We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tazi
Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #451 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nightmare !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We checked in to this Hotel in Marrakech last June 14, 2014. We supposed to stay for at least 3 days. But just on our 1st day, problems started to come out.. Airconditioning system of the 2 rooms we checked in by me and my other friends ( 2 rooms per 2 persons) are not working properly. Absence of remote control for the aircondition makes it impossible to function. When we informed the reception, their 5 minutes waiting time given to us to look for remote control, becomes an hour of waiting aside our room respective rooms. Likewise, beddings, linens and towels will make you feel "itchy". Prostitutes are visible in the lobby of the Hotel and it makes the guests of the hotel like us feel uncomfortable. Instead of checking-in for another 2 days, we checked out the following day and found another good hotel with a cheaper price right just a few steps away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    25
    15
    63
See reviews for
24
42
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

the bar areas are quite run down and mainly young backpackers. The main restaurant is very large with low seats so a bit uncomfortable to sit on. They have a 3 course daily tourist menu for 140 dinars, but it is not wonderful. The beers are the cheapest in town at 25 dir but you only get 25cl, so all in all not wonderful value but in most other places you pay double or treble this price. The waiters will ask you for a tip all the time. Grubby place but stays open late. I did not stay there as a guest. It is based on the edge of the walking street and souk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Never ever pay for your room in advance. I paid the day before I left for a 3 day tour and when I returned to Marrakech I went straight to the hotel and took my room. The next day the owner and his manager, claimed that I had already stayed in the room the day i paid in advance and took the tariff off my credit card. This was despite the fact that I was already staying in another hotel and had no key to the room at Tazi. They screamed and moaned and carried on insisting that I was a liar and had used the room. This is a ploy to get away with a rip off because in the end I was stuck there and they knew it. I agreed to their demands just to avoid a terrible scene at Reception and to stop the yelling. They knew that i had not slept in their hotel. It was a terrible scam. NEVER stay in this RIP OFF hotel. You have been warned! Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

You will only end up here for food if you are brought by a tout or travel guide. This happened to us and it was rather terrifying as we were led away from the 'full' restaurant we had wanted to go to and promised 'beer' instead. The front of the hotel looks dimly lit and grotty but we entered through a side door to the faded grandeur of a huge restaurant all in white with cosy corner sofas. There weren't many people there, mainly bewildered tourists like ourselves wondering why they were there. Entertainment was two blokes making a racket with fez's on and was a woman dancing with a teapot on her head so we decided to cut our losses and stay. Make sure you ask for the food menu before you order anything. We were offered one at 180 and one at 250 but they are cagey about showing you prices. Food was actually quite nice although we got cold mashed potato as one of the tapas dishes in the Moroccan salad. Tagine meat lovely and pastillas great but no couscous. Be careful when settling up as they seem to magic an inflated price out of thin air, slapping on 30 per cent service and doubling price of beer. Told him we didn't have that much money and offered correct price (with small tip as service was slow) which he seemed happy with. Left quickly. Was a funny experience but would not return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel room was luxurious and my guest and I loved it. Décor was beautiful, it was clean and the food was amazing.
the staff were friendly & very helpful. The room was very comfortable, clean & spacious. I loved

Naim

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel but went to the attached restaurant this evening, the food was reasonably good however we were completely ripped off 1020 dirum for two people with a bottle of red wine, the couple next to us paid 750 and they had coffes too! When we raised this with them they just said that was the price for us!! As the waiter left in a huff he marked my friends light jeans with his pen which he just ignored even when we mentioned it and stormed off. We paid as we had no other choice but the service was awful and they were just after money ripping off tourists... Avoid this restaurant at all costs. I'm sure there are plenty of lovely places here (this is our first night) but this has given us a really bad impression and spoilt out first night £45 per person for what we had - Moroccan salad, shish kebab and tahini with Cous Cous plus the awful service - definitely not worth it

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

In common with many other reviews we were enticed by the word "beer" and march and double quick time to the Tazi. Initial impression was chic but past its best. Quickly seated by the tout we then had the patter from a garrulous waiter. Special deal only 250 dhr and share the food, we did but not the 250dhr. 800dhr by the time we had a bottle of wine and a coffee. Groups kept arriving brought by more touts and they all got the waiters patter. When you looked around the restaurant you realised everyone was eating the same meal. The floor show was Mrs Wobble the waitress with a tray on her head supporting an array of candles. The second 'show' was Miss Wobble performing a belly dance, more belly than dance, not very enticing. The tagine was average but it was an amusing evening and a lesson of what was to come about being led by the thirst.

Room Tip: Try asking for the a la carte menu just to see their look of surprise / horror
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.