We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agafay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Agafay to your Saves list
Kasbah Agafay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An exceptional experience....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Kasbah Agafay is unlike any hotel that my husband and I have visited. The bedrooms and public areas were beautifully decorated with great taste and after a few days touring other places in Morocco, it was an oasis of luxury. The service was faultless, the gardens were amazing and best of all was the bird song - quite marvellous!

Room Tip: We had a room around the public area which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This was the best/most unique hotel I've ever seen. We stayed in the tent suite - air conditioned, no bugs and bigger than my apartment. The roof of the tent was 20 feet high, the tub was shaped like a four-leafed clover and could likely fit 6 people. Ive never seen a place like this. The hotel itself feels more like a large mansion and, like other reviewers, we were the only guests when we were there. We loved it and couldnt recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Definitely do the Tent Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We arrived after a horrible stay in the Medina of Marrakech.
What a contrast it was, from our worst experience in Marrakech to our best so far ! And we stayed in about 4 or 5 five star hotels in Marrakech before. From a total tourist trap experience in a Riad in the Medina to this palace. We were treated as princes right from our arrival until we left. We loved absolutely everything . The Kasbah itself with all his history ( 1000 year history ) , the tranquility , the food and most important the excellent staff ! Highly recommendable !'

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed as a family for about 5 nights earlier in the year. It is an amazing Hotel that gives you peace and quiet in a rural type location with views of the Atlas mountains. We used the Hotel as a base to relax and to see the City. We all loved the Hotel, the room and its grounds. The staff were very attentive and incredibly nice. I so want to give the Hotel a 5 star review but there were a couple of things that need to be polished. First one was a menu:-), the staff asked us what we wanted but we had no guide so it was a little difficult. Saying that though all the food we had was great and the breakfasts on the terrace were amazing. The second point was a price list, as we had no idea what we were spending. Both are easily fixable and I am sure they have taken care of this by now. The new manager was a real help and I wish them every success. We do want to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Soden am Taunus, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The new management is on it. Hopefully, they will receive sufficient funds from the Kasbah's owner to fix the most glaring outages that presently keeps Kasbah Agafay from being the properly priced 5-star experience it deserves and has the potential to be.
Because: it is a magnificent, charming place in a tranquil location just the right distance from Marrakech. The grounds and gardens are beautifully maintained full of flowers, palm trees and little private corners to linger, read, have a tea...The Kasbah itself is an impressive and well renovated structure with many beautiful courtyards, rooms, balconies and seating areas, equipped with antique Moroccan furniture and rugs, conveying a true Kasbah feeling (I suppose, never having lived in one) and offer lots of privacy wherever one goes. The rooms (and luxury tents, for those who would rather go for the bedouin experience) are very spacious and well appointed with all amenities one needs. Beds are huge and extremely comfortable.
The food - when it finally arrives - is well prepared, taking advantage of an impressive herbs and vegetables garden on the premises. The staff is very friendly, polite and professional and attentive in a nice way whenever one interacts.
Were all of this on offer at a lower price, this review would end here with a full five stars and an unconditional recommendation.

At the price currently being asked however (including the rather expensive food and drink offerings one tends to find out about on the last day) perfection must be expected and the shortcomings we experienced over three days, that would be acceptable in a lesser place need to be mentioned: Firstly, the whole hotel felt as if in start-up mode after a long period of being out of operations (which according to the new manager is exactly what happened). Things are crumbling around the edges and little (in some cases bigger) repairs are needed in many places. Be it parts of walls that are crumbling, steps and floors that are loose, seating arrangements inside and outside that are wobbly or broken, the (far too few) umbrellas around the pool and terrace which are being held together by nails, wires and - creatively - screwdrivers, or some rather bizarre wall paintings at the pool. Particularly the Spa, which has the potential to be fabulous, looks and feels like it hasn't been used in ages (and was effectively closed when we were there, although a masseuse was apparently on call when needed). One could go on with the tennis court, the poolside toilets (please!), or the WiFi which extends all of five meters around the central office and doesn't even reach the adjacent guest rooms through the thick clay walls....while some of this adds to the charm of an ancient Kasbah most of it comes across as a sign of neglect that needs to be addressed, and fast.
Secondly, service is very slow and staff is sometimes hard to find (but very nice when they do show up). Given that only 3 out of the total of 20 rooms were occupied at any given time during our stay, it remains a mystery why one would have to wait for two hours between ordering and consuming lunch and 40 minutes for two ice teas at the pool (another 25 minutes for a follow up order of another two), especially considering the understandably small menu that is on offer. Hard to imagine what might happen at maximum occupancy.
As said, management is on it and I am confident they will elevate the Kasbah experience to the level its price tag demands. Until then they would be well advised to lower their prices, thereby increasing occupancy and giving staff and infrastructure the much needed shakedown to prepare them for the real 5-star journey.

