We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean hotel with friendly staff and an inviting pool area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien N'Fis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien N'Fis to your Saves list
Le Meridien N'Fis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean hotel with friendly staff and an inviting pool area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel recently and were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff. I had been very ill after a tour around the desert and was in need of a quiet refuge to get better in. The staff were very understanding, allowing us to check in early and giving us some free drinks. They even upgraded us!
The rooms are spotlessly clean and decorated in a tasteful and modern style. They staff leave bottles of water for you at night, and roses on your pillow offering you a peaceful sleep. i know that these things may seem cliche, but they were very tastefully done!
The pool area is a little small but very clean and inviting. You are given fresh towels and not constantly harassed for drinks. It is very relaxing!
All in all, I would say that although this hotel is not European 5*, it is certainly one of the best hotels in Marrakech- believe me, we saw some shockers! (our friends were staying across town). If you want a quiet and pleasant stay, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    402
    205
    71
    27
See reviews for
174
403
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Not a patch on your normal Le'Meridiens am afraid, but not bad at all. I am very well travelled and so hyper critical so here goes:
The grounds were absolutely gorgeous and the pool area was nice too. The staff are all incredibly friendly, though in Morocco I was always wary of being conned. Watch out or any taxi driver suggesting a trip to anywhere!! PLAN where you want to go and do NOT be dissueded by "Oh its a religious holiday, the Medina is closed!" or get a guide. A guide should not cost you more than €20 and WILL SAVE YOU AT LEAST THIS AMOUNT AND BE WORTH EVERY PENNY. Trust me, I'm super alert but still ended up in a hot STINKING tannery and a random shop where the proprietor tried to bully me into buying stuff I didn't want for WAY more than I'd pay in Europe!
The room was big and clean (apart from a really tiny cockroach which somehow made its way into the bathroom on day 4 and died there of its own accord???) The air-conditioning was barely adequate but adequate. The bathroom was outdated and in need of a refurb. The buffet breakfast was fine, good omelette station but really terrible cold meats (like 20c reconstituted meat that we call polony (Bologna or Polonia pink coloured meat typed stuff). The fruit was sometimes warm and the pastries a bit stale.
It seemed to me that the hotel had had better days, but really, it wasn't bad at all for the money. If you want luxury, I am told by a hotelier in Europe that La Mamounia is the place to go despite trip advisor ratings!
Tips: Never pay more than 20 dirhams from Le'Meridien to the Medina and the taxi to and from the airport should be no more than 80 dirhams (though we bartered our guy down to 60!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is not a 5*-Hotel, but applying European standard a solid 3*. With prices around 80-100 Euro it was a really bargain at that time. They are fully licensed for alcohol, which is not the case in every place in Morrocco. The staff is excellent and speaks English well. It is a little out of the town, but travel with a local cab is only 3-5 Euro to the markets. If you are in Marrakesh and looking for good service and a solid hotel, this is definetely the plact to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We went to the Meridien N'Fis for our honeymoon. Our travel agent requested something special for us (bottle of wine, room upgrade or something similar), but nothing was given to us; not even a 'Congratulations'! However, we arrived at around 2.30am so just wanted to go to bed! Neither of our key cards worked so we had to trapse back down to reception where we were allocated a different room. The rooms are quite large and clean with very large beds and big bathrooms. Nice flatscreen TVs, but channel choice for English speakers is poor (BBC World News, CNN and a channel showing old films with Arabic subtitles). Air conditioning was rather loud also. During the week we were there our keycards stopped working several more times and had to be replaced twice.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful although the pool attendants are happy to remove peoples' belongings from sunbeds and give them to others so be careful when going to lunch! We came back from lunch one day to find 2 French men had taken our beds despite the fact that our towels were still there! The breakfast is among the better I've had at similar hotels in North Africa, but we avoided the restaurants as they were very expensive compared to others. The bar is nice, but also rather expensive (local beer - £3.50). There is also a 'spa' offering massages etc, but this is expensive (30 min massage - £40 approx).
The placement of the hotel is quite good - about 6-7 mins from the old town (pay 20 dirhams = £1.50), 5 mins from the new town (about the same price), 10 mins from the airport (70 dirhams = £5 approx). Can recommend Cafe de la Poste in the new town. Good French bistro. 2 course dinner for 2 with wine = £65.
In summary, a decent 3 star hotel; definitely not 5 star. If your expectations are average you'll be happy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

First impression of the hotel is disappointing - reception area is badly furnished with sofas that look like they were from the 1970's. Decor seems to be a mishmash of Moroccan and Mexican and in need of an update. The room was OK, just about big enough for two adults and a 12 yr old. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast OK - range of cooked food, fresh fruit, croissants, breads, etc. Pool area and gardens lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at the Meridien for 4 nights on two separate occassions at the end of July and beginning of August. I had really gone through angst about where to stay and had originally booked a riad, but then had second thoughts about the temparature, so eventually plumped for the Meridien on the basis that it was a five star hotel with a big pool and close to all the sights. I was very disappointed when I walked into the reception area, as the website makes it look grander than it is. The receptionists were not terribly friendly at check in either. I think in its time it probably was a luxury hotel but it is tired and dated now. The pool is very nice and wonderful to have when it gets to 50 degrees!!!! Breakfasts are not very exciting and we did not eat in the hotel for dinner. The consierge and door men are very friendly.

I think if you are expecting a luxury 5* hotel then this is not it. If you are happy with reasonably priced rooms and probably a 4* experience in a good location very close to the airport then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights end of July with my partner. OK, we are VERY well travelled, I work in the airline business. Was a bit hesitant first but decided to go ahead and book this hotel. We were not dissapointed. We were upgraded to the Starwood Preferred Guests floor (The Atlas rooms facing the pool, we had room 234). Rooms were big enough with great sized bathroom. We had a bit of a problem with the minibar not being cold enough but it was fixed quickly. The pool was of good size and clean with separate kids area. One had to "reserve" a sun bed by latest 10am or the best spots were taken. Pool towels could have been a bit better/thicker. Breakfast was ok. Do not expect to get great cold cuts or smoked salmon at this Le Meridien. It is the basics but it works. The omelette station does exist here as well.
The location is good. You are away from the hectic medina but still only a 20min walk to get there. We took a cab to medina and back and it was 20dhm everytime and took less than 5minutes. Cab to airport was 100dhm from hotel for a 1300hr departure.
It was my first time to Marrakech and fell in love with place. Next time in Marrakech we will be happy to call Le Meridien our home.!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien N'Fis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien N'Fis

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien N'Fis 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handsome Hotel located in the heart of the Minera residential district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien N'Fis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien n`Fis Hotel Marrakech
Le Meridien Marrakech
Marrakech Le Meridien
Le Meridien Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien N'Fis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.