We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer close to Jema el Fna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tazi
Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #453 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good beer close to Jema el Fna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Came here twice, in the space of one year. You can have a nice cold beer or some wine in a decadent post colonial time, with faces that looks from a dark movie from the 50's. Unsual movement up and down the stairs, looks like another business goes on...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    28
    15
    65
See reviews for
24
45
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've only ever been here when in Marra to drink cold bear in the lobby bar. It's slightly seedy in a faded days of empire way, but the beer's fine. You don't always get charged the same amount for your drinks though, which is a bit naff. There's a few Moroccan barflys and loads of people smoke. Interesting characters too, but i don't know if i'd feel that comfortable here as a single woman.
The thing is, there are so few places to grab a cold beer, and this is just very convenient, and you can people-watch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited Marrakech in December 2011 and found this relic of the Colonial Era was one of the few places one could just walk in, much like any UK bar, and have an alcoholic drink without having to order a meal. Bit run down now, but must have been a quite spectacular watering hole. Staff friendly enough, especially so if you try a 'morning','please' or thankyou' in Arabic. Toilets-spotless.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would like to appologise for the great review I gave the hotel/brothel back in May. I have just returned from the holiday from hell at the brothel known as Grand Hotel Tazi. I cannot understand how a hotel can change in the space of 4/5 months. If you are looking for drugs/prostitutes MALE OR FEMALE then this is the place to go.. I had no sleep for 3 nights as the prostitutes work from the rooms all night, the rooms at the far end of the corridor where i stayed in May were now occcupied by the local POLICE !! the waiters who new me from before, either didnt give me my change or charged me more than before, everytime i tried to go to the bar myself i was cut off by the waiters who snatched my money. the maid didnt clean the room, but she had time to watch tv in my friends room and leave the door wide open when she left (ASSUMING IT WAS THE MAID AND NOT USED FOR PROSTITUTION). which he found on his return from a day trip. The last night I confronted the security guard a prostitute and her client at 03.00am outside my door. I was basically dismissed and informed by the prostitute it was the cats making all the noise, Silly me their cats can slam doors and talk, well I never!! Wont be going there again.....the cats are noisy..

Room Tip: Good room would be in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Tazi three times, most recently with my dad in June for four nights. The location of the hotel is excellent - you can walk to all the main tourist attractions. The hotel itself is slightly aged, however I would say that this adds to the charm of it. The rooms are massive and are decorated in an original style. They are clean, and both the air con and TV worked. The staff speak excellent English and are always willing to help.

The pool area looks slightly run down, but if you can get over this it is a great place to sunbath and virtually empty most of the time. The pool is clean and you can be served drinks and food there if you request.

The lobby is a good place to hang out and have a cold beer or a glass of wine - small plates of popcorn and olives are served with your drinks which is a nice touch.

The only real downside to the Tazi is the food - the menu at the restaurant is limited and overpriced for the quality. Breakfast is also poor. However, the Tazi is such good value that this is not a problem - there are plenty of other places to eat nearby and I wouldn't let this put you off, afterall, it's nicer not to eat in your hotel every night anyway!

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in a central location on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were travelling to Morocco to trek the Atlas Mountains up to Toubkal for charity, so this hotel was booked for us via the charity.

We were a little worried about some of the reviews but as we were only staying here involuntarily for one night, we decided to go along with it.

Grand Hotel Tazi is perfectly located within the Medina (old city) of Marrakech with a 2minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna and souqs. Upon arrival, you are greeting in a huge lobby filled with mosaic and it is clean, airy and cool compared to the 45+ degrees centigrade heat outside! The rooms are big, we had 3 or 2 bed rooms, each is a different size and shape with varying degrees of bathroom sizes and shapes! Hot water is plentiful, and the bathrooms although clean, were of different standards. Decor is a bit faded and could do with a touch up in many places - some bathrooms and rooms were modern, others mosaic and others very traditional. Some showers didn't work, others were fantastic but you could move room if yours didn't work as well as it should with no problem. Beds were clean and comfortable, floors were clean, and flat screen tv's included (although we didn't see what channels they had).

It is far away enough from the Mosque that your sleep will not be disturbed by the call to prayer yet close enough to see it up close.

Another pro? It has a clean, spacious outside pool with plenty of loungers. No shade here though, and it is incredibly hot during the day. The pool water is hot and clean and chlorinated.

Due to the handiness of the hotel, we booked two extra nights here, voluntarily and because we were impressed. The manager of the hotel speaks fantastic english and let us store our camping/ trekking bags for a week at the hotel for 20 dirham each as long as we booked our last night of travel back at the hotel, which we did. Rooms were cheap (although you may find them cheaper elsewhere, Tazi has the benefit of being close to the square AND it serves reasonably priced beer, another hard to find commodity in Marrakech!)

The food - our meals the first night/ next morning were included from the charity. The food was good, salad, tagine and fruit to finish, and the restaurant is beautifully decorated and the staff are very good at keeping beggars etc away from the restaurant so you will not be pestered. People were eating in here every night and if you stay there the manager will give you a good price on food. Breakfast was bread, croissants, coffee and mint tea, again standard and of a nice quality.

I would recommend Tazi for backpackers for sure - it's a great place to see the sights and sounds of Marrakech's famous Djemaa el Fna without breaking the bank. The added bonus of a full diving pool as opposed to the splash pools of many riads make this a great choice to escape the heat of the day. Free wifi in the hotel lobby is accessible for most needs (although Skype was iffy at times). The roof terrace is a fantastic place to enjoy a drink in the warmth of the night and watch the hustle and bustle of the crazy souqs and square below.

As for Marrakech itself, we spent three days here in all during the two week trip, which is more than enough for you to get lost at the souqs at night and hone your haggling skills.

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairs can take advantage of the lobby wifi from the comfort of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited the place twice as I read a review mentioning it in a guide book, we did not stay here we just had a few drinks in the hotel foyer, the place has the potential to be brilliant but it looks to have been run into the ground somewhat. The architecture inside the foyer is very traditional and in its day would have been beautiful, however the place is fairly dirty and needs a bit of a make-over! However, on saying that I liked the place, it had character and a view of a busy street leading to the Djama El Fna which always provides a good laugh with the characters you see going by. The drinks are cheap and to my knowledge is one of the closest places to the main square to have a cold drink, the staff were friendly and pretty efficient considering we visited during a busy time. I personally would not fancy stopping at the place as based on the foyer and the toilets downstairs I cannot imagine the rooms being upto much. However, it's worth visiting and it's a good taxi drop-off/pick-up point for those coming from out of the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #453 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.