We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agafay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Agafay to your Saves list
Kasbah Agafay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Franklin, MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Hated to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our fourth hotel in Morocco and our favorite. We arrived there with a Backroads biking group and were stunned by the beauty of this restored castle and its setting. It is a bit of a maze but we quickly found our way around. Our room, like most, was off a very large sitting area furnished with traditional furnishings. The pool area was gorgeous with comfortable lounge chairs. We enjoyed our meals, and even had a chance to help the cooks make our dinner which is something worthwhile if you can do it.
We were being picked up very early the next morning and the owner insisted on getting up to serve us a full breakfast even though we didn't expect it. He was such a good host he made it feel as if we were staying at his home.
The hotel is close enough to the city of Marrakech (about 40 Min) to make it a nice get away or destination on its own.

Room Tip: They are all a little different and very authentic for the restored castle so don't expect your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My newlywed wife and I spent an incredible 2 days and a relaxing night at this beautiful kasbah, so close to the medina yet feeling of desert.
We were treating like family, fed and served incredible meals and drink.
Mo, the hotel manager was so attentive and considerate, we were in want of nothing.
We spent the days by the pool sipping wine and one afternoon traveled to Abel's ranch where we were treated to two hours of horse ridding, in a quaint and very authentic stable and corral.
We will definitely return...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a couple of days at the Kssour Agafay in the heart of the Medinah, with all of the vitality of life around the souk, followed by a few days at the Kasbah. The Kasbah offered a comfortable relaxed contrast to the activity of the Medina.
Mo made us feel truly at home in the historic Kasbah. The decor is authentic and the food offers a taste of quality Morrocan cuisine. And dont miss out on the Hamam..........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kasbah Agafay for five nights at the end of September into October. The weather was perfect and for the first three nights we were the only people in the hotel. The staff could not do too much for you and were so kind and so friendly. The food was superb, freshly picked from the garden. There is no menu which has its pluses and minuses - great in that you can choose whatever you fancy but we sometimes wanted to have something suggested to us. The chef was a chef to the king and it shows. The waiters speak a little English and a little French which meant occasionally we didn't quite end up with what we asked for but the food we did receive was always lovely. The manager speaks perfect English and cannot do enough to help. The bedrooms were beautiful and we had our own riad with our own courtyard! The pool was lovely it is a 20 m one but the tennis court does need rolling! The ball sometimes had the odd angles of a rugby ball! The hotel felt very safe and a lovely change to the madness of Marrakech. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff were excellent from the driver that met us on time at the airport to the chef that would anything we wanted (within reason). All under the informal efficient management of Mo. It felt like a visit to a friends house but with all the benefits of a hotel. We had an excellent time. The food was amazing and we loved not having a menu and eating what the chef was preparing that night, although other choices would happily accommodated(there was really no need the food was varied, authentic and of an excellent standard). The wines were all Moroccan and to our ignorant surprise really rather good. They looked after us just wonderfully and we are looking forward to an early return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I booked five nights at the end of August. People said we were mad. That the weather would be too hot to breathe, that it would be a holiday best forgotten. How wrong they were. Thanks to Kasbah Agafay it was the most memorable, magical five days ever. From our welcome tea and homemade biscuits with Mo the Manager, to our morning yoga in the Olive Grove, to the cookery lesson illuminated by candlelight and laughter, to the most beautiful breakfast, lunches and dinners - this was the most perfect five days I have ever spent. Mo and his staff are our family now - and one thing is certain - we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My sister and I booked 5 nights here at the end of July 2013. It really was one of the best hotels we've stayed in, mainly because the staff were so wonderful. Mo, the manager was so helpful and thoughtful. He went out of his way to make our stay at Kasbah Agafay memorable.
The food was quite simply out of this world! We were treated to incredible food everyday, most of which was grown in their own vegetable garden in the grounds of the fort.
Our room was stunning, we were upgraded from a standard room as the hotel wasnt full in late July. The manager explained that July & August were the most quiet due to the heat. It was over 50 degrees for 3 of the 5 days we were there!
We were provided with a lovely driver who showed us many attractions in Marrekesh, drove us to the foot hills of the moutains to do some waterfull climbing and to recommended restaurants. He also helped us cross the roads - which was a godsend as I have never exprianced roads like it!!!
All in all it was a truely amazing place, one I hope to go back to in the future. Not only is it beautiful and tranquil but every single member of staff made us feel welcome and special! We cannot wait to go back, possibly next year in September when its slightly cooler!

Room Tip: If its cool enough go for one of the large tented rooms! They are mind blowing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaytan, Manager at Kasbah Agafay, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Sophie and Sara,

It was a pleasure having you stay at the Kasbah and all the team thank you for generosity and kindness and we all hope to see you soon but not in July nor August !!!!!.

we wish you all the best for your future.

the kasbah Team and MO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Agafay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agafay

Address: Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agafay 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Agafay, this luxury Marrakech hotel is a haven of relaxation and tranquility offering unforgettable views across Berber villages, the Atlas Mountains and olive grove plantations. Nestled around olive and citrus orchards just at the border to the big dessert plains South West of Marrakesh. Just a short drive (20 minutes) from the buzz of Marrakech and the airport, this Marrakech hotel dominates the old and new crossroads of camel and goat herds. This luxury Marrakech hotel has been elegantly restored in to a striking private hotel. For those that dream of escaping to an 18th-century castle fort, Kasbah Agafay is a unique retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kasbah Agafay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Agafay Marrakech
Kasbah Agafay Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agafay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.