We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morrocan Fawlty Towers... Brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel Tazi
Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Morrocan Fawlty Towers... Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the Tazi but had a fun few afternoons/ evenings there quenching our thirst, resting our weary legs after busy morning of haggling and being accosted by the ever helpful locals wishing to lead us to whichever market was there for one day only!
Forgive the low marks just being honest, but still a great place to hang out and have a drink in the smoke filled lobby and watch the comings and goings. Quite hilarious and always something going down. Don't expect five star service but great for people watching. Sit back, soak up the atmosphere, admire the amazing interior.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    23
    14
    59
See reviews for
23
38
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my wife visited this restaurant for a tanjia as our guide took us here specifically for that Moroccan speciality. However, we wished we researched the tanjia more and found a place ourselves.

We chose the 180 dirham deal which was a three course meal which included the tanjia. The starter of cold mezze of vegetables was nothing special and akin to the food served in the square. The course that did stand out was the pastilla, which was the tastiest we had eaten while in Marrakesh but nothing to shout about. The beef tanjia was tasty, but the cut of meat was poor given the price paid, but at least we got to sample the specialty. The dessert was just fruit, which was a let down as I though it would have been Moroccan patisseries.

The service was polite, unobtrusive, efficient and friendly, but with the restaurant being completely empty the atmosphere was non existent, but they did try to cut the silence with a live musician.

I would not visit this place again if I was in Marrakesh as the food was mediocre and I guess the guide was on the take to recommend the place. All in all, avoid, as you might as well eat in the square for a quarter of the price paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We never been to such terrible restaurant EVER in the world.
Our tour guide brought us there, of course because he will get commission from them.
We wanted to order just one set menu to share because we were not so hungry (BTW it cost about 25euro per person) which is very expensive for Marrakech.
Manager declined our order and said we MUST order 2 menu.

In the end we said YES, he brought us food, that is good for one person only.
There are no 2 SET menu for 2 person. complete RIPPED OFF, we tried to complain but get nothing.
The owner dont even bother to talk to us. We try to talk to him but he just ignored us.
Food was BAD, its the same with 50 dirham food that you can get from the square/SOUKS.

The manager behavior was so disgusting- his name is Abdullah.
DO NOT EVER ENTER THIS PLACE, you will be only disappointed.
We dont mind paying a lot for good food.
But this place is JUST a TOURIST TRAP.

We should trust our feeling to get out from that Restaurant from the moment Abdullah forced us to buy 2 MENU Meals.

I hope our left over meals will not be served to another guest!

NEVER EVER EVER GO THERE!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A complete rip off. Food was appalling. They are moneygrabber. The behaviour of the manager is like a pick pocketer. We lost our appetite for Moroccan food after visiting this place only to be restored when we had a meal in Agadir in a restaurant Le Vendome. I will advise everyone to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unless it's the last place on earth to get food.

Our tour guide let us here and the place was dark and somewhat dirty, the bathroom was filthy.

The Moroccan soup was good but it's usually good at any restaurant, it has got to be since it's their own traditional soup. We couldn't get over the cold pastillas, the waiter asked why we didn't eat them so we told him that they were cold inside still (frozen pastillas no doubt) so he brought us two more pastillas saying that he made a mistake of bringing us the wrong pastillas; but the second ones were warm outside and still cold inside:-( This place discouraged us and spoiled our appetite.
They are located at a busy touristy street so perhaps their clients come once but never a second time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra, Spain
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ended up here with our guide

We ordered a set meal for 180 dirham each first course of soup was lovely

Second Course of pastilla was cold in the middle sent it back got another which was also just as cold in the middle so we left in

Main course was ok but put off by pastilla

Fruit was ok

Then they said the bill instead of being 180 time two ie 360 was 450 including tip, I said we decide tip but no joy so was a wimp paid up and left . Will never be back. If you want a decent tourist place try the Riad Omar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I think that the name GRAND is a bit over the top, maybe 25 years ago it was Grand but it is now a bit run-down, it is really a place that Moroccans stay when visiting Marrakech.
If you are looking for a nice place to stay I would recommend looking around for a cheapish Riad, saying that, if you are in Djemma al Fna (the main square) and want a relaxing cold beer then you could do worse as its only a short walk down to the end of Prince St.
I haven't eaten here because I have heard horror stories but the beer is bottled and cold, which is rare but not impossible to find elsewhere inside the medina.
A good place to unwind with friends after exploring the souks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list