We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ali

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ali
Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #375 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

-right on the corner of Djemaa el Fna
-Our room is next to the street, we heard the music from Djemaa el Fna for a while, but in winter it stopped at sleep time, so it was no problem
-the room is big and clean
-comfortable shower
-friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    43
    16
    21
See reviews for
14
29
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolvega Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Licated around the corner of the famoys Maroccan Djemma el Fnaa square this hotel has many faced. Lication is tp. Rooms are spacious snd beds okay. Bathroom dubious in hygine; stafc helpfull, breakfast room doubles as prayer room and the walk through possibility allowes everyone to come in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel Ali is a quite simple, basic accommodation. Our room was equipped with beds and a lamp, that's it. The beds looked like someone slept in them before. En suite bathroom, also simple and not the latest fashion, but it worked. There was a bath tub with shower but no hot water. The air conditioning and the bathroom appliances were kept together with tape.

The hotel has two advantages:

1 - It is centrally located, a few steps from the bus stop and right next to the square. (The square is noisy, and this seems to attract, encourage and stimulate noisy clients. There was screaming and yelling in the hotel that we thought we're in a madhouse.)

2 - The room is unbeatably cheap, it's a bargain even for budget travelers. (Note: If you pay 20 € for a room, you cannot expect more than a 20 € room – except maybe free athlete's foot.)

Breakfast is included - nothing to write home about but ok (if you like lukewarm coffee).

The woman at the reception was very friendly and professional, the rest of the staff seem not to care about guests at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've been using the Hotel Ali now for more than 20 years mainly as a stop over pre / post trips to the Atlas or desert.
I had booked to double rooms as on this occasion my trip to Maroc involved daughter and her fiancee for a couple of nights on our return to Marrakech and before flight home.
They did for the 1st time ever actually have my booking but were not able on the 1st or 2nd request to provide the rooms I wanted but with a little persuasion the rooms I required were made available.
They have performed some upgrading of the rooms since my last visit in February 2011 and this appears to be ongoing with room 204 next to my preferred room totally gutted.
I was most disappointed to find that the legendary nightly buffet was not available and would not be going forward due to them selling off the area where the kitchen and breakfast to a French chap who has created a shinny new and in my estimation waste upmarket cafe.
They also seemed now to be moving away from the trekking market to the local Moroccan which again has brought the hotel down with wild children running about screaming late into the night.
All in all after using this hotel for over 20 years I will now on my next visit look to book into another.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 204 through 208 as this will give you a terrace over the Jem el Fina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you want to be in the central of Marrakesh and be able to walk practically everywhere, this is the hotel for you. The roof terrace offers superb views, and money can be changed opposite reception. I had no problems with "English" and being understood, even with my Northern accent!

The water was hot and the breakfast not bad, fresh orange juice, hard boiled eggs, crepes etc. Was there a towel in the room no. Did I care? No. I felt that for £25 a night for two people, to be in the middle such a wonderful city was a privilege. Having stayed at the Hotel in a room overlooking the central courtyard and also another room overlooking the street - both my nights sleep were fine. If it had been noisy then I would have put in foam ear plugs. Problem sorted. I can sleep when im dead! It was brilliant to be so in the thick of the action.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great location, djemma el fnaa square is literally on your doorstep. The hotel have very friendly English speaking staff, especially Meriam. I stayed in room 110, which was newly renovated, with a double bed and a clean toilet/shower. Upon reading the reviews I was confused about whether the hotel supplied towels and ran hot water and can confirm that my room ran hot water every hour of every day but you should pack your own towel! The room was cleaned everyday. I have no complaints whatsoever - would definitely stay again. Breakfast was basic. One tip : take the #19 bus outside the airport if you stay here. The bus is clean and very spacious, the bus driver speaks very good English and it is only 50dhr for a return ticket (if used within 2 weeks). I was told by a friend and it honestly has to be one of the BEST COST EFFECTIVE TIPS EVER. The bus stop is literally a 2 minute walk to the hotel (if that!) the bus driver can give you a map and directions to the hotel, but it's seriously not rocket science. The area is very safe (even at night) I have had no problems, there is a safe ATM machine a few doors away from the hotel and the hotel has its own bureau de change. In regards to the noise, outside the hotel it was very noisey and lively (due to it's close proximity to the square). However, I did not experience any problems when sleeping, this may simply be because my room wasn't over looking the main road, it was situated in the middle of the riad :)

Room Tip: Room 110, clean and very spacious :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Can be very noisy if you are in a room at the front but it's right in the middle of town so noise is inevitable. As another post has indicated towels are grey, not white. If a light bulb goes forget a replacement - you won't get one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.