We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointing!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien N'Fis

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien N'Fis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien N'Fis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am a very experienced traveller having flown more than 4 million miles while visiting more than 60 countries. This hotel was recommended by a travel agent, who we will never use again. This hotel is a disgrace to the Starwood hotel Group. It needs a complete makeover. This place looks like it has not been updated since the 60's. We tried 4 of the restaurants in the hotel and they were all well below par. The service was terrible and in two of the restaurants the meals were so over cooked you could have used them to sole your shoes. The pool area has a large sign prohibiting glass objects on the deck, however, anyone ordering water receives it in 1.5 litre glass bottles. We had to wait 20 minutes to get change for 100 Dh from the cashier because she said the hotel had no change! We visited several other hotels in Marrakech and found the level of service and attention to detail far superior to what we experienced at the Meridien. If we had not paid for our stay in advance we would have relocated to another hotel a much more enjoyable holiday in Marrakech.

Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

Bob

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Benjelloun_DSM, Director of Sales at Le Meridien N'Fis, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Le Meridien N’Fis Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your experience.

We are deeply sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

There is no doubt that your comments will help us to improve and provide the best quality of service you may expect.

Your sincerely.

Omar BENJELLOUN
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    388
    196
    67
    26
See reviews for
161
395
35
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I red some negative feedback here so we actually worried before we stay here from 22th to 26th December, but room, garden, atmosphere, facilities, meals, room service, staff service was all better then we expected, so we somewhat surprised why this hotel got the negative feedback before.

Everything was good for us. Especially we were so happy with the bed, and warm room on this cold nights in this season. We also stayed another Riad. It was beautiful, but we were very cold in the nights , too noisy to sleep, and difficult to come back to Riad by walk. So, we recommend to sleep outside of Medina like Le Meridien and take a taxi for Medina for day, and come back to calm and warm environment by taxi is best idea to explore Marrakesh, we believe.

Hotel can introduce a guide for city tour who was nice, or you can find a taxi driver who can speak English in front of hotel, who can provide more reasonable price for city tour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Benjelloun_DSM, Director of Sales at Le Meridien N'Fis, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Le Meridien N’Fis Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your experience.

We are so happy to learn that your journey was a great success and all your expectations came true. We are also delighted that you have appreciated hotel service, and staff’s attention.

During your next trip, let me suggest you to try our different restaurants and explore
an amazing oriental atmosphere at “AL KHAYMA” tent.

We look forward to welcome you back to Le Meridien N’Fis for another amazing
Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more areas at le Meridien N’Fis.

Best regards from wonderful Marrakech!

Omar BENJELLOUN
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakech
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you wish to makr the most of your stay at The meridien N'Fis make the aquaintance of Said who has worked here for 27 years - this man is the business. He will facilitate everything you need. Take advantage of all the facilities of the hotel whether it is eating an Italian meal, a Moroccan meal, smoking a Hookah or the western music in the bar. It's a lovely place made better by the afore mentioned Said. Long may he Reign.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Alaoui_GM, Director of Sales at Le Meridien N'Fis, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I’d like to thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are so
delighted to notice that you have appreciated the hotel (Staff and restaurant).

There is no doubt that your comments will help us to improve and provide the best quality of service you may expect.

During your next trip, let me suggest you to try our different restaurants and explore
Moroccan delights at “L’IWAN Restaurant”.

Your sincerely.

Omar BENJELLOUN
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

As a Starwood Preferred Guest, I was looking forward to coming to this hotel after staying at Accor hotels in three other Moroccan cities. What a let down. This tired old workhorse of a hotel is in need of a total makeover and the staff and management need to be re-trained or replaced.

ROOMS: tired, broken bits and pieces, ugly 90s furniture. Bathroom not bad though and beds are comfy. Only 3 English channels on TV.

LOCATION: it's true what other reviewers have said, the medina and the new town are both a good 20 minute walk away but we didn't mind this.

COMMON AREAS: free wifi in reception does not work but we managed to convince the surly piece of work to give us another free code that did work. Otherwise we would have had to pay $40 to use wifi in the hotel for the week.

Carpet in hallways is all torn and stained.

Bird poo in all the light fittings and on chairs in breakfast room from all the sparrows flying around.

Guest computers simply do not work. Foyer can smell really badly of smoke.

Pool area very tired, broken tiles, sun lounges.

BREAKFAST: Pretty good, nice freshly made omlettes. Surly service (see service below).

BAR: a joke. You have to pay 10dh to play pool. They play the same cd of 5 songs on repeat and seem confused when we ask if they have any other music. Colored lit up bars that look like they belong at a Vegas pool bar. Rude staff. Overpriced drinks.

STAFF: Generally rude, uninterested, sometimes they even ignore you.

Example 1: I passed a staff member I assume was a manager near the pool and said 'bonjour' to him and he actually grunted at me.

Example 2: I went to use the toilet near the pool terrace restaurant and one of the waiters is standing up using the toilet with the door open. When he sees me he closes the door. I go in to use the toilet after him and there is pee all over the seat and it's not flushed.

Example 3: There seems to be an overkill of managers in suits in the breakfast room and i hate to say this but they basically ignore non-Moroccan guests and fawn over Moroccan guests. I told one of them that there was a bug in the juice and they just fished it out there and then. At least take it to the kitchen and give guests the impression you are replacing it.

