:
during summer, it appears they are timing/controlling the room AC so you have to ask the receptionist to turn it on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we didn't stay at the hotel. The owner of our riad recommended eating at the Hotel Ali but the lady on reception informed us that the restaurant closed over a year ago.

We changed our money up in the bureau de change here and found the best rates.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

No frills at the Hotel Ali. It's run-down, but rooms are en-suite and clean. Try that in France - heh heh.

Bed linen and towels may be well-worn, but for 15 Euros a night, what do you expect!

However where this hotel scores is the friendly and helpful (French speaking) staff. They can organize anything for you.

It also offers the most competitive Bureau de Change in town - as evidenced by the long queues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiina_111R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The reason you would stay at this hotel is the location. It is right beside the Djemaa el-fna. The room itself is very, very basic. The room has a bed and bathroom... that's it. Very rough, worn and thread-bare towels are given to you at the front desk. The tub had a shower curtain that was two inches too short so the water still got all over the floor. The bed was way, way too hard and I'm not so sure the sheets had been changed. It looked quite suspicious.

The room was cheap and so I deserved what I received, I guess. Breakfast was included and there were a variety of breads, boiled eggs, jams, orange juice, etc.

There was a lot of noise until 01:00 a.m. Two of the lights did not work in the room. There is not an elevator so you will have to walk up many steps to get to your room. I'm not so sure that I would be inclined to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank im4duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#164 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#317 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#308 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#110 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing