We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agafay

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Agafay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 7 more sites!
Kasbah Agafay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Fantastic hotel with amazing service. Great spacious rooms, food is second to none. I couldnt recommend it more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I was compelled to write this review after having a click on to the Kasbah Agafay page whilst booking our summer holiday for this year (2011) and we are considering returning. It appears that the reviews have been somewhat inconsistent over the years so i just wanted to describe our holiday a little as i never considered reviewing Kasbah Agafay at the time, as i presumed, perhaps wrongly, that everyone had as great a time there as we did.
We arrived in the evening after a week in the hustle and bustle of the medina and the peace and quiet was a welcome break! as we drove up to the hotel at night the whole place was lit with lanterns and looked magnificent! After some delicious tea and cakes we were shown to our tented suite. The tent was truly spectacular, especially the bath which we enjoyed swimming in. In the morning we had a great time exploring the place, relaxing by the pool, picking herbs in the organic garden and wondering around the grounds. the attention to detail which is clear to see in the rooms and lounges is spectacular. This isn't your typical 5 star hotel, thats for sure and the change from some of the larger and more sterile outfits was refreshing to say the least!
The staff were very friendly and the service was attentive, all in all we had a fantastic time and we are seriously considering returning to this beautiful oasis of a hotel !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Great stay, stayed at both the Kasbah Agafay and Kasbah Ksour, large rooms, great comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms. Food great at both properties, service fantastic. didn't try the spa, but saw it, wished I had had the time. Swimming pool looked great too. I think a lot of these reviews must be out of date, because the hotel looked in good condition and staff seemed keen to ensure my stay was pleasurable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed at the Kasbah (castle) the final night in Marrakech. We found it to be big and drafty. The place is built like a maze and finding your room again is a challenge. We were with a group and some of our group found the manager to be a bit aloof and not helpful with simple requests. The banquet dinner we had for our group was ok (the best you can say is no one got sick). The bathroom had almost no counter space, the safe in the room did not work....you get the picture. The really cool thing is the lights are turned on by a pull cord that drops down from the ceiling. There is a pool and the grounds are nice but you are far away from the city and without a car are stuck here for the night. Look around at other places.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

this is the first review i have made on this website, i was interested to look this hotel up to see if anyone experienced what we experienced when we stayed there and i am shocked to find that there are so few write ups. I can not describe to you how utterly horrendous this place is from start to finish. i would not pay 50 pounds a night to stay in this dump - the place is falling apart literally at the seams. It was obviously good in its hey day and its trying to survive on its old reputation, no money has been put into the hotel since the first day it opened and that is blatently obvious when you walk around the hotel.
first of all we stayed in one of the tents - its so dark and dingy, old linnen, not very clean, the tent is a plastic marquee.. very tacky certainly not luxurious. we overlooked the tennis court which was a joke!!! we attempted to play having borrowed two rackets with strings missing on a court that was of similar surface to a loose gravel road!!! suffice to say we gave up after two minutes. the pool area looked nice in the photos but seriously shabby and as for the food, i dont even know where to begin. the first night we had dinner in a very bizarre dining room!! and i ordered prawns.. it was so spicy and i eat very spicy food that i had to run out and choke outside.. i thought i was going to die.. we called over the waiter and explained and he laughed and said i think the chef made mistake!!!! the main course was a tagine and no joke of a lie it was probably the most disgusting thing i ever ate. breakfast in the morning, i ordered fruit and i was given canned fruit in syrup!!!! i then ordered some brown bread and they gave me plastic bimbo bread, at this point i burst into tears. my husband went to see the manager and had some seriously stern words, of which we were told a series of lies that there is a french chef he is on holiday and we have the local chef... we didnt stay for lunch and that night the hotel asked us to stay for a complimentary dinner so that the chef could shine!!! well shine he did not... it was yet again inedible and the worst food i have ever eaten... we complained to the manager again and he said that he would give us a free cooking class - i had to laugh hysterically because it just summed the place up why an earth would i want a cooking lesson from the worst chef i have ever come across. to sum it up we spent a night in the dessert in a tent where the chef cooked us a chicken tagine which was a thousand times more delicious then anything that the chef in this resort could ever cook. i beg you please dont ever subject yourself to somewhere such as this you will be so devastated to have spent this amount of money on a faulty towers hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Shock and horror from teh moment we arrived, my wife and I are passionate about food and reading teh web site before hand we were extremely excited about staying and sampling Agafay's cuisine. Oh my! I have never had such a poor dining expereince in my life, no thought, lies from the staff and management about random chef's being on holiday. The rooms were a let down and very run down appearance overall.
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Luxurious location and Exceptional Service!!! As Morocco can be a very heavy country to visit, staying at Kasbah Agafay really neutralizes things!!! Once you would have visited the city and towns of Morocco and are in need of a relaxing moment ....Then Kasbah Agafay is the SOLUTION!!!!

Truly 'Home away from Home'!!!
Once could not ask for anything more!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Agafay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agafay

Also Known As:
Kasbah Agafay Hotel
Kasbah Agafay Marrakech
Kasbah Agafay Hotel Marrakech
Address: Route de Guemassa, Km 20 | Sarl Kenitra limited BP 226, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#127 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agafay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Agafay, this luxury Marrakech hotel is a haven of relaxation and tranquility offering unforgettable views across Berber villages, the Atlas Mountains and olive grove plantations. Nestled around olive and citrus orchards just at the border to the big dessert plains South West of Marrakesh. Just a short drive (20 minutes) from the buzz of Marrakech and the airport, this Marrakech hotel dominates the old and new crossroads of camel and goat herds. This luxury Marrakech hotel has been elegantly restored in to a striking private hotel. For those that dream of escaping to an 18th-century castle fort, Kasbah Agafay is a unique retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Kasbah Agafay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agafay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.