We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - will definately go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ali to your Saves list
Hotel Ali
Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #377 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location - will definately go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you want to be in the central of Marrakesh and be able to walk practically everywhere, this is the hotel for you. The roof terrace offers superb views, and money can be changed opposite reception. I had no problems with "English" and being understood, even with my Northern accent!

The water was hot and the breakfast not bad, fresh orange juice, hard boiled eggs, crepes etc. Was there a towel in the room no. Did I care? No. I felt that for £25 a night for two people, to be in the middle such a wonderful city was a privilege. Having stayed at the Hotel in a room overlooking the central courtyard and also another room overlooking the street - both my nights sleep were fine. If it had been noisy then I would have put in foam ear plugs. Problem sorted. I can sleep when im dead! It was brilliant to be so in the thick of the action.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    60
    49
    19
    23
See reviews for
17
31
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great location, djemma el fnaa square is literally on your doorstep. The hotel have very friendly English speaking staff, especially Meriam. I stayed in room 110, which was newly renovated, with a double bed and a clean toilet/shower. Upon reading the reviews I was confused about whether the hotel supplied towels and ran hot water and can confirm that my room ran hot water every hour of every day but you should pack your own towel! The room was cleaned everyday. I have no complaints whatsoever - would definitely stay again. Breakfast was basic. One tip : take the #19 bus outside the airport if you stay here. The bus is clean and very spacious, the bus driver speaks very good English and it is only 50dhr for a return ticket (if used within 2 weeks). I was told by a friend and it honestly has to be one of the BEST COST EFFECTIVE TIPS EVER. The bus stop is literally a 2 minute walk to the hotel (if that!) the bus driver can give you a map and directions to the hotel, but it's seriously not rocket science. The area is very safe (even at night) I have had no problems, there is a safe ATM machine a few doors away from the hotel and the hotel has its own bureau de change. In regards to the noise, outside the hotel it was very noisey and lively (due to it's close proximity to the square). However, I did not experience any problems when sleeping, this may simply be because my room wasn't over looking the main road, it was situated in the middle of the riad :)

Room Tip: Room 110, clean and very spacious :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Can be very noisy if you are in a room at the front but it's right in the middle of town so noise is inevitable. As another post has indicated towels are grey, not white. If a light bulb goes forget a replacement - you won't get one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is like living in the middle of piccadilly circus. 100s of people milling around - queuing outside for the bureau de change -mthe foyer taken over by dozens of men for prayer (the prayer room was full). My room is comfortable and of a reasonable standard - not all rooms are pf the same standard - some are very tatty from what I saw. The towel I was given was 'gray' rather than white -I wasn't convinced it was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here before trip to climb toubkal. Very basic but clean with hot showers. Location second to none. Right on heart of square. Terrace has great views. English can be a struggle but they are accommodating. If u need cheap and cheerful in centre of Marrakech,this is Ur place. As a single female I felt safe and secure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent location, a swimming pool is in a hotel nearby if you ask at the desk to pay for the day 100 dirhams unless in a big group which you could barter the price with a bit. Only 40 minutes from the atlas mountains as well. Air conditioned rooms, they look broken but they're not. It is extremely basic but is excellent value for 100 dirhams a night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good option for backpackers, but if they put you in a bad room you can ask then to change this. It happened with me and my husband. The first bedroom was incredible bad, small and dirty, but we asked in the reception and they changed without problem. Very good location and very cheap. Dinner is simple, but avarage. The staff is not very kind, exception a sweet girl, the only of the group who speaks english.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#304 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#322 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#191 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#264 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
#127 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#125 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.