We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful what you wish for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel Tazi
Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be careful what you wish for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The owner sucks - we arrived and he was in a bar brawl. He then tried to double the room price quoted by another employee. We challeneged it and he only relented when we said the employee standing next to him had told us the real price.

We were then offered a car park at a cost but refused because we were returning our car. The concierge took us to the car park to unload our luggage. The owner then charged us for the car park. He told us to leave the hotel if we wouldn't pay.

We were after air conditioning and a pool, which we did find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    23
    14
    59
See reviews for
23
38
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollande
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have heard great strory about Tagadirt Hotel. When i arrived, I was astonished. It was very expensief. The swimmingpool was dirty and the breakfeat was very bad. Bread of one day before,

The room is quit clean, but the rest was terrible. My woman was very angry about the service.

Room Tip: Do not go in the summer. It is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

After reading some of the other reviews I have to admit I have never eaten here. But its a great place to stop off in the middle of a hot day for a nice cold beer or glass of wine. Or to have a nice relaxing drink on the roof terrace on a balmy evening. We always call in to this historic drinking den everytime we go to Marrakech. In January downstairs is packed with all different types of people from backpacking westerners to desert Tuaregs. And everyone chatting away to each other even if they do not understand each other. In March this year 2012 we called in every night for a couple of drinks on our way back to our hotel and the different waiters were all very cheerful and friendly and always bringing us free little nibbles. Everyone who goes to Marrakech must go at least once to the Tazi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were brought here by one of the city's unofficial guides who refused to let us go. We did not even want a meal, just a small snack and the "guide" charged us 400 dirham for bringing us there and promptly disappeared, leaving us with an excessive bill-the food is overpriced and the worst we tasted to in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

While looking for a place to eat, thought we would give this place a try, aught to have been suspicious by the lack of any full menu or drinks tariff, was offered a dirty laminated sheet with a set meal for 150 or 250 dirham, dependant on courses, the food was just ok. What spoiled it was the bill, as I had two casablanca 330ml beers and my wife a bottle of water the waiter gave us the bill for 600 dirhams based on the a 150 meal, a 250 meal and 200 for the drinks. Needless to say the waiters outstretched hand waiting for the tip never got filled, would not return and a much better meal can be had at the Marakeshi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in May. It was very hot, the air con worked in my room the pool was great the staff very friendly and attentive, had a very nice meal in the restaurant, my room was clean as were the towels, every day the maids cleaned and left dried rose petals scattered in the room and bathroom. room was very quiet and overlooked the pool. Yes hotel needs some more refurbishment it is very basic and cheap but central to everything. I am returning in October with a friend for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the pool are quiet at night no mosques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

worst hotel i've ever stayed in! it's dirty. Staff are miserable (especially receptionist!). Everything in our room was falling apart. We were moved to another room, but that was no better. This hotel was recommended to me by an ex colleague! OMG, i've never stayed in such a dump! Took one look at the restaurant and fled! would not risk eating in there. The place needs knocking down! It's a complete dive!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#446 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#446 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list