We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Only Plus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ali to your Saves list
Hotel Ali
Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Location Only Plus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The reason you would stay at this hotel is the location. It is right beside the Djemaa el-fna. The room itself is very, very basic. The room has a bed and bathroom... that's it. Very rough, worn and thread-bare towels are given to you at the front desk. The tub had a shower curtain that was two inches too short so the water still got all over the floor. The bed was way, way too hard and I'm not so sure the sheets had been changed. It looked quite suspicious.

The room was cheap and so I deserved what I received, I guess. Breakfast was included and there were a variety of breads, boiled eggs, jams, orange juice, etc.

There was a lot of noise until 01:00 a.m. Two of the lights did not work in the room. There is not an elevator so you will have to walk up many steps to get to your room. I'm not so sure that I would be inclined to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    46
    18
    22
See reviews for
14
29
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with a friend. It is right next the medina. There is an excellent cafe next door and phone booth on the door step. The hotel itself had an old rustic feel to it and could do with a slight makeover, but overall the room and toilet facilities were clean. The price was a bargain and the receptionists were very helpful, the females spoke good English and were polite. Brilliant crash pad for travellers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In a very center of Marrakhesh is located this small basic hotel. The rooms are on three flours. Rooms are really basic, with two or more beds, small bathroom and cheer. Rooms are clean. In room you have small wash basin with cool and hot water. There are 1-2 plugs. Even some lights are broken there are enough lights in this rooms. Noise isolation is good. Look on the doors seams weak, but I slept there three times and there was no any king of robbery. In a lobby which is in fact connection between two streets you have quite good Wi-Fi connections for free. Breakfast is included in price of room. It’s also basic, but until lunch enough. Around hotel there are many restaurants with delicious food. For diner of course you will enjoyed food on place Djemaa el-Fna . Before lease a room try to bargain…worth, even it’s only few Euros. If you decide to stay in this hotels for a night or more you wouldn’t be disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

-right on the corner of Djemaa el Fna
-Our room is next to the street, we heard the music from Djemaa el Fna for a while, but in winter it stopped at sleep time, so it was no problem
-the room is big and clean
-comfortable shower
-friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolvega Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Licated around the corner of the famoys Maroccan Djemma el Fnaa square this hotel has many faced. Lication is tp. Rooms are spacious snd beds okay. Bathroom dubious in hygine; stafc helpfull, breakfast room doubles as prayer room and the walk through possibility allowes everyone to come in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel Ali is a quite simple, basic accommodation. Our room was equipped with beds and a lamp, that's it. The beds looked like someone slept in them before. En suite bathroom, also simple and not the latest fashion, but it worked. There was a bath tub with shower but no hot water. The air conditioning and the bathroom appliances were kept together with tape.

The hotel has two advantages:

1 - It is centrally located, a few steps from the bus stop and right next to the square. (The square is noisy, and this seems to attract, encourage and stimulate noisy clients. There was screaming and yelling in the hotel that we thought we're in a madhouse.)

2 - The room is unbeatably cheap, it's a bargain even for budget travelers. (Note: If you pay 20 € for a room, you cannot expect more than a 20 € room – except maybe free athlete's foot.)

Breakfast is included - nothing to write home about but ok (if you like lukewarm coffee).

The woman at the reception was very friendly and professional, the rest of the staff seem not to care about guests at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've been using the Hotel Ali now for more than 20 years mainly as a stop over pre / post trips to the Atlas or desert.
I had booked to double rooms as on this occasion my trip to Maroc involved daughter and her fiancee for a couple of nights on our return to Marrakech and before flight home.
They did for the 1st time ever actually have my booking but were not able on the 1st or 2nd request to provide the rooms I wanted but with a little persuasion the rooms I required were made available.
They have performed some upgrading of the rooms since my last visit in February 2011 and this appears to be ongoing with room 204 next to my preferred room totally gutted.
I was most disappointed to find that the legendary nightly buffet was not available and would not be going forward due to them selling off the area where the kitchen and breakfast to a French chap who has created a shinny new and in my estimation waste upmarket cafe.
They also seemed now to be moving away from the trekking market to the local Moroccan which again has brought the hotel down with wild children running about screaming late into the night.
All in all after using this hotel for over 20 years I will now on my next visit look to book into another.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 204 through 208 as this will give you a terrace over the Jem el Fina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.