We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rebuilt fortress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agafay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Agafay to your Saves list
Kasbah Agafay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Great Barrington, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Rebuilt fortress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a rebuilt fort, sitting strategically on a hill overlooking the approaches. The architecture is breathtaking and view from the rampart is stunning. Service was superb, especially the hammam.
The manager had only been on the job for 3 days when we arrived, but he was a superbly well prepared guide to the history and structure of the facility.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I met Abel on the plane to Marrakech and he kindly invited us to his hotel for my sister's 60th birthday. He sent a driver for us and we didn't know where we were going! What an amazing surprise...an old fort set in beautiful, well kept grounds with stunning scenery all around. Although I am a wheelchair user and would not recommend this hotel for wheelchair users due to the steps, I was treated like royalty! The staff carried me to the terrace where we were served iced water, mint tea, cakes and biscuits. The terrace overlooked the pool area and little olive grove where dining tables were set out. Bird song filled the air. Then we were taken to the pool where sunbeds had been prepared and more refreshments provided by the politest and most gracious waiter I have ever met. After a swim in the lovely clean pool we were served lunch next to the olive trees . Small pots of fresh growing lavender on the table were a lovely touch.Lunch was delicious, fresh salads followed by chicken and apricot tagine with a selection of fresh vegetables, all cooked and served to perfection. Dessert was a tarte tatin , followed by coffee. The service was impeccable. Abel, his beautiful wife and daughter came to welcome us warmly. We wished we could have stayed for longer, the spa facilities looked amazing. We will definitely revisit this sanctuary again and thank the staff for their exceptional care.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived the manager, Aziz made us feel at home. It was my birthday and he organized all the festivities including a cake at the restaurant and rose petals on our bed. The room was beautiful and kept cool in 115 degree heat. All of our drivers and guides were professional, well informed and spoke English. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is a dream. I cant wait to go back!!! Make sure Aziz is there when you go...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Had a lovely long weekend at Kasbah Agafay. Service was discreet and excellent. Meals were prepared to order and incredibly fresh and delicious. The rooms and hotel were very atmospheric and in general the place was very tranquil.
If you want some time away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech in gorgeous surroundings - gardens, pool, olive groves- then this is your place. Spectacular views of the atlas mountains!
And don't forget to book in the ultimate hammam. Can also highly recommend the pedicue...world class!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is an excellent place to unwind, relax or indeed host a "house party". What more could one want? It is situated on the border of an oasis overlooking the Atlas Mountains about 30 minutes away from the buzz of Marrakech but with easy access.

Prices are reasonable, the rooms are generous and well equipped, the food excellent, varied and organic and the staff courteous and polite. The Moroccan rose went down a treat (too many times) and the carrot salad with orange and herbs is truly scrumptious....and I am no a veggie!

Go for it. Azziz will look after you......

Room Tip: Top floors have balcony overlooking the Atlas Mountains....Great for afternoon G&T.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I booked this hotel as a surprise Silver Wedding Anniversary for my wife and what a weekend we've had. Even I was surprised at this gem! Our amazing stay started with a very warm welcome from Hana. She made us forget that we were travelling the past 4 hours. I was also in awe of the place...the architecture, the ambience and authenticity of the building and surroundings is all I had imagined of Morocco. Then we were shown our room and what a room! I have never seen anything like it...we had a huge suite, sitting area, massive bed, his & hers wardrobe, a balcony with sun loungers and garden set. The bathroom was equally huge, bath tub with overhead slusher shower and hand held shower head, 2 sinks, bathrobes, plenty of soft towels and bath amenities not to mention a bidet. Oh and I forgot the floral petals scattered around. Our dinner was wonderful served by Henri (1st night) whose attitude is nothing is too big or small for you to ask from and always willing to provide. Our breakfast was outside by the pool in the glorious morning sun of Morocco. We were spoiled rotten by all the staff and everyone we met was friendly and greeted us accordingly. But the best part of this weekend was the Aroma Therapy massage we had booked and this was given to us by Hanen who I believe to be the best therapist I have ever met! Although we have had some communication barriers (as we do not speak a word of french and very little spanish) when Hanen started with her magic touch, everything around us was just background mist and it felt like heaven. The whole place was clean and kept well and I strongly recommend this place to anyone who wanted to leave the hustle and bustle of city life for a piece of heaven. Overall, when the staff treats you like royalty you will eventually feel like one. We will definitely be coming back and look forward to the same wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The best hotel experience I've ever had. The service is really outstanding; the staff will do anything for you and are so friendly. The views are stunning and the hotel itself has been done beautifully. Not to mention the wonderful food and super comfy bed! Lovely for couples - I'd even recommend to honeymooners. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Agafay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agafay

Address: Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agafay 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Agafay, this luxury Marrakech hotel is a haven of relaxation and tranquility offering unforgettable views across Berber villages, the Atlas Mountains and olive grove plantations. Nestled around olive and citrus orchards just at the border to the big dessert plains South West of Marrakesh. Just a short drive (20 minutes) from the buzz of Marrakech and the airport, this Marrakech hotel dominates the old and new crossroads of camel and goat herds. This luxury Marrakech hotel has been elegantly restored in to a striking private hotel. For those that dream of escaping to an 18th-century castle fort, Kasbah Agafay is a unique retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Kasbah Agafay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Agafay Marrakech
Kasbah Agafay Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agafay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.