We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and central for Souks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tazi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tazi
Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #459 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and central for Souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in May. It was very hot, the air con worked in my room the pool was great the staff very friendly and attentive, had a very nice meal in the restaurant, my room was clean as were the towels, every day the maids cleaned and left dried rose petals scattered in the room and bathroom. room was very quiet and overlooked the pool. Yes hotel needs some more refurbishment it is very basic and cheap but central to everything. I am returning in October with a friend for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the pool are quiet at night no mosques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    30
    15
    67
See reviews for
25
50
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

worst hotel i've ever stayed in! it's dirty. Staff are miserable (especially receptionist!). Everything in our room was falling apart. We were moved to another room, but that was no better. This hotel was recommended to me by an ex colleague! OMG, i've never stayed in such a dump! Took one look at the restaurant and fled! would not risk eating in there. The place needs knocking down! It's a complete dive!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed in a riad in the old town the first 4 nights of the vacation, but staying with my son, I missed having places close-by to go out to grab a snack at. So before we went to Essaouria, we were shown a room at this hotel, and booked it for our last night in Marrakech before heading home.
They were very accomodating and welcoming, we got a huge room with 3 beds for 280 dhs, and we could keep the room till our departure in the afternoon. The bathroom was ok, no faults, tiles and hot shower and clean towels and working toilet. The beds were clean, we had a flatscreen tv to Junior's joy, and the food we ordered to our room from the restaurant in the evening was tasty. No reason to fret about this place - but of course, do experience the charmy riads of the old town too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

It was our last day in Marrakech and we wanted to make the most of our time there until we were recommended to this restaurant at this hotel. We were directed to this place by a " kind, friendly guy" who we thought were knowledgeable of local authentic restaurants, for a quick lunch. After rushing through a long distant from the market we were led to this Morrocan restaurant with affordable food yet it turned out to be a scam. The local guy who took us to the restaurant asked for a 20D tip and the restaurant presented us with a fixed menu of 250d a person. Drinks were extremely expensive as well.The food was awful and poorly presented for that money. We were very let down by the friendliness of the local people. Our advise is dont be foolld by the friendlyness of the local people- dont trust them!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Place recomended by friendly local claiming to be employee of our hotel, Awful food but attitude of staff even worse, Were not allowed wine without ordering food first; and even asked to place order while friend in dirty toilet! Food was very poor quality qnd tiny portions, Desert consisted of 5 pieces of fruit unwashed and unpeeled: Tip of 10% was demanded and very hostile attitude when we asked for our change, We felt bullied and intimidated by male staff, Avoid this place!!
!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The bar in the Tazi is a Marrakech institution and a long standing stop off point for a cold beer or two on a hot day. The bar is busy with Moroccan guys drinking beer and watching sport on the TV while the couches in reception are a more comfortable area to sit (especially perhaps for women). The waiters are that fantastic, apparently surly type but once you've caught their attention with a smile they are as helpful as could be asked for. It's a small slice of real life Marrakech tradition and if all you want is to sit and rest for a while with a cool drink it's great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

There are not that many places to have a beer a Marrakech, and spotted this place in one of my travel books. It’s a really weird awful place and looks as though its come through a civil war. I certainly wouldn’t recommend staying in the hotel, as when I went to the loo which is up stairs some of the corridors looked derelict, and there appeared to be a cat living in the toilet but if you want to brave it and see another side of life then have a drink there just for the experience, but certainly do not go on your own. Really strange goings on, constant stream of men arriving with carrier bags at the reception and disappearing up the stairs for about 30 minutes and then reappearing, I don’t think they were bringing their laundry in to be washed! The guy that comes round and takes your drinks order looked like lurch out of the Adams family, he had a suit and tie on that looked as though it had never been dry cleaned in 50 years.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#378 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#192 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#251 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#262 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#309 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#352 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.