Room Tip: The deluxe Suite is spacious and works well for a family of four (it is only one very large room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Kasbah Agafay at the end of October/beginning of November. We only had 3 nights but this short stay was everything we could have asked for and more. The hotel's driver collected us from the airport and soon we were sitting in amazing surroundings, drinking mint tea! Our suite was magnificent, huge and beautifully decorated in traditional style. The bed, very large and very comfortable, combined with the peaceful atmosphere, ensured quality sleep each night.

The manager, Mo, is absolutely charming and went out of his way to make sure we had a wonderful stay, as did every other member of staff we came across. My husband had a broken leg, was in plaster and on crutches, but Mo and his team went out of their way to help us enjoy our holiday, despite this. We were told to treat the hotel like a home and it certainly felt like that during our stay. The hotel was not very busy and we only saw one or two other guests while we were there - this might be due to the time we went.

We used the hotel driver, Mustapha, to take us into Marrakech to see all the touristy bits and we also hired a guide (recommended by Mo), who was excellent and meant we could enjoy all the important sights and benefit from his extensive knowledge. I would recommend this and it was good value for money (30 Euros). We returned to the city in the evening to sample a traditional restaurant, with music and dancing. Having the car for the day was an additional extravagance but well worth the money and saved a lot of hassle, especially for someone on crutches!

The hotel is a converted fortress which has been lovingly restored, retaining much of its former glory. We were able to explore at will and saw some amazing rooms and artefacts. The grounds are beautiful and include a lovely swimming pool, with comfy sun beds and chairs. We spent many hours here, relaxing with a book and taking the occasional, bracing dip! - the water was very cold, as it is not heated and the sun, although warm, is not out sufficiently long enough each day to warm the water. We had lunch on the stunningly landscaped terraces above the pool.

The food at the Kasbah Agafay was delicious - there are no menus, you just eat what the chef has prepared, using fresh ingredients from the hotel's gardens and farm. We were never disappointed!

Would we change anything? Yes, stay for longer next time! We would also try spending a couple of nights at the sister hotel in the heart of the Souk, the Kssour Agafay, before moving on to this tranquil haven. I cannot to speak too highly of this hotel in every respect and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

On arrival we were met by 'Mo' the Man in charge of this beautiful retreat in the hills just outside Marrakech.
Our upgraded suite was one the best in the hotel with everything you could ask for and without the distraction of a television, which was just perfect.
The peace, relaxation and privacy was just what we wanted. The pool area was perfection and a good place to take a long lazy lunch with great service.
Mo took care of all of our arrangements which helped us to chill out even quicker than we could have expected.
A 20 minute drive into Marrakech by the hotels’ private driver & car saved a lot of hassle and was ideal.
We did the tourist bits which were inescapable and we socialised more than we should have with friends at some of the finest city restaurants, 5* hotels, clubs, casinos, etc & were eventually whisked off to our beds by Mustapha, our driver.
Excellent everything due to all the helpful staff at Kasbah Agafay!
A big thank you to Mo & everyone.
Gavin

Room Tip: Chillax, Mo will sort it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Agafay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agafay

Address: Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agafay 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Agafay, this luxury Marrakech hotel is a haven of relaxation and tranquility offering unforgettable views across Berber villages, the Atlas Mountains and olive grove plantations. Nestled around olive and citrus orchards just at the border to the big dessert plains South West of Marrakesh. Just a short drive (20 minutes) from the buzz of Marrakech and the airport, this Marrakech hotel dominates the old and new crossroads of camel and goat herds. This luxury Marrakech hotel has been elegantly restored in to a striking private hotel. For those that dream of escaping to an 18th-century castle fort, Kasbah Agafay is a unique retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kasbah Agafay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Agafay Marrakech
Kasbah Agafay Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agafay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.