Example 4: i asked the cashier for some small change (ie 1 dh coins). His response: "no i don't have". But I could see heaps in his drawer.

Example 5: We start a game of pool, 5 mins later the bar staff are shutting blinds, turn off music and stand around glaring at us.

I should point out that the housekeeping staff and doormen were always friendly. The problem seems to be the food and beverage, reception, and management.

Starwood you have a problem with this hotel. It is well below par for what I have come to expect from a Starwood property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Alaoui_GM, General Manager at Le Meridien N'Fis, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Le Meridien N’Fis Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your experience.
We are deeply sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
There is no doubt that your comments will help us to improve and provide the best quality of service you may expect.

Your sincerely.

Abdelouahed ALAOUI -Fdili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I'm not quite sure when the other reviews were written but it's now December 2012 and I think most of the issues raised have now been resolved. When I arrived at the hotel I was booked in for 6 days - 3 for business and 3 for pleasure. I had arranged for my wife to join me at the end of my business meetings for a short weekend break.
From the moment I arrived I was made to feel very welcome and was given a glass of traditional mint tea while I waited to be checked in. The reception staff were very courteous and attentive.
I dined in all of the restaurants and have to say that the food was excellent. The waiting staff were both professional and attentive and the entertainment, whether it was belly dancing or the guitar and box duo, were first class.
When my wife arrived on the 4th day the head porter Said welcomed her to the hotel with a single red rose, freshly brewed mint tea and bathed her hands in rose water - she was amazed at the welcome. When we arrived in our room the chambermaid had spread rose petal on the bed - yet another special touch.
I could go on and on about how how wonderful my stay has been at this hotel but I may be in danger of making the previous reviewers vomit. Things must have changed in a very big way at this hotel because despite being a bit old and tired the experience was more than I expected and the service was brilliant. Well done all Le Meridien N'Fis

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As an SPG Platinum guest, I travel a lot for work and pleasure, and this property would fall at the bottom of the list of hotels I have stayed. Before you even walk into reception, you see the fountain in front that is not functioning, there is not even water in the fountain's chipped basin. Rooms are old, towels are so old, they are grey color, A/C didn't work, no screens on the windows/balcony doors, the moment you open window, you have tons of flies in the room. Breakfast was of average quality (omelette station saves it from being below average), orange juice was so diluted with water you could never tell it is freshly squeezed (which is what the sign tells you); birds are flying in the breakfast room, sitting on tables, very unsanitary. Spa was a joke and it was so rundown (locker rooms, dirty sinks, wet sauna with chipped tiles and ceiling) that I am surprised they can even charge for it! With the exception of Said, the porter, everybody else didn't exude the attitude they were happy to have you; hotel has a van, but the amount they charge to take you to the airport that is very close, is way above even the rate of the taxis at the airport. If you choose to walk to Medina, it is about 15 -20 min walk, would have been so easy for the hotel to offer a complimentary ride and make many people happy. We didn't try hotel restaurants (didn't find the menu exciting) but if you walk about 10 min towards the Congress Hall, there are several new restaurants on the same side of the road as hotel, all reasonably priced. Inner courtyard gardens were nice, and it is the only good thing about this hotel. We left hotel earlier to stay at a different place and will not recommend this hotel to anybody - they need to at least maintain the property (it is not difficult to buy new towels and linens if you can't do a renovation) and more importantly, train stuff to project hospitality to guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Alaoui_GM, General Manager at Le Meridien N'Fis, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting Le Meridien N’Fis Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your experience.
We are deeply sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
There is no doubt that your comments will help us to improve and provide the best quality of service you may expect.

Your sincerely.
Abdelouahed ALAOUI -Fdili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything was okay.... the location is fabulous, you can easily walk into the old town - be careful crossing the roads! Its about 15 minutes from the airport and in a very nice area. As the other reviewers have said, the receiption staff are very abrupt and don't seem to have a customer service ethic. The other staff are polite and are generally happy to help.
The rooms are fine, working fridge, didn't need the a/c but the heating worked well. The beds were comfortable, pillows great but the towels had seen much better days.
The 'turn down' service with fresh towels, bottled water and chocolate was welcome.
Food was reasonably priced and good quality, breakfast was included and was very good - excellent omlette station.
Probably won't go back to Marrakech but will consider Meridien elsewhere.

Room Tip: Although there is visable security, I would ask for a room above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Alaoui_GM, General Manager at Le Meridien N'Fis, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

I’d like to thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are so
delighted to notice that you have appreciated the hotel (Location and restaurant).

There is no doubt that your comments will help us to improve and provide the best quality of service you may expect.

During your next trip, let me suggest you to try our different restaurants and explore
Moroccan delights at “L’IWAN Restaurant”.

Your sincerely.

Abdelouahed ALAOUI-Fdili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien N'Fis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien N'Fis

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien N'Fis 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handsome Hotel located in the heart of the Minera residential district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien N'Fis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien n`Fis Hotel Marrakech
Le Meridien Marrakech
Marrakech Le Meridien
Le Meridien Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien N'Fis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.