We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haggle but there's beer!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tazi
Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #459 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Haggle but there's beer!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

You will only end up here for food if you are brought by a tout or travel guide. This happened to us and it was rather terrifying as we were led away from the 'full' restaurant we had wanted to go to and promised 'beer' instead. The front of the hotel looks dimly lit and grotty but we entered through a side door to the faded grandeur of a huge restaurant all in white with cosy corner sofas. There weren't many people there, mainly bewildered tourists like ourselves wondering why they were there. Entertainment was two blokes making a racket with fez's on and was a woman dancing with a teapot on her head so we decided to cut our losses and stay. Make sure you ask for the food menu before you order anything. We were offered one at 180 and one at 250 but they are cagey about showing you prices. Food was actually quite nice although we got cold mashed potato as one of the tapas dishes in the Moroccan salad. Tagine meat lovely and pastillas great but no couscous. Be careful when settling up as they seem to magic an inflated price out of thin air, slapping on 30 per cent service and doubling price of beer. Told him we didn't have that much money and offered correct price (with small tip as service was slow) which he seemed happy with. Left quickly. Was a funny experience but would not return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    30
    15
    67
See reviews for
25
50
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel room was luxurious and my guest and I loved it. Décor was beautiful, it was clean and the food was amazing.
the staff were friendly & very helpful. The room was very comfortable, clean & spacious. I loved

Naim

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel but went to the attached restaurant this evening, the food was reasonably good however we were completely ripped off 1020 dirum for two people with a bottle of red wine, the couple next to us paid 750 and they had coffes too! When we raised this with them they just said that was the price for us!! As the waiter left in a huff he marked my friends light jeans with his pen which he just ignored even when we mentioned it and stormed off. We paid as we had no other choice but the service was awful and they were just after money ripping off tourists... Avoid this restaurant at all costs. I'm sure there are plenty of lovely places here (this is our first night) but this has given us a really bad impression and spoilt out first night £45 per person for what we had - Moroccan salad, shish kebab and tahini with Cous Cous plus the awful service - definitely not worth it

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

In common with many other reviews we were enticed by the word "beer" and march and double quick time to the Tazi. Initial impression was chic but past its best. Quickly seated by the tout we then had the patter from a garrulous waiter. Special deal only 250 dhr and share the food, we did but not the 250dhr. 800dhr by the time we had a bottle of wine and a coffee. Groups kept arriving brought by more touts and they all got the waiters patter. When you looked around the restaurant you realised everyone was eating the same meal. The floor show was Mrs Wobble the waitress with a tray on her head supporting an array of candles. The second 'show' was Miss Wobble performing a belly dance, more belly than dance, not very enticing. The tagine was average but it was an amusing evening and a lesson of what was to come about being led by the thirst.

Room Tip: Try asking for the a la carte menu just to see their look of surprise / horror
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here so can't comment on the rooms or other aspects of the hotel.....popped in for the cheap beer, nice that it comes with free popcorn but woah the atmosphere in the bar is seriously lacking!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay here but went for a drink. Difficult to find alcohol near the Jaama square so this place is convenient.

You certainly get some characters... It's quite rough and ready but if you want to chill out with a beer and people watch then it's a good place. Not sure I would feel comfortable as a single female - may get some hassle/chatted up - but no worse than in the souks.

Staff are really good and they have security staff keeping an eye in things. If anybody looks to be causing even the slightest upset then they're out.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Probably the worst restaurant in Marrakesh, the only plus being to srve wine and beer in la Medina where is pretty difficult to find. The have only a poor menu because if you ask the detailed list the give you a worn-out and discouraging list of cous-cous and tajnes. The service is awful and the food even worst, like the cheap and despicable local wine (the worst drink in Marrakesh). Stay away you won't regret!

Room Tip: Choose a Riad it is much better
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#378 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#192 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#251 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#262 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#352 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#160 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.