We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located for a day or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel Tazi
Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #448 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfectly located for a day or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were travelling to Morocco to trek the Atlas Mountains up to Toubkal for charity, so this hotel was booked for us via the charity.

We were a little worried about some of the reviews but as we were only staying here involuntarily for one night, we decided to go along with it.

Grand Hotel Tazi is perfectly located within the Medina (old city) of Marrakech with a 2minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna and souqs. Upon arrival, you are greeting in a huge lobby filled with mosaic and it is clean, airy and cool compared to the 45+ degrees centigrade heat outside! The rooms are big, we had 3 or 2 bed rooms, each is a different size and shape with varying degrees of bathroom sizes and shapes! Hot water is plentiful, and the bathrooms although clean, were of different standards. Decor is a bit faded and could do with a touch up in many places - some bathrooms and rooms were modern, others mosaic and others very traditional. Some showers didn't work, others were fantastic but you could move room if yours didn't work as well as it should with no problem. Beds were clean and comfortable, floors were clean, and flat screen tv's included (although we didn't see what channels they had).

It is far away enough from the Mosque that your sleep will not be disturbed by the call to prayer yet close enough to see it up close.

Another pro? It has a clean, spacious outside pool with plenty of loungers. No shade here though, and it is incredibly hot during the day. The pool water is hot and clean and chlorinated.

Due to the handiness of the hotel, we booked two extra nights here, voluntarily and because we were impressed. The manager of the hotel speaks fantastic english and let us store our camping/ trekking bags for a week at the hotel for 20 dirham each as long as we booked our last night of travel back at the hotel, which we did. Rooms were cheap (although you may find them cheaper elsewhere, Tazi has the benefit of being close to the square AND it serves reasonably priced beer, another hard to find commodity in Marrakech!)

The food - our meals the first night/ next morning were included from the charity. The food was good, salad, tagine and fruit to finish, and the restaurant is beautifully decorated and the staff are very good at keeping beggars etc away from the restaurant so you will not be pestered. People were eating in here every night and if you stay there the manager will give you a good price on food. Breakfast was bread, croissants, coffee and mint tea, again standard and of a nice quality.

I would recommend Tazi for backpackers for sure - it's a great place to see the sights and sounds of Marrakech's famous Djemaa el Fna without breaking the bank. The added bonus of a full diving pool as opposed to the splash pools of many riads make this a great choice to escape the heat of the day. Free wifi in the hotel lobby is accessible for most needs (although Skype was iffy at times). The roof terrace is a fantastic place to enjoy a drink in the warmth of the night and watch the hustle and bustle of the crazy souqs and square below.

As for Marrakech itself, we spent three days here in all during the two week trip, which is more than enough for you to get lost at the souqs at night and hone your haggling skills.

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairs can take advantage of the lobby wifi from the comfort of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    23
    14
    60
See reviews for
23
38
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited the place twice as I read a review mentioning it in a guide book, we did not stay here we just had a few drinks in the hotel foyer, the place has the potential to be brilliant but it looks to have been run into the ground somewhat. The architecture inside the foyer is very traditional and in its day would have been beautiful, however the place is fairly dirty and needs a bit of a make-over! However, on saying that I liked the place, it had character and a view of a busy street leading to the Djama El Fna which always provides a good laugh with the characters you see going by. The drinks are cheap and to my knowledge is one of the closest places to the main square to have a cold drink, the staff were friendly and pretty efficient considering we visited during a busy time. I personally would not fancy stopping at the place as based on the foyer and the toilets downstairs I cannot imagine the rooms being upto much. However, it's worth visiting and it's a good taxi drop-off/pick-up point for those coming from out of the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The owner sucks - we arrived and he was in a bar brawl. He then tried to double the room price quoted by another employee. We challeneged it and he only relented when we said the employee standing next to him had told us the real price.

We were then offered a car park at a cost but refused because we were returning our car. The concierge took us to the car park to unload our luggage. The owner then charged us for the car park. He told us to leave the hotel if we wouldn't pay.

We were after air conditioning and a pool, which we did find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollande
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have heard great strory about Tagadirt Hotel. When i arrived, I was astonished. It was very expensief. The swimmingpool was dirty and the breakfeat was very bad. Bread of one day before,

The room is quit clean, but the rest was terrible. My woman was very angry about the service.

Room Tip: Do not go in the summer. It is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

After reading some of the other reviews I have to admit I have never eaten here. But its a great place to stop off in the middle of a hot day for a nice cold beer or glass of wine. Or to have a nice relaxing drink on the roof terrace on a balmy evening. We always call in to this historic drinking den everytime we go to Marrakech. In January downstairs is packed with all different types of people from backpacking westerners to desert Tuaregs. And everyone chatting away to each other even if they do not understand each other. In March this year 2012 we called in every night for a couple of drinks on our way back to our hotel and the different waiters were all very cheerful and friendly and always bringing us free little nibbles. Everyone who goes to Marrakech must go at least once to the Tazi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were brought here by one of the city's unofficial guides who refused to let us go. We did not even want a meal, just a small snack and the "guide" charged us 400 dirham for bringing us there and promptly disappeared, leaving us with an excessive bill-the food is overpriced and the worst we tasted to in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

While looking for a place to eat, thought we would give this place a try, aught to have been suspicious by the lack of any full menu or drinks tariff, was offered a dirty laminated sheet with a set meal for 150 or 250 dirham, dependant on courses, the food was just ok. What spoiled it was the bill, as I had two casablanca 330ml beers and my wife a bottle of water the waiter gave us the bill for 600 dirhams based on the a 150 meal, a 250 meal and 200 for the drinks. Needless to say the waiters outstretched hand waiting for the tip never got filled, would not return and a much better meal can be had at the Marakeshi